We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully kept gardens around a nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Volcano Lodge & Springs

Save Saved
You added Volcano Lodge & Springs to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Volcano Lodge & Springs
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautifully kept gardens around a nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The best part of this hotel is the value. It is a good and clean hotel for a fairly accesible price. The rooms are basic but very spacious, with nice wood carved furniture (typical for the area). The pool area is clean and fairly spacious, and the hot tub is also very nice and spacious. The gardens are beautiful, full of local species and small wildlife (I saw the first armadillo of my life one evening). The staff is extremely friendly and nice. They dio requiere wrist bands, which is not my favourite, but a small, insignificant detail. The restaurant has a good mix iof very good food, at a reasonable price. The spa services are good, but I have had better. Overall, a very good hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    717
    456
    74
    13
    2
See reviews for
270
618
31
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Can't say enough about this beautiful resort!! The room was better than we extpectd!! When we arrived it was late in the evening, so we were unable to see much of the scenery. When we woke up Arenal Volcano was the first thing we saw out of our large picture window. Talk about breathtaking!!! The grounds were amazing and the food was outstanding. Definately will return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The reason I dont is because I am in a good mind state when I get there. This place threw me off. We just left a very nice spot in tamarindo. The list of bad ideas begins with check in:
A: Wearing wrist bands.... dont like it feel like a mental hospital escapee
B: Room design just below a Howard Jonhson
C: No flush toliet paper.... I get it if you are in a locatio that isolated but there are resorts right
next door that dont have the same rules. We went to one 5 days ahead of time.
I feel I should say something nice...the food was ok.

Room Tip: Dont do it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
volcanolodge, Public Relations Manager at Volcano Lodge & Springs, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
For us it is a shame that you are not satisfied with our hotel.

Some of our policies, may not like all of our guests, but they are our policies.

As for the case mentioned, we believe that good customer service is also, to understand that a guest wants to check out the property.

Thank you for your comments, they are our best input.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This was a beautifully landscaped place with wonderful gardens, quiet rooms, good food and great employees who all spoke a little English as well. HIGHLY recommend both this hotel and La Fortuna which had friendly folks at all the local stores. Felt completely safe here!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We only stayed here for 2 nights but we were able to see the volcano the whole time. The room they gave us was the room that was at the trail head and I was a little disappointed that we didn't have a direct view of the volcano, but we were pleasantly surprised that when we went just a few feet on the trail we had a fantastic view. There is an amazing variety of colorful birds everywhere. and being the last room on the row it was nice a quiet. The food was good and the pools were nice and clean. We went during the "off season" and it wasn't crowded (nice) I wish we could have spend more time there. We will definitely return someday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murfreesboro,Tn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Wife and love the lodge. Grounds were beautiful and very one was very nice. We heard a donkey at 3am in the morning. Something to laugh about. Food was wonderful. They gave us a few pass to the Baldi hot spring a $32 value. We love that so much we went again. They set up a tour for us that was wonderful. It was just us and the guide to see volcano park. November is the must time to come here. No crowds at all. The staff call Monterverde hotel to make our reservation. The Internet was not good in our room but excellent at the Resturant.My wife said it was the best placed she has ever stayed!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great service all around - from the maid in our room, that helped us with our laundry ( after 2 weeks of backpacking throug CR), to the Front desk ( especially Fabian) that helped us with a great price on room, brilliant suggestions on tours and our further travel! Clean and highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Volcano Lodge & Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volcano Lodge & Springs

Address: La Fortuna de San Carlos-Arenal Lake road | 7 Km West from Downtown, Road To Arenal Volcano, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Volcano Lodge & Gardens)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Volcano Lodge & Springs 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At VOLCANO LODGE AND SPRINGS, located in La Palma, La Fortuna de San Carlos, at the foot of the majestic Arenal Volcano, our hot springs and lush tropical garden gives you joy and relaxation to our guests and companions. Undoubtedly, our location allows you to witness the imposing Arenal Volcano from a vantage point. QUALITY SERVICE: Knowing that service is the main reason of hospitality, the Volcano Lodge & Gardens’ team, will do our best to make your stay a very fond memory to take home. FACILITIES: All our 66 rooms are Superior and non smoking, have deluxe finishes, 2 comfortable full size beds or 1 king size bed, TV/cable, telephone, air-conditioned, coffee maker, hot water shower, hairdryer and a nice terrace facing the Volcano. We also offer 4 rooms for handicap. RESTAURANT:Sura Restaurant, capacity: 120 people, we’ll be offering you our traditional local and international food, while you enjoy the majestic view of the volcano, birds surrounded nature. You can ask for room service too. OTHER FACILITIES: *Two swimming pools for adults, two swimming pools for children and two Jacuzzis, all of them with view to the Volcano.*Laundry service, Private parking, Internet Access / Wireless Free, Tours information, nature trail, Playground.* Massages Service from 9 am to 9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Volcano Lodge & Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volcano Lodge & Gardens Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Volcano Lodge And Gardens
Volcano Hotel
Volcano Lodge & Springs Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Volcano Lodge & Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.