We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, great setting ... let down a bit by its restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, great setting ... let down a bit by its restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice setting with rooms in 2 or 4 block units spread around lovely grounds. Great view of the volcano. Friendly staff. My wife really enjoyed her body scrub and massage in their spa. Let down a bit by the restaurant. The menu is very garish, makes it look like a fast-food joint. The food is better than you might think after looking at the menu, but the range is somewhat limited. Would stay there again but would likely go into town more for meals.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    715
    448
    75
    13
    2
See reviews for
264
606
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Gorgeous setting , private patio with view of well maintained beautiful gardens & the volcano , polite & helpful staff , good food. The swimming pool was clean. We saw a lot of species of birds while walking through the gardens , absolutely amazing. I would definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This was my first time at this hotel, simply loved it, the volcano's view was breathtaking, gardens are espectaculares, the whole place is covered with all kind of vegetation, good food, well attended and landscape is awesome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Fantastic ubication. Very nice rooms with great view of the volcano and beautiful gardens. Very helpful and friendly service. The only negative: no minibar in the room. Great experience and totally recommendable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Absolutely gorgeous setting. Large room, very well decorated. Private patio with view on luxurious gardens and volcano. Excellent service. Well educated clients, spotless swimming pool. Fortuna is a few minutes away by car. Nice and relatively clean city. One of the best hotel during our 3 weeks stay in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Nothing spécial. Great settings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I booked at Volcano Lodge and Gardens based solely on reviews from this site, and I was not sorry. I was travelling with a group of 4 couples. The service was impeccable. Everyone was extremely friendly, courteous, helpful, and always smiling. The grounds were beautiful. We spent almost half a day just looking around. Plus, the view from our private terrace was of the Arenal Volcano. I think all rooms face the volcano, and each have their own terrace with two rocking chairs and a table. Very cozy. The maids were great, and created new towel art for us every day - we were actually excited to see what was waiting for us! I never got to the spa, so I can't comment on that specifically. There are two pool areas, one of which has the biggest hot tub I've ever seen! One of the pools is located next to the restaurant, so you can get bar service right in the pool as well. At the beginning of the week, the food at the restaurant was amazing. The breakfast buffet has a lot of selection, and is delicious. And the lunch and dinner menu were well priced, with a great mix of typical Costa Rican food, as well as other styles of cooking. However, part way through the week they changed the menu, and in my opinion not for the better. The selection decreased dramatically, and for the most part consisted of items you would get a bar, not a restaurant. And the prices seemed to be worse as well. This was a huge shame, and we went to town to eat every day after this happened. It is also the only reason I am giving a 4 rating instead of a 5. The hotel also helped us out tremendously in booking some tours and adventures. They work with only top notch tour companies. They also helped us to arrange transportation to San Jose airport. There are shuttles that go back and forth to the town of La Fortuna, but they aren't very frequent, and it's only a $10 taxi ride so we just did that. Overall, I would highly recommend Volcano Lodge to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the Arenal area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We only had time to spend one night, but we would love to go back. Very nice and very private rooms with private porches overlooking the expansive gardens and a great view of the volcano. A walk through the gardens is a must for plant lovers and bird lovers will enjoy it too.

The happy hours and the meals were good value and well prepared with the landscaped pool area, butterflies floating by and the volcano in the distance. The included breakfast buffet was a pleasant surprise.

I would highly recommend this location to anyone who loves the outdoors and a very comfortable place to stay.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any poor ones based on our wander around. There is a second pool for those like to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.