We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value & great view of Arenal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value & great view of Arenal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

The location is spectacular and the property is beautiful! The room is good but nothing exceptional. The housekeeping staff is great. They left a different towel sculpture each day - a hit with the 11 year-old! The service in the restaurant is slow. One waiter in particular clearly wishes he were doing something different with his time and it shows. Unfortunately, we had him for happy hour, breakfast and lunch. The breakfast buffet is great; it includes a cook-to--order omelette bar with fresh ingredients. Overall, good family choice.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    711
    442
    74
    11
    2
See reviews for
261
598
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here with a free trip to Baldi hot springs included. The staff was very helpful even when we forgot what day it was and missed an excursion. The room was ok, nothing spectacular and not as good as the Manoa next door. We had a somewhat blocked view by a wall and it was probably due to the fact we booked the cheapest room. The grounds were very well kept and the pool was nice. The swim up bar is nice and the breakfast being included was great. The waitstaff in the restaurant is slow and you have to pester them for anything. I recommend this as the views were nice of the volcano and the maids made towel animals every day

Room Tip: Don't book 212 as it has a partial view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Volcano Lodge & Gardens offered a beautiful landscape with a great size room and view of the volcano. Upon arriving to the hotel, we were greeted by incredibly friendly staff and a comped welcome drink! From there, we were centrally located to all of the excursions we wanted to take (Tabacon Hot Springs, ATVing, white water rafting, etc.) We did not book through the hotel (check out Wave Expeditions - awesome company!).

The breakfast provided was very delicious and full of choices! Pool area is great for families and laying out. All in all, a wonderful stay at this recommended spot!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We found this hotel to be excellent. It is well situated for the attractions of the Arenal area, about 4 miles outside La Fortuna where you will find laundries, shops, banks, restuarants etc. It has grounds which are extensive and immaculately kept and full of interest. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, well maintained and equipped. Each room has a private area outside where you can sit and watch out into the gardens. The breakfasts are wonderful, with an enormous selection of items available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nr. London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First impressions as you arrive are of a gate house, a guard and an entry barrier. Then you have to wear these wrist bands. If you're the anxious type, that feels like a lot of security, and of course they don't tell you why. Although when we were there, a large group of American schoolkids might have put everyone on high alert. Dunno.
There is a lot to like about Volcano Lodge, much of it already mentioned. My only real criticism, again mentioned elsewhere, is that the walls between rooms really are seriously paper thin. We had a family next to us, with a child that cried during the night. Alas, every word and sulky whimper could be heard. Very poor sleep as a result.
Must single out Bryan at the check-in desk. A real asset, who provides one of the most affable welcomes in Costa Rica. Thanks a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has some vestige of sound proofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great hotel, great view, good room, everything on high standard. Three things stand out. First, the private terrace/patio - you come out of your room and you are in the middle of an incredible garden with flowers and birds you have probably seen before only in movies. You will not want to leave!! Second, the very professional staff that will help you with any issue or request. Finally, we were surprised by the quality of the food at the restaurant - especially the meat (steaks).
And a good word about our trip organizer - Rayna Levin from MuchaCostaRica. What a find? We never had a better personalized service in our travels. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Look for the best patio!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Late October 2012 my husband and I - senior Danish couple - stayed here, and it was absolutely thrilling in every respect. The rooms are nice and large, well kept and clean, the whole area is beautifully maintained. Trees and flowers are a unique experience. You feel you are staying in a very luxurious accomodation. Very charming, very cosy, feeling of safety and not to mention the joy of using all the pools and spas in the area. The view to the volcano is stunning.
Dinner as well as breakfast were fine and satisfying. The restaurant is located so in daylight you have a wonderful view across most of the resort with pools, trees and flowers through huge glass windows.
This place is utterly aestethic. it is such joy to walk around and watch the details of the well maintained area.
Would definitely recommed this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.