We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older....but a tranquil gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna. | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Older....but a tranquil gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My spouse an I stayed here for one night (Feb 2013) during our visit to Arenal.

The hotel is not new. It is a little tired looking, but this didn't bother us at all. I really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and gardens. Since my spouse and I are avid photographers, the numerous birds around the hotel were a big plus for us. I highly recommend this place for older couples that are looking for some relaxation.

Breakfast was included with our stay and it was top notch. Great assortment of food: fruit, rice, beans, eggs, bacon, waffles, etc. Everything was very fresh and tasty.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 252. I loved the location because it was close to the hot springs and trail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.

First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.

We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. The comment from previous clients speaks for itself. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa

Once again, thanks for your comments

Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    166
    97
    56
    38
See reviews for
110
214
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a lovely property with wonderful views of the Arenal volcano. The staff, especially, Reyner, was very helpful. The pool is lovely as are the grounds.
Our room, a junior suite, had a nice patio overlooking the garden with the volcano in the background. The furniture is a little "tired" but the room had nice amenities-refrigerator, microwave, and safe.
Happy hour-poolside-4 PM to 5 PM was very nice.
Cons: a $15 to $20 taxi ride to town. No restaurants within walking distance with the exception of the on-site restaurant.
Food-on-site restaurant-breakfast was OK. We had a very mediocre dinner-billed as a chef special-3 types of beef that were flambeed with a variety of local veggies. The meat was very tough and not flavorful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.
Again, thanks for your comments.


Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

They badger you to sign up for tours. When you want to just do something on your own (and not pay $200 to walk through the forest) they pretend like you are crazy and don't know where any trails are.

They took away our de-humidifier then pretended not to know what we were talking about when we wanted it put back in the room.

About the only good thing was the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.
Again, thanks for your comments.


Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Lets start with them room, simple and clean but the shower doors were not working at all and one of room walls had a hole. The hotel looked old and in a need for a serious renewal. The food and drinks are really expensive and they weren't so great. Now the thermal waters..... 3 small pools and for my taste they were not hot thermal waters...they were like warm pools, the jacuzzi at the spa was even better. The Spa is super expensive....

If you want to experience the Volcano views and hot thermal waters this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.
Again, thanks for your comments.


Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My partner and I checked into the MDF a few nights ago for what I hoped would be the crowning jewel on a week in Costa Rica with mixed experiences (including a night at the Dunn Inn c/o T.A. in San Jose 5/10). To sum it up the rooms do stink of cheap air freshener, and not just lightly- annoyingly. The windows don't open so airing out the rooms consists of opening front and back doors hoping for a breeze. The bathrooms read 1971 and have no hot water. The staff do their best to provide a pleasant experience but lack the ability to recognize or facilitate the need for some simple improvements. The restaurant on site has the worst lighting ever experienced by this traveler and the food matches the ambiance- asz bad. The "asado" special was recommended by the waiter and although requested med. rare came as well done and rubbery and flavourless as could be. I could go on but I'll save you the time- PLEASE DON'T EAT THERE- My gf did not appreciate the dead cockroach in the salon...well it is CR after all

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.
Again, thanks for your comments.


Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Montana de Fuego Hotel and Spa for 5 nights this January (start of summer). Of those days, we've seen the Arenal Volcano's cone/tip once - it's always been covered by clouds the times we do look and the other times, we're busy doing other tours or activities. We were assigned Room 232 and this room faced the volcano, the hotel's "lake" Lago, and the highway. Either way, our view was awesome and the room was clean and well-kept - nothing to brag about (it's definitely not the four seasons) and even though it faced the highway, we did not here any road noise. In addition, the location of the hotel is not within the city center but if you have a car it won't be a problem at all. It's about a 5-7 min drive into the city.
I did not try the hotel's "hot" spring but my husband did and he did say that it wasn't really "hot" - you could skip it. I did not try the Spa but did lounge by the pool - nothing special either. The hotel's buffet breakfast was good with various choices. They had 2 fruits everyday (different combination of pineapple, papaya, watermelon), egg station, scrambled eggs, rice, plantains, breads, 2 different fruit juice and coffee, pancakes, and some pastries.
In summary: Great view, average room & pool, good breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.

First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.

We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. The comment from previous clients speaks for itself. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa

Once again, thanks for your comments

Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volo, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel for the first part of a Costa Rica trip. The hotel was very nice and close to get into La Fortuna. We were put up in a suite, with a view of the volcano out our window. The deluxe rooms 235-243 have great views overlooking a valley, so if you don't need the extra room in the suite, go with the deluxe room. Jefferey was very helpful and blast to hang out with by the pool. The cab ride is $10-12 to go into town. One tip I would give is go into town to eat dinner and have drinks. The food is good at the restaurant at hotel, but in town you get a better meal for less (Lava Lounge and Don Rufino are great) Also, go into town to book your excursions, they are a little cheaper.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting La Fortuna de San Carlos and take the time to write your comments, which are very important for our Hotel.

First, thank you very much for staying at our Hotel Montaña de Fuego. We greatly appreciate your comments, because it encourages us to persevere, our goal is to achieve maximum satisfaction of our customers.

We will like to encourage you to repeat your experience and see for yourself the quality of our services. I sure you will not be disappointed. The comment from previous clients speaks for itself. Again we appreciate your trust and your positive review of our Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa

Once again, thanks for your comments

Cinthya V. Köpper
Online Reservations & Online Marketing
Phone: (506) 2479 1220
Email: reservasonline@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna. | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our prívate reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor’s Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Resort
Montana De Fuego Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.