We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice and would stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice and would stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights for the beginning of our 10 day trip to Costa Rica. I'm glad we started our trip here. It felt like a true Costa Rican place; very charming, warm and the grounds are truly beautiful. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The staff coordinated two of our excursions for us. We had one small issue with our air conditioner leaking and they promptly sent someone over to fix it. Problem solved!

The breakfast buffet was included and very good. Don't miss the opportunity to eat the pink papaya! It's too delicate to export so you can only enjoy it in Costa Rica! They had it every morning when we were there along with other delicious choices. We thought the food for lunch and dinner was good. Some of the previous reviews were harsh on the restaurant, but we thought it was very good, and service was great too. If your expectations are filet and lobster, then go into town for finer dining.

The rooms were comfortable, cozy, clean and quaint. The bathroom was clean too and the shower had great pressure. Beds were comfy and the in room safe was nice to have. The little wooden rocking chairs outside were nice to sit on while enjoying coffee and viewing the volcano. I will say you can definitely hear wildlife early in the morning and the walls may be a little thin, but you are in Costa Rica! We loved hearing those sounds every day. If you expect to not hear a pin drop, then this place may not be for you.

The pools are very clean and nice. We enjoyed them every day. The kids loved swimming and also enjoyed the large hot tub. The clouds lifted one day and exposed the entire volcano for about 2 hours. Awesome!

In conclusion, this is a great little charming place and we would definitely stay here again with our family.

Room Tip: Room 210 was great. It was on the end and had a great view of the gardens and volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    711
    447
    74
    12
    2
See reviews for
262
602
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Volcano Lodge for 2 nights. The grounds are lovely, and the staff is very friendly and helpful. The property is gated for security, and is in a great location - about 10 minutes from town. The breakfast buffet was delicious, too! I only give it 4 of 5 stars because I had a huge ant problem in the room, including them climbing into my bed, which was a little unnerving. My friend, however, had very little insect problems. I understand that it's Costa Rica and we're in their back yard, but they need to seal the under/over the doors a little better. Overall, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights last week, and were stunned with how great a value this place was. For the price of a Motel 6 in the U.S., we had a spacious, clean and beautiful room with a view of the volcano and the beautiful gardens on the property, large beautiful bathroom, with a HUGE, delicious breakfast buffet included (it was enough to tide us over until dinner!!) with an omelette station, rice & beans, fresh tropical fruit, lots of yummy sides (plantains, potatoes, sausages, etc.!). I would say one of the best parts about this place is that the entire lodge is set back from the main road, which is not the case for many of the other popular places to stay nearby that we drove past. Once on the property, you are totally immersed in their beautiful gardens, with the sounds of nature surrounding you. It is so peaceful!
The pools & Jacuzzis were amazing - we loved how the main jacuzzi was set back from the rest of the pool area so that it is more private and away from the area where kids play and people are dining. Each morning we got up early and sat outside on our private patio, gazing at the volcano with a cup of coffee, watching the wildlife. It was just heaven!! It honestly looks exactly like the photos on the website. The staff were very kind and helpful - it's true the restaurant service is a bit slow, but we found this to be the case EVERYWHERE in costa rica so it was not something unique to this place. Happy hour is a good deal - go for the beers (2 for $4) for the best value as their mixed drinks, while delicious (and still a good deal at 2 for $7), are pretty weak. They have a swim-up bar where you can enjoy your happy hour in the pool while looking at the volcano. We had a couple of appetizers in the restaurant, and of course had breakfast there each morning but otherwise ate at other restaurants (there are tons nearby). The bar & pool area shut down by 10pm, and even in the main part of town things seems to be pretty sleepy - so if you are big on nightlife you may not even want to come to this area at all because it's just not what this is about. But if you want to relax and reconnect with nature, this is your place!!
In addition, we booked a spa service (a massage) and another activity (ATV trip) through the hotel and both were great. The location is a 5-minute drive to downtown La Fortuna, across the street from Baldi Hot Springs and a 5-10 minute drive to the other hot springs in the area.
Highly recommend and hope to come back to this little piece of heaven some day!!

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all the rooms have a volcano view, so you should ask for one just to make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, OR
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed here last week for 2 days and were pleasantly surprised! This is such a wonderful place to stay with the perfect location in relation to the Volcano and Tabacon hotsprings. It was very family friendly and safe. The room was very clean (including the bathroom) and spacious. There are not many restaurant options in town for really great food and the food at the restaurant here was 'fair' bar food. The front desk let us know upon checkin that the restaurant was not a true restaurant but searved snacks/barfood so we knew what to expect. We loved the isolated hot tub that was located away from the loud pool area. Nice childrens pool and play area. If we visit Costa Rica again, we'll definitely stay here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seem to be spacious with beautiful garden views. I'm not sure if they all have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

This was one of my favorite places we stayed excluding the resturant. Laying in bed staring at Volcan Arenal and looking at all the jungle gardens. It just doesnt get better than this. This is a gated hotel with plenty of security. I think this is why all the old people like it here.

Very clean comfortable rooms. A/C was nice too.

What I didn't like: Restaurant was not cheap and food was average. Service was the pits. You had to beg someone to wait on you. It was like they pretended to be busy when there was only three couples in the place at any given time. Also the pool was right next to the resturant which made it strange for both swimmers and old people staring at you at the restaurant.

I have no problem with the elderly (I,ll be there soon enough) but it was like being on vacation at a retirement home. I think they need to expand there target market and get some young people to stay.

Room Tip: ask for a volcano view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This hotel has excellent security for access to the property and inside the room with a room safe.
The room and bathroom are spacious, very clean and well maintained. The bed is comfortable and there is A/C, free Wi-Fi and cable TV. The bathroom was well appointed with a hair dryer and shaving mirror.

The distinguishing feature here is the lovely gardens around the room, pool and dining area. The buffet breakfast was very nice.

Due to clouds, we never saw the volcano

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice setting with rooms in 2 or 4 block units spread around lovely grounds. Great view of the volcano. Friendly staff. My wife really enjoyed her body scrub and massage in their spa. Let down a bit by the restaurant. The menu is very garish, makes it look like a fast-food joint. The food is better than you might think after looking at the menu, but the range is somewhat limited. Would stay there again but would likely go into town more for meals.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.