We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lush gardens, great hikes, good amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Arenal Volcano National Park | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Lush gardens, great hikes, good amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We arrived much later than we had expected, as we drove from SJO. Nonetheless, we arrived and were greeted by very friendly staff. Our room was very clean and lovely. Heck, it wasn't a room, it was it's own building. AC worked great, by morning, we were even a little bit cold. Fridge had colas, chocolate, water, and a few beers. The morning coffee was great. We opted against housecleaning 2 of the three days to save on wash of towels and sheets. As for the restaraunt: breakfasts were all great. Plantains, Black beans and Rice, eggs, veggies, sweet breads, omelets, fresh fruit, cereal, and the amazing coffee. Dinners were better than okay, but living in San Francisco, our palettes aim extraordinarily high. We had a couple lunches and they were more than satisfactory. Pools: my partner is a lizard, so of course they were not warm enough, but I found them comfy and fun. Activities: we booked a 4x1 package -- Hanging bridges, La Fortuna Waterfall, Arenal Park hike, and Spa with dinner and lunch included. It may have been a little expensive, BUT we got transport to and from each site, plus a tour guide, and the meals. The convenience was sufficient to make the whole thing very enjoyable. Plus after the spa, we slept like babies in that gigantic bed in our room, it was 13 hours of hiking some of it in the rain. The gardens around the facility are stunning. We did the on site hike to the river. It got challenging at points, so I can see a few points at which some folks might have turned back, but I like that all the more. I earned those minutes sitting in the river Arenal. We came in the rainy season, so we never got to see Arenal in her full view, but there's nothing Montaña de Fuego can do about that...

Everyone from top down was friendly. Service was never an issue. I never saw anything but smiles.

I would warn some 'murikan tourists: You'll walk. Wifi isn't everywhere. It is a tourist spot, so don't expect "cheap" or inexpensive. You're in Costa Rica: turn off the television and experience all that is around you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your feedback. We like to hear that you had a nice stay and also make known your memories to other readers-travelers.
Our entire staff strives greatly for all of our customers to take home as a memory of your view on our property and I think we did it with you too.
Thank you very much for your recommendations.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    223
    141
    68
    49
See reviews for
161
291
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I went to this hotel based on the fact that my wife has always wanted to stay there. When we got to the hotel the reception was not easy to find, the instructions to get to our room and all the services offered were a bit confusing. The rooms looked like they could use some maintenance since there were some cracks on the wall, the TV was from about a decade ago, the minibar kept sounding all night long, the furniture's best days were behind them. The hotel has 3 thermal water pools, unfortunately only 1 was working. I felt like the hotel had gotten stuck in the 90's, where this experience would have been great, but when you're asked at the reception to avoid putting your room key together with your cell phone and electronic devices because it may get demagnetized (which happened and we had to walk all the way back to the reception), it feels like some sort of renovation is needed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for taking the time and write.
We are glad that despite the "inconvenience" you mention, you always enjoyed your stay. I think possibly you were in one of the most basic rooms; actually we have 5 categories of rooms and most of them are very beautiful and details, but also I´d like to let you know that we are in a very strong maintenance work, so that all those details are renewed as soon as possible.
Regarding the pool, not only one worked, but was in keeping cleaning; for yourselves, our important guests.

Be advised that we have special price for our repeat customers!

