We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning grounds, excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Stunning grounds, excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived December 7, 2012 for our 5-night stay during our honeymoon. We arrived late at night so we couldn't fully appreciate what we were about to experience. The grounds are like a botanical garden, the animals and bugs are like nothing you've ever seen, and the staff are wonderful. The included menu provided great food (try the typical dish) and the breakfast buffet had a nice variety. We had a room facing Arenal and it was so serene. Thanks to everyone who made our stay so special.

When it rains in the evening (I think typical of the "winter months") it can be tough to sleep through the random showers and the rooms aren't made of high quality materials so you literally hear everything that's going on outside. The rooms are large and yes, the wi-fi is easily accessible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    474
    77
    15
    2
See reviews for
280
644
31
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Rooms are large and clean. We could access the free wi-fi from ours with no problem. The grounds are well maintained. It is a great location and easy to get to everything in the area.

The restaurant was great. Breakfast buffet doesn't change much but it's good food. The beef tenderloin with coffee and port sauce was delicious. All the servers were very friendly and attentive. Coffee at breakfast is the only hard thing to get.

Even better than this restuarant is Pollo El Colosso on the main road to town. It's a locals food stand with amazing fried fish and fried chicken.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
262 reviews 262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The hotel is ok, the staff is ok the rooms are ok the breakfast buffet is ok the shower is ok the bed is ok. There is nothing to grand or special about this hotel except beautiful view of the volcano, and its close proximity to the fortuna town. We had ants in the bathroom which on complain the maintenance crew came and exterminated the bathroom after which our stay was ant free. The value for money I will say is average.

Room Tip: Try to get the rooms having windows which faces the main road as you will have a beautiful view of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the hotel last week; we were 4 adults and 3 kids and had two rooms. First the pros- beautiful gardens, well-appointed rooms, decent breakfast. The pros end here, however. Cons- small rooms, hot water in the shower can be hit or miss, POOR customer service. We had a few terrible experiences which tainted our stay in La Fortuna. After returning from an excursion around 4, we requested the ladies at the reception if their shuttle could drop us off at the Baldi Hot Springs which is literally a 5 minute drive away. The ladies agreed right away; however when we went to the reception we were told that we were not promised a shuttle ride and we requested them to order a cab which they did. We waited for about 45 minutes and when we asked Natalie would tell us that the cab will be here in 5 minutes. We had paid $$$ to enjoy an evening at the Baldi Hot Srings, but because of their inflexibility and lack of concern for their guests, we were unable to spend the time that we paid for. Natalie at the front desk kept laughing every time we went to check on the status of the cab, clearly some behavior issues rather than a language barrier! There was absolutely no trace of empathy in her demeanor.
The biggest mistake we made was book an excursion through the hotel. We booked the "Aerial Tram" with Sky Trek for 2 days later through the hotel for $66 pp. We called to cancel this activity in 20 minutes because we realized that our kids will not be able to zipline there and thought it would be a rip-off to just ride the tram way for 66 bucks. They refused to cancel and said we would lose all our money if we did. So we decided to go ahead with the excursion anyway. At the Sky Trek, everyone including the staff was appalled that we were charged 66 bucks to ride the Gondola! While we paid $314 for the whole group through the hotel, my husband found out that we could have booked the same activity for $168 if we booked directly through the company! What a rip-off. Not only that, they were willing to refund our money and were surprised we were not able to cancel this when we were trying a day and a half ago. Claudio at the hotel was able to give us $248 back for an activity we didnot do, wasted an entire morning on with cranky and tired kids and paid $66 for riding their bus! This whole mess could have been easily avoided by the hotel staff convincing the Star Trek staff to cancel the activity and refund us our $314 when we requested them 2 days ago.
All in all, they fail to care for their guests. We wish we stayed somewhere else and would have avoided wasting a whole day dealing with messes caused and mismanaged by the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Have a good day,

We are very sorry, that your stay with us was not as pleasant as you and we would have liked.

We understand that many situations may have been solved, with decisions at the right time.

On the other hand, in high season, some things are out of our hands, because our suppliers are inflexible, which does not give us a chance to provide more satisfactory answers.

As for the situation with our staff, your comments will help us to adjust some procedures, that can never get away from an established standard.

We hope that this unfortunate step, in our property has not tarnished your visit to our beautiful country Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntersville, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

I was put at this hotel for two nights on a Living Social trip before I was moved to another hotel. I wish I had been able to stay here for all four nights! The grounds were beautiful and the rooms were great! While I never got to see the volcano due to the rain, I'm sure it would've been a great view! The food in the restaurant was great as well. I would certainly stay here again!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Stayed there from Dec 8 - 12, 2012. Great hotel with great service (english speaking staff), delicious restaurant (might be the best in Fortuna) and a fantastic view of Arenal volcano from the back of almost every room. Will definitely stay there again if I visit Arenal. Only downside was that it is not directly located in La Fortuna, but it is only a 10 min drive away. Only thing they can change would be better lighting on the way to the rooms at night, but other than that, the stay was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Beautiful property, amazing gardens, comfortable and modern rooms, AC, hot showers, great view, good food, pleasant staff.... We can't wait to return!!

We drove form Santa Teresa to La Fortuna.... It was adventurous and fun! Def reccomend renting a car.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#11 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.