We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value resort with fantatic amenities and charming details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$56 off room rate
Greensboro, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great value resort with fantatic amenities and charming details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I was very impressed with all we got for the price at volcano lodge! $63/night incl taxes and a Delish buffet breakfast for a proper resort with 2 hot tubs, pool w swim up bar and kiddie pool, bar with well priced yummy drinks and a surprisingly good restaurant. Service is impressive, there were ants in the first room so they immediately moved us next door with no hassle and no further problems. Loved the individual porch with rocking chairs and great view (not of the volcano though), comfy beds, bamboo lights and all the amenities you could need (coffee maker in the room, extra towels, safe box). We had a big din at the restaurant one night and was very surprised at how good it was - fantastic tuna Ceviche and steak and Greek salad. We definitely enjoyed our stay and thought it was terrific value for the price

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    668
    410
    72
    11
    2
See reviews for
245
564
28
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This was our first stop on a 10 day trip in Costa Rica. We stayed for 2 nights. The room was nice, it had a patio with 2 rocking chairs that looked out over a very beautiful garden. The room attendants made towel sculptures with flower pedals that were very nice. We went walking on the trail around the compound and saw all sorts of animals and birds. The pool area is nice, breakfast was delicious and plentiful (and included). We spent 1 night hanging out in the hot tub and the bartender checked on us frequently and brought us drinks so we wouldn't have to get up. The front desk staff was very friendly and helped us arrange zip lining, which was SO COOL. The guy at the desk steered us to the option we decided on and it was one of the most amazing experiences. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Arenal area. Also, parking was free and the entrance to the hotel had a guard 24 hours per day.

Room Tip: We booked the "economic package" which included breakfast and passes to the Baldi Hot Spri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stayed at the Volcano Lodge & Gardens for 3 nights. Our stay was FABULOUS! The room had a door that opened to a patio that had great views of the volcano. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate and the volcano was covered most of the time with clouds (unless we woke up early to get some good views). The breakfast was yummy (fruit, eggs, toast, juice, etc.). All the staff were courteous, kind and extremely helpful. We had a problem with our rental car and the staff helped us resolve our issues with the rental car company. We also booked a couple of activities through the hotel and the companies they used were great. We had an AWESOME time and would definitely stay at this hotel again if we returned to the La Fortuna area of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

this hotel was chosen by Gate 1 travel and we were very pleased. Dining room was nice - food was good, garden walk was beautiful. View of volcano was excellent. room was trendy and modern. I recommend buying excursions directly from the supplier, though. buying thru the hotel was alot more expensive.

Room Tip: ask for room with patio facing the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

The room was fine (though you can her your neighbor snore as the walls seem paper thin) but the service not so good and the food not so good either. The area has lots of hotels so read and choose carefully. The gardens are pretty but this is common of many of the hotels and resorts in Costa Rica so look around, read comments from other tourists and travelers and find a place that suits your needs. I wouldn't recommend Volcano Lodge and Gardens mainly due to the rude front desk personnel, the poor service at the restaurant and the food .

Room Tip: Maybe try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

We always appreciate feedback from all our guests, because we think that is the only way to improve.

Also respect your opinion when writing a review. So like many other guests, which may differ from your comment.

But this is a democracy, we hope you spend a Happy Holidays.

On our staff, we will take steps to prevent a disservice to future guests.

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gautier, Mississippi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location. Clean. Great staff. BEAUTIFUL! Highly recommend! Great price... I can't believe this jewel was this inexpensive. I want to come back. The hot tub is great. The lush vegetation is picturesque.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Good place to stay off the main drag ~5-6 km north of town. So it helps to have a car to get into town. Easy drive to most of the local attractions. Nice pool and jacuzzi - although the jacuzzi could have been warmer. Happy Hour 2-for-1 drinks with good drink menu options. Breakfast buffet is basic with scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, potatoes, and gallo pinto. Good value for the money when purchased online off one of the travel sites.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.