We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, incredibly relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Termales del Bosque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Termales del Bosque to your Saves list
Termales del Bosque
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aguas Calientes, San Carlos | 6 km al oeste de la catedral de Ciudad Quesada, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Santo Domingo, Distrito Nacional, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great value, incredibly relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We got there at night after a long drive and being able to chill in the thermals right away was worth the whole trip. If you're looking for luxury and over-manicured landscapes this might not be your cup of tea, but for nature lovers it's a dream. Had some reasonably priced yummy juices which u can charge to the room. Beautiful walks, went back to the room and passed out, even though neighbors were a bit noisy (we have kids too so we don't mind). Breakfast was nice, and waking up in the middle of the forest, seeing everything which was pitch black the night before...lovely. Highly recommend, would love to go again. Oh, the rooms aren't remarkable but very clean. Besides, in a place like this, who cares about the pattern on the bedspread?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    25
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
34
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalama, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is a short drive from Volcan Arenal, nearl La Fortuna. The property is lovely, rooms were clean. Delicious breakfast is included, staff are very friendly, safe parking, private grounds, amazing hot springs, terrific sports bar (with hot tubs!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The grounds were lovely, the people were very pleasant and helpful and the food was very good. However, this place is about an hour away from La Fortuna, which was a $60 cab ride each way. (Our travel agent misled us about this fact.) The springs are nice, but they're about a mile away. The staff will happily drive you to the entrance (about 800 km) after which you hike about 200 km? down to the springs. There is also a spa down by the springs where we each had a great and inexpensive massage. There's also a bar down there where you can get drinks and some food. I didn't have anything but my friend said the mojito was great.

We stayed in a bungalow, which was a very nice size. More than enough room. However, the mildew smell was a little overwhelming, the beds were not the most comfortable and there was no hot water.

We actually left a day earlier than planned because we felt like we were so secluded with nothing much to do in the area. We had the staff arrange our transportation to Tamarindo, which was our next spot, and that's when we met Frank. If you go to Termales de Bosque and want to find something else to do, have the staff call Frank of Frank Tours! He is awesome! He was our ride to Tamarindo (which is about a 5 hour trip), but he went out of his way to stop and show us things along the way. He is a delightful man who really enjoys what he does. We loved him! We just wish we would have known about him earlier!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our second trip to Termales del Bosque. The area around the springs is lush & green & very hilly. The hot springs themselves are in a natural setting under the trees & made of stone. It's much more economical that the other,more advertised, hot spring resorts. We took a horseback ride, $10 apiece,for an hour, which was one of the high points of our visit. The guide was very nice, the horses were placid & well-cared-for, & were picked appropriately for each member of our riding party. We rode across fields with views of the mountains & countryside, & through some shady woods. A great value. We also had a massage for $28 apiece, which felt wonderful after the ride.
Downside were a few things-horrible mattress,thin & lumpy; inadequate water pressure in the shower, was unable to get hot water to come through the shower head; food was just passable, even breakfast. It's as if they cook small amounts of food at a time & frequently run out of food, dishes,& glassware, so people have to wait. Saturday night supper was the best meal in 2 days-shishkabobs & BBQ ribs, otherwise it was the usual beans & rice with fish & chicken.
It's a good value, & worth a visit for the hot pools & surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: ask for a good mattress & check the shower when you check-in for adequate pressure & hot wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited this place back in summer of 2008 and it was a spectacular experience. The moment we went down the trail into the forest leading to the hot springs, a chorus of seemingly hundreds of birds overwhelmed the air. What a tropical welcome! Then the trail winds through and along a beautiful stream at the same time descending lower and deeper into the forest. Soon the tropical canopy is way above you and at times you cannot see the sky anymore. At the end, you have this series of some 6-7 hot springs with varying tempatures all built along that stream. There are natural sitting areas in these pools and we got mesmerized by the frolicking stream and sound of water all around us. The clouds that gathered above but now have come down into the trees like a cloud forest.

It was rainy season and soon drops of rain the size of quail eggs started hitting the surface of the pools but everything was still warm. The rain came and went but continued for the 3 days we were there. That was the best memory we have of Termales del Bosque. That was the most natural and beautiful hot springs we have seen anywhere.

You should also check out the horse rides offered there. Our daughters had a wonderful time learning horse riding in Spanish and by example. We trotted and galloped on these rolling hills, down the creek, under the trees. ... We even scared off (unintentionally) a big tropical bird incubating her eggs in the grass when we rode by her nest. She was in midst of the tall grass and we did not see her. Then we got to see the eggs in that nest. It was so fun riding horses in this natural environment that we signed up again the next day. There is no way we could have done that in the States. For some $10 per person, it was a wonderful bargain.

The room itself is simple but authentic and we appreciate the cultural aspect of it. The hotel ground is very scenic with tropical plants, birds, ... The meals were good. We especially found the ceviche there to be the best and nothing since then have come close even at other Costa Rican resorts later on the trip.

The only thing that went wrong was the road back to the main highway after our stay. It was closed for construction so we had to join this caravan of other vehicles on this long, winding detour that went into people's backyard, narrow alleys, huge pot holes and hours of delay on our way to Arenal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The thermal springs are very nice: Quiet area, nice surroundings, changing area, towels. The room itself was mediocre -- mattresses were hard and not mattress cover; pillows were lumpy, only an overhead lamp (one wall lamp was in the room but there wasn't a bulb). The shower did not have hot water except for the first 2 seconds.

There was also a problem with the reservation, but we made do. Food was very good and the staff were all very friendly. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited Termales del Bosque twice during our stay in Costa Rica. It is great value for money.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the food was delicious (particularly the mixed meat platter), there is wireless internet and although simple the rooms are clean and well kept.

The thermal baths are fantastic. They are in a natural forest setting that is particularly special at night. (Sorry no description or photo can describe the experience). The walk to the thermal springs itself is nice, and although there is a shuttle, the walk is only a 5-10 minute easy stroll.

What I like most, is that this place is honest, good value. For under $100 for a couple, you have entry to the baths, dinner and breakfast included for both of you.

Unlike so many other places in this country they don't try to sell you anything. If you expect 5 star luxuries then this may not be for you but if you want a good quality, relaxing, value for money experience, then I would recommend this place. I hope it stays this way!

PS The pina coladas at the thermal springs are very good.

My only criticism of the hotel is that the gym could do with a bit of an upgrade.

Oh,this place is just past ciudad quesada, an hour before arenal. Interbus have shuttles between here and numerous places in Costa Rica..when you book with interbus it is actually in the area called "aguas zarcas". Approx $45 to san jose. For those that criticise its location..check your google maps before you book:)! Its a great stop to / from a visit to arenal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Termales del Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Termales del Bosque

Address: Aguas Calientes, San Carlos | 6 km al oeste de la catedral de Ciudad Quesada, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 63 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Termales del Bosque 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Termales del Bosque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Termales Del Bosque Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Termales Del Bosque Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Termales del Bosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.