We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of Arenal Volcano” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
East Hampton, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great view of Arenal Volcano”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Biggest asset of property is view of volcano. Great landscaping but rooms somewhat dated. Poor restaurant, even just for breakfast. Staff tries but property is a notch below the best in the area. Also a bit far from La Fortuna to run in for a better meal.

Room Tip: Ask for volcano view not blocked by trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments,

Volcano Lodge & Gardens, has an structure based on traditional Costa Rica, architecture, where wood finishes prevail in our rooms.

Regarding the restaurants, we decided to take our hotel a more practical feeding option, since most of our guests use their time in different tourism activities that exist in the area.

Also, the hotel offers shuttles to La Fortuna Downtown, where guests can visit our selected restaurants.

Thank you for helping us improve,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    509
    85
    17
    4
See reviews for
292
689
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Don't bother with the main town tourist over priced restaurants just book the restaurant here. Really good food also an really good Malbec on the wine list at a good price. Don't bother with anything else other than a beer or soft drink at happy hour though as the cocktails aren't great. Amazing gardens and views of the volcano from the rooms. We saw so many birds in the gardens we didn't see in the forests. Well worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We thought everything else was fine without being marvellous. The rooms were comfortable and we had a private little garden area which we greatly enjoyed. The gardens themselves were lovely and we were very lucky to have great volcano views during out stay. The service was just ok - we have had much better at other places in CR though the cleaner's magnificent works of art each day with the towels was greatly appreciated. We found the front reception service scarcely adequate in terms of their helpfulness and the information they provided.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel was great. Great views of the volcano, and beautiful grounds. Very close to both the town of La Fortuna and the National Park/Volcano, and right down the road from several of the different thermal baths. The restaurant was great, and the pool area was clean. Wonderful, friendly, english-speaking staff, and very clean. And, a great value as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Was there from Nov 29 - Dec 3.
they are very nice small villa and it is very private.
It was still (at the end) of the rain forest and amphibiously it was raining daily. it did not interfere though with our activities as you get used to be wet .

The restaurant there have good food and there service is excellent.
About my room, (224), it was OK, big size room with all amenities.
The pricing is very good and i would definitely recommend that place to everyone.

Room Tip: 8 Km from La Fortuna, this is the place you want to stay at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the Volcano Lodge and Gardens. The service was exceptional. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and exceptionally well kept. Some of our best pictures of the volcano came from just a few steps outside our room because of how beautiful the surroundings were. We ate at a few locations in Arenal and La Fortuna. We ended up liking the restaurant at the hotel the most. I highly recommend the beef casado. They have a really nice hot tub that is hidden away in some of the foliage. I recommend asking someone where it is if you cannot find it as it was a great way to relax at night after a day of activity.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived December 7, 2012 for our 5-night stay during our honeymoon. We arrived late at night so we couldn't fully appreciate what we were about to experience. The grounds are like a botanical garden, the animals and bugs are like nothing you've ever seen, and the staff are wonderful. The included menu provided great food (try the typical dish) and the breakfast buffet had a nice variety. We had a room facing Arenal and it was so serene. Thanks to everyone who made our stay so special.

When it rains in the evening (I think typical of the "winter months") it can be tough to sleep through the random showers and the rooms aren't made of high quality materials so you literally hear everything that's going on outside. The rooms are large and yes, the wi-fi is easily accessible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.