We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds, but security a bit OTT?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
nr. London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds, but security a bit OTT?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First impressions as you arrive are of a gate house, a guard and an entry barrier. Then you have to wear these wrist bands. If you're the anxious type, that feels like a lot of security, and of course they don't tell you why. Although when we were there, a large group of American schoolkids might have put everyone on high alert. Dunno.
There is a lot to like about Volcano Lodge, much of it already mentioned. My only real criticism, again mentioned elsewhere, is that the walls between rooms really are seriously paper thin. We had a family next to us, with a child that cried during the night. Alas, every word and sulky whimper could be heard. Very poor sleep as a result.
Must single out Bryan at the check-in desk. A real asset, who provides one of the most affable welcomes in Costa Rica. Thanks a lot.

Room Tip: Ask for one that has some vestige of sound proofing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    715
    448
    75
    13
    2
See reviews for
264
606
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great hotel, great view, good room, everything on high standard. Three things stand out. First, the private terrace/patio - you come out of your room and you are in the middle of an incredible garden with flowers and birds you have probably seen before only in movies. You will not want to leave!! Second, the very professional staff that will help you with any issue or request. Finally, we were surprised by the quality of the food at the restaurant - especially the meat (steaks).
And a good word about our trip organizer - Rayna Levin from MuchaCostaRica. What a find? We never had a better personalized service in our travels. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Look for the best patio!
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Late October 2012 my husband and I - senior Danish couple - stayed here, and it was absolutely thrilling in every respect. The rooms are nice and large, well kept and clean, the whole area is beautifully maintained. Trees and flowers are a unique experience. You feel you are staying in a very luxurious accomodation. Very charming, very cosy, feeling of safety and not to mention the joy of using all the pools and spas in the area. The view to the volcano is stunning.
Dinner as well as breakfast were fine and satisfying. The restaurant is located so in daylight you have a wonderful view across most of the resort with pools, trees and flowers through huge glass windows.
This place is utterly aestethic. it is such joy to walk around and watch the details of the well maintained area.
Would definitely recommed this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautifully located with a view of the volcano and set in gorgeous gardens this hotel is a great find for the price. Each "cabin" has a private patio area from which you can enjoy the gardens and spot a variety of exotic birds. The hotel is located a few miles outside La Fortuna but this was not a problem as the reception staff were happy to help us arrange trips and transportation. The breakfast was delicious and served in a lovely outdoor dining area. Dinner was good (but not great) and at a reasonable price.

Be warned - Arenal has a very wet climate. When we stayed in rained every day and the room became slightly damp.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel offers rooms with a fair bit of privacy, some have volcano views. Our room had a great volcano view. The pool is large and nice, as is the hot tub. You can't see the pool from the hot tub. The pool sets next to the restaurant which is good food at ok prices. A breakfast buffet with omelet bar was included with our stay every morning and was a nice touch. No hotsprings onsite, but its a short 10 minutes drive for an evening at Tabacon (recommended) or Baldi (did not go here). Tabacon is $45 for the evening per person and $70 including the dinner buffet. Rooms were clean and had AC, the shower was large and the beds were comfortable. The grounds were beautiful with little paths and flowering plants all over.

Room Tip: Ask for a Volcano view near the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This review is really about Costa Rica Expeditions who set up our trip to Costa Rica and booked us into this fine hotel. Having not been to CR in the past we felt a little overwhelmed by the variety of activities afforded us in the country. I contacted CRE after finding them on the web and, after telling them what we wanted to do, they set up an itinerary that matched perfectly what we were looking for. Everything, and I mean everything, worked without a hitch: all of our drivers were personable and knowledgeable... every ride was like a mini tour... they were always pointing out interesting sites or animals. Our rides were never late... they always arrived at the appointed time... and when we rode with other travelers they were always friendly and fun. We travels to La Fortuna, Monteverde, and Manuel Antonio and enjoyed out stay in all locations. I recommend Costa Rica Expeditions wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Was a great hotel for the price:
-had a very private bungalow feel to it as the blocks of rooms were surrounded by vegetation
-we had a nice back patio/garden with great views of the volcano
-strong in-room wifi (great for planning the next day's activity the night before)
-free breakfast was great and the dinner/lunch was good as well (and reasonably priced)

My only real con was that it took 2 days for them to fix the hot water and after two apparent fixes while we were out during the day we had to wait with the maintenance man for about an hour to ensure it was fixed.

Oh, and make sure if you go during happy hour you order 2 of the exact same drinks! They are very picky about what 2-for-1 means (can't get two different cocktails even though they are on the same list). I won't ding them for it but it was kind of annoying until you order 2 more and get over it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.