Once again, thank yuo very much.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was here june 2013, and I loved it, this was my 2nd stop on our one week vacation, while arriving early before check in they offered to hold our luggage while one of the staff members gave us a guided tour of the grounds, it was beautiful, lush all over, they have a trail down to the river, (make sure you wear appropriate shoes because it is slippery). We found out the hotel offered tours and we booked the zip lining, grappling, and horse back riding for only $60, what can I say the experience was great unfortunately it was raining during our tour, initially I we, my sister, friend, and my self were scared because the staff were jokesters, they were just trying to scare us but it was all in fun, after our zip lining was over we were unable to do the grappling down the mountain side because it was raining a bit hard by that time. After we were introduced to our next guide I think his name was Alex not sure, I just remember it started with an A, he was great as we all speak Spanish he took his time explaining stuff about the rain forest, the indigenous, the crafts they make and over all, our experience with him was awesome, I would definitely recommend this tour to everyone. The heated pools were great, the cold pool even though it was hot and humid outside was freezing, but your body adjust once your in the water. We experienced minnor issues with the hot water not running in our room but it was fixed rather fast. The views from our room was great. The staff was great, the free breakfast buffet was also good to me as I am used to Spanish cooking, beans, rice, platanos, eggs, toast, and fresh fruit, for dinner I ordered a chicken sandwich, a bit pricey, but delicious, the location of the hotel is a bit far from the small town of la Fortuna, about a $15 ride each way, 30 dollars total plus tip, you have to tip everyone here so remember to designated a lot of money towards tipping, at least 100 dollars for a full week because you come into contact with a lot of people. Over all this hotel and location was my favorite from the whole trip. Thank you staff, and give special thanks to the horse care taker Alex.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your beautiful comments.
We are delighted that you enjoyed all the natural beauty that describes this cute hotel.
It is very satisfying to know you had an excellent stay, also you enjoyed breakfast and had good company of our staff ...in short, your satisfaction is our.

Marielos Madrigal
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The rooms were nice and clean, people was very helpful and friendly but the food was terrible. The first night we had dinner. I order a Vodka pasta, well the pasta was swimming on heavy cream and had no flavor. My wife ordered a chicken broad soup, it was a tomato soup with two very tiny pieces of avocado. Breakfast was included on the rate, every morning the food was dry and hard. You could order an omelet. My daughter wanted the ham for the omelets on the side, the ham was old, not fresh and had a sour taste already.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for writting about us on sites like this one.
It´s a pleasure for us to know you had a great stay and that our staff was friendly.
It´s a shame our food was not perfect for you; believe me your comments are going to take into account. Also I´d like to let you know we´ll have very soon a new menu , we hope when you return again to Costa Rica, you visit Montaña de Fuego and enjoy the new recips.

Once again, thank you very much.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
operacioneshotel@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel is really cool. The rooms are comfortable and the pools are nice. What I didn't like was the food of the restaurant, it was really expensive and it was not good. We asked for steaks and they tasted like nothing, they didn't even had salt. It was not good.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms that are in front of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Manager at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for visiting us and also to comment on the nice stay with us. We are very sorry that our retaurant was not good for you. We´ll let you know that on these days we´ll have a new menu-based on delicious and new dishes.
We hope you return to Costa Rica again and remember Montaña de Fuego is expecting for you.

Have a nice day!!!

Marielos Madrigal.
OPerations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We loved the resort the room and the view. The warm water pools and mud were fun. Amazing waking up to hummingbirds buzzing around the flowers around our cottage View of the volcano was simply breathtaking. Staff was very friendly waving and talking to you every time they saw you made you feel at home. Would go back again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for writing about your wonderful experience with us.
We are pleased that you had a great time and that our staff managed to make your stay even more enjoyable.
We want you come back soon.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Rooms are quite spacious and well equipped including a small refrigerator. Front desk employees are very helpful… don’t hesitate to ask for ice or a pair of wine glasses. You will have a very nice view from your room if the Arenal Volcano is clear and not too cloudy. All rooms have wide windows just in front of the Volcano. If you decide to do the walking in the trails is better that use adequate shoes and take any beverage with you. The trail to the river gives you the opportunity to admire the tropical rain forest and of course, do some good exercise. Don’t miss it! The hot springs are not so hot as I would expect compared with others around. If you don’t find enough tropical fruits for breakfast, ask for it.

Room Tip: Choose a room on top of the hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for visiting us and have commented about your beautiful experience in our hotel. We appreciate knowing that you took the trails and enjoyed the beautiful surroundings that adorn this lush place.
Also thanks for the tips you provide the readers, ( (: ).
we hope you can return again and again to consent you.

Thanks a lot.

Marielos Madrigal.
Operatios Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#13 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,690 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#18 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,042 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
Arenal Manoa Hotel & Spa
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#36 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 stars 757 reviews
4.3 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#35 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.