We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna. | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

friendly and helpful staff
close to all kinds of activities
restaurant can be pricey, but not if you choose your meals properly
rooms are clean and functional with a fridge.
bathroom a bit dated, but has all you need.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    154
    166
    96
    57
    38
See reviews for
111
214
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We traveled to Costa Rica in February of 2013 without a planned itinerary. We looked up local hotels in Fodors and this one jumped out at us, we had a great experience. Other then being quite dated, the rooms were spacious and adequate. The rooms could use an update and some new furnishings but the location and views from this property far outweigh this fact. The "duplex" style rooms are spread throughout the property. The staff at this hotel were fantastic, especially Reynard (sp) at the front desk who went out of his way to make sure we had a great stay. While we were there we used the pool a few times, soaked in the "thermal" pools and ate in the restaurant. I will say, the breakfast buffet included in your room is fantastic and the view of the Volcano is unsurpassed. This hotel remains a shining star in our memory bank of Costa Rica, and we would absolutely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I'd have to agree this hotel is in a stunning location with perfect views of Arenal. We had a detached chalet which was comfortably furnished with a small balcony to the back and an enclosed porch to the front looking over the volcano (shame about the four fir trees in the way but you can avoid them by walking further up the hill). The lighting in the bedrooms was to eco friendly and you couldn't read by them.
We only stayed one night and had a good meal in the restaurant and an excellent breakfast again with views of Arenal. There is a pleasant trail to walk for wildlife and, whilst we didn't have time for the spa and pool(s), it looked very good from the outside.
Only one criticism; we were a small group of 18 and they insisted that we all put on an armband when we arrived as if we were all inclusive. This we found rather demeaning and, as we weren't all inclusive and paid for all our drinks in cash, couldn't understand the labelling. Needless to say the band was removed very quickly.

Room Tip: Try and get a chalet with an uninterrupted view of Arenal volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal that you had in mind. Our main gold is that all guests leave our Hotel pleased and satisfied.
About the brazalets we used for room numbers for breakfast, but we accept all comments and we can decide in the future for groups we can use your idea

Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

.....this country demands to be experienced. if you are worried about perfect water pressure, amazing concrete roads, or can't survive without a 75 inch hd tv in your room, then go anywhere but costa rica and enjoy your business as usual vacation......first of all, montana de fuego is situated perfectly between la fortuna and arenal volcano national park. if you have your own transportation, it is about a 10 minutes gorgeous drive to get to the park entrance, and another 10 minutes to reach the park itself. its about 30 minutes to go from door to door to the sky tram/zip line which was a blast to do....it is a 10 minutes drive from the hotel back to la fortuna. shuttles/taxis are available if you need. there is a rainforest/cloud forest here. it will probably rain a little. bring a jacket and have your camera ready at all times as amazing views and vistas are right there.....we had staggering views of arenal from our room porch. our room was clean and quiet and comfortable. we checked out the three thermal pools on the hotel grounds. they are kept at different temps, and we enjoyed going back and forth between them which was both relaxing and bracing. we ate at the restaurant on grounds and the food and service was absolutely fine. i hope to travel back to costa rica and the arenal area and i certainly will be staying at montana de fuego.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We only stayed for one night, but enjoyed the comfortable room and excellent breakfast. The rooms are scattered in the site,and this may be a consideration for some people. The loaction was excellent for visiting the nearby attractions- mainly Arenal volcano nature reserve.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. The bungalows are a bit of a walk, and the walkway is a little hilly (for those with limited walking abilities). The bed is comfortable but the amenities are not great - no lights to read by; no shelves in the bathroom; no dresser to put things away. But - I'll bet you can't find a place with better views. Out the front door, in front of you like in a movie, is Volcan Arenal in all its glory. And sitting out on the back porch at dusk and dawn, we saw almost as many birds (including three toucans) as we saw on our cloud forest adventures. The food was fine, the service was quite good. I would definitely recommend it. (Oh, and there is a small pool, hot tub and they have their own hot springs!)

Room Tip: if you want to see birds, as for one of the bungalows that has a perfect view in the back of the val...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.
We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasant hill ca
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Because my room was stinky. Maybe it smelled like urine-I don't know,I got used to it after a while. One chair on the porch was broken and the table was wobbly. I was on a group tour and my friend's room was much more spacious than mine with newer furnishings and a front as well as a back porch.
The pools were pretty and a trail behind the spa led to a beautiful valley.
Buffet breakfast was a big spread with lots of options.
You are situated directly across from the volcano.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.
Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal that you had in mind. Our main gold is that all guests leave our Hotel pleased and satisfied.
About the incense in room we used just to aromatic purposes only and is the guest desition
Those situations are not common and we are working on all the observations that you made >
Once again, thanks for your comments
Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna. | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our prívate reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor’s Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Resort
Montana De Fuego Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.