We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Termales del Bosque

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Termales del Bosque
Save Saved
You added Termales del Bosque to your Saves list
Aguas Calientes, San Carlos | 6 km al oeste de la catedral de Ciudad Quesada, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
mel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great find..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We visited Termales del Bosque twice during our stay in Costa Rica. It is great value for money.
The staff are friendly and helpful, the food was delicious (particularly the mixed meat platter), there is wireless internet and although simple the rooms are clean and well kept.

The thermal baths are fantastic. They are in a natural forest setting that is particularly special at night. (Sorry no description or photo can describe the experience). The walk to the thermal springs itself is nice, and although there is a shuttle, the walk is only a 5-10 minute easy stroll.

What I like most, is that this place is honest, good value. For under $100 for a couple, you have entry to the baths, dinner and breakfast included for both of you.

Unlike so many other places in this country they don't try to sell you anything. If you expect 5 star luxuries then this may not be for you but if you want a good quality, relaxing, value for money experience, then I would recommend this place. I hope it stays this way!

PS The pina coladas at the thermal springs are very good.

My only criticism of the hotel is that the gym could do with a bit of an upgrade.

Oh,this place is just past ciudad quesada, an hour before arenal. Interbus have shuttles between here and numerous places in Costa Rica..when you book with interbus it is actually in the area called "aguas zarcas". Approx $45 to san jose. For those that criticise its location..check your google maps before you book:)! Its a great stop to / from a visit to arenal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    23
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
33
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Located 7 km from Ciudad Quesada. In general well maintained site, the rooms require a bit of maintenance but generally OK. Meals are very good, Service is very good. In general I'd recommend it. Two things I would strongly suggest: Horses require attention. Room 24 had no cold water and hot water was hotter than the hotsprings!! Mattresses!!! a bit on the soft side for my taste!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I recently enjoyed the thermal bathes at Termales del Bosque. We were very pleased with the room, the restaurant, and the scenic walk to the bathes. There is little to do except lounge in the warm waters from a nearby volcano but that was exactly what we were looking for.
Our room was large, lots of windows looking over their beautiful gardens. Very nice shower, comfortable bed, although their linens were quite tired and had no mattress covers. The restaurant was very good. We took the dinner inclusive package and enjoyed a nice buffet. The very best part of the buffet was the salad bar. We feasted on lots of fresh vegetables, homemade salads, & vino blanco that wasn't overpriced.
This is a place that the trip is at least 75% of the joy. The countryside surrounding this hotel is incredibly beautiful. We drove from San Jose' and the vistas were breathtaking.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for peace and quiet and a relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look out to beautiful gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

First of all, Termales del Bosque is NOT in La Fortuna. It's in Ciudad Quesada, and when we had to leave from La Fortuna on the next leg of our trip, we had to pay a cab driver $80 to take us there. The hot springs and the restaurant at Termales del Bosque were very nice, but the room was terrible. There was a strong mildew smell in the bathroom, the toilet seat was cracked, and three of us were only given one tiny soap and two towels. (More were brought later after we asked) There are no phones or wi-fi in the rooms, so when we had to find a cab, we had to buy a phone card at the front desk, and use a customer phone in the reception area. The furniture in the room was in desperate need of replacement. One nightstand and lamp were cracked, and the mattress on the bed was hard. Sheets and towels were threadbare, and the walls were thin. The location is just lovely, and the restaurant does such a nice job that I hate to see them lose business because they are not taking care of the rooms.

Room Tip: Don't count this place out. Maybe ask for one of the bungalows...they might be nicer than the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is amazing.

However there are 2 things I really disliked.

1. We rented a 6 people bungalow. It was nice and confortable. However, inmediatly after our check in we went to bed and at the time we grasped a pillow.. we found a lot of hair on it. None of us had used the bed ... We asked the hotel to change our bedclothes, however, we ended doubling about theCleanliness
2. Horses are sick... really sick. They should take a better care of them.

Room Tip: bungalows are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

The place is gorgeous with wonderful thermal pools to relax in. The restaraunt was lovely and saw to all our needs. The place was very peaceful and had many staff members to help you out. The pools were gorgeous with much wild life to enjoy while soaking in the healing waters in the jungle. We had a massage and it was outstanding a relaxing massage for forty-five minutes was $28.00 before tip. We will return here on this trip as we enjoyed ourselves sooooo much ...
Thank you Termales Del Bosque! :)

Room Tip: Have a massage before you leave ... Enjoy! :) I have many photos to share but Trip Advisor add pho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

As I understand it, the rancher who owns the finca on which Termales del Bosque sits, built the hot springs spa first, then horseback riding, then the hotel. Overall, it's a wonderful location. In the early morning, we went birding on the little road down to the hot springs. Saw so many wonderful birds which also come onto the hotel grounds. In the evening, toucans come along that drive, too. Great places to go for walks/hikes into the hills, too. Very naturalistic!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Termales del Bosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Termales del Bosque

Address: Aguas Calientes, San Carlos | 6 km al oeste de la catedral de Ciudad Quesada, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 64 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Also Known As:
Termales Del Bosque Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Termales Del Bosque Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Termales del Bosque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.