We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 7 more sites!
Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna. | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Reno, Nevada
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We were so excited about our visit to La Fortuna. We arrived at Montana De Fuego, it is a bit far from town, but in a beautiful setting. The grounds are very pretty and it has a wonderful view of the volcano. We entered the check in/reception building which was bright and clean. The bathrooms in the reception building are very nice.

My husband and I were traveling with our 3 teenage/adult children. When we checked in we discovered that the 2 rooms we had booked were not available and we were given other rooms. Not much we could do, so we got the keys and headed to our rooms.

From the porches of the rooms, we had great views of the volcano. Even though the rooms were close to the highway, there was not significant street noise.

From the moment we walked into our rooms it was a big disappointment.

Pros:
Property has a nice view of the volcano
Breakfast was included with our rooms and was good
Staff is very nice
There was a good size safe in the room

Cons:
The hotel is far from town – so I recommend a car to go into town as there are nice restaurants in town.

Rooms and bathrooms are very dark even with all of the lights on.

Floors on porch, inside room and bathroom are all tile – be careful the tile is very slippery when wet.

Shower heads are poor and need replacing

Shower doors do not work/slide and need replacing

There is wireless internet in the check in/reception building, but not in the guest rooms

In room 220 – the A/C makes a lot of noise when running

In room 221 there were live ants and bugs in room, after calling the front desk someone did come out to take care of the bugs.

The door locks are poor. There are no deadbolts or chain locks inside the rooms for security.

Bathrooms were very wet – they were never dry – there was not dry spot to put anything down – even the toilet paper is damp! The dry towels are damp too!

We payed extra for the 3rd person in one of the rooms – we only got 2 towels for the 3 of us each day. No bath mats or hand towels either. It took numerous phone calls each day to the front desk to get another towel for us, so that we would all have our own towel.

We were there a total of three nights. On our second day, we asked for the general manager to contact us about our situation and the manager never did contact us.

At this hotel, we were required to pay for the entire hotel stay upfront when we checked in. When we checked out, we asked for a discount on our rooms. We were told that they would let management know about our experience and they would get back to us via e-mail. Later that day we got an e-mail back that they were going to make a 20% refund to our credit card and that it should take 1 week or less for us to get the refund. That was more than 2 weeks ago and we have not yet received our credit card refund or confirmation from the hotel that the refund was completed.

This is definitely not a hotel I can recommend. I would stay somewhere else the next time in La Fortuna

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.


Again, thanks for your comments.

Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    153
    93
    53
    35
See reviews for
104
201
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at the 2 bedroom suite, which was very impressive when we first entered.
The king size bed was so very comfortable, it seemed actually even wider than king (if it exists). The sheets and pillows were excellent as well. The AC worked great, and the bathroom seemed so cool, with huge jacuzzi tub.
BUT there was not enough hot water to fill even quarter of the tub, the water turned ice cold after that. AND there apparently was a crack in the tub through which the water kept sipping out.
On the second day when we returned to the room after day activities, we realized that there was a big puddle of water under the wet bar sink (where we unfortunately stored our bags), the cloths got soaking wet. The water kept leaking.
We called the office 4 times during that day and asked to fix it. The personnel was very nice, kept saying: "Oh, we are so sorry to hear this, we'll send somebody to fix immediately". At 11PM I walked to the reception and re-iterated the problem, got the same answer. Guess what? Nobody ever fixed it. We ended up throwing 5 towels under the sink to prevent the flood:)
The resort has a HUGE potential, I am sure it was amazing 10 years ago. They just need to repair the problems and it will be back to glory.
BTW, breakfast was good! We were there during winter and the fog was very dense, but I am sure on the clear day the view of Arenal from the restaurant must be breathtaking, the location is perfect for this.
Didn't try the SPA, so no comments on this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.


Again, thanks for your comments.

Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Did not have hot water for two days, staff could not fix problem. Front desk lied about situation which was more wide spread then their statement that it was only our room. Got ant bites ouside room door. Food is only fair.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.


Again, thanks for your comments.

Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed there Dec 2013 we booked a full suite and it was very spacious but it rained for three days and every time it rained we had water in the living room floor. It was a very long walk to the restaurant in the rain with no shuttle service and we were told there was Wifi in all the rooms but that is not so. We were moved to a Jr Suite and was not discounted the room price difference. The restaurant menu never changed and it was very pricey a bowl of soup was $15.00 us dollars and cocktails were $18.00 so be prepared and watch your room tab carefully. Also as our travel agent did not disclose that it is a three hour or more trip to any towns other than the small tourist town a ten minutes away which the taxi service charges $15.00 each way. The grounds were beautiful but most all the buildings (rooms) were very old and run down we had hot water problems in booth rooms and the air conditioning was poor at best. So if I visit Costa Rica again this will not be on my list of places too stay. The only bright spot was a few of the restaurant were so very nice and tried hard to make up for the short comings of the hotel

Room Tip: Choose a room near the restaurant in case the weather is bad and remember it is a rain Forrest so yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.


Again, thanks for your comments.

Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last weekend and the drive took us a bit longer to arrive than we anticipated so we were most likely the last to check-in. The room we received was sub-par. The room smelled like urine and the pillows like mildew. The a/c window unit fell off the wall and was dangling by its wires. Someone could have been seriously injured if they were in the bed below the a/c unit. We were told that there were no other rooms we could move to that evening, but the next night we could move into a different bungalow. Fortunately the second room was much much better, but I still felt like the hotel could have done something since the first room was so unacceptable. I couldn't even fall asleep the first because of the smell and lack of an air conditioner. We weren't given an upgrade the next night, just moved into a different room. I felt like it was a little unreasonable to pay the same price each night given the drastic difference between the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.


Again, thanks for your comments.

Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Strong points: great view with volcano right in front of you, large number of Costa Ricans, large rooms, expansive grounds, free thermal pools, massage on site, good swimming pool, close to the volcano and Tabacon spa, good variety of brids on site including hawks, cute doggy and kitty cats, decent value.

Weak points: nothing works in the rooms including foul overflowing toilet, malodor to the room especially teh bathroom, very dated, curtains without blackout, windows do not open, restaurant was cafeteria quality at best (a canteen), no free shuttle to town or volcano and location does not allow taxis to come up because it is 10 kms from La Fortuna so you're kind of stuck even though you may think it is advantageous to be midway between voclano and town.

Lastly, be forewarned about drive to Arenal from San Jose, it is a rough ride even with knowledgeable private shuttle driver.

Room Tip: Ask for newer rooms that face the volcano and make sure room does not smell and everything works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.


Again, thanks for your comments.

Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The outside of this facility and the grounds are beautiful The rooms come in two types: adequate and not so much. The newer cabins are much more spacious and airy: windows that OPEN for cross ventilation in the rooms while the older rms have a tired a/c unit. The new rooms also have two verandas and plenty of sitting options: three straight chairs, a table, and two rockin chairs on the porch. The older ones have a table and two chairs on the porch and none in the room. The oder rooms are also wood paneled and are very hard to keep clean -- dust was abundant. The bedside light had a 25 watt flourescent blb...great for a nght kight but not for reao gnidr anything else. Glad I had my headlamp. The amenities are very nice but as pricey as at home...$90 for a massage. All rooms have a mini-fridge with minimal contents; the inventory lists something (hand written) that turns out to be two pieces of specialty soap for $5.00. There is also an unlisted charge of $5.00 for what would normally be a complimentary packet of coffee. Absolutely no room for personal products in the bathroom. Restaurant is adequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room. Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear guest.

Thank you for visiting the Hotel Montaña de Fuego Resort & Spa, and taking the time to write your comments, which are very important for the company.
We regret that your stay has not reached the goal for your perfect vacations.

Our main goal is that all guests had a amazing stay in our Hotel.
These situations are not pretty common and we are working on that so this wills never happened again in the future.

In the upcoming days we will be in touch with you and letting you know our improvements that we had made thanks to your comments we will put out efforts to achieve a better service record.


Again, thanks for your comments.

Jeffrey Calderon Cervantes
Customer Service Supervisor
Phone: (506) 2479 1228
Email: calidad@montanadefuego.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Hotel
Montana De Fuego Resort
Montana De Fuego Hotel & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna. | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our prívate reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montaña de Fuego Hotel & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor’s Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa to your Saves list