We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Somewhere Else” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Arenal Volcano National Park | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go Somewhere Else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Electronic keys didn't work, not enough towels or robes and no blackout curtains...this was only in the first 5 minutes. After that, no hot water for showers in either of the two rooms we rented, spotty service at the pool bar, relatively clueless wait staff, smile-and-nod reception staff with little or no care for making things right. I will never come here nor recommend this place.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montaña d, Gerente at Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Guest.

Thanks a lot for all your comments; they are very important for us.
Remember to ask for all the promotions Montaña de Fuego Offers every season for all are clients.

Thank you very much.!!!


Marielos Madrigal.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    198
    117
    62
    43
See reviews for
139
257
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

Renovated rooms are ok. Food is very good if you have a package deal. The main problem is the hot springs. We decided to go around 6:00pm and the hot springs pool area looked infested with Mosquitos and fallen leaves. The water was cold. I ask front desk and they also agreed the water was cold. Hot springs? Should be called Cold Springs!!!! Probably will not come again. A bit disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful view of the Arenal Volcano, plus all the service that they have like, Spa, pool, hot springs, restaurant and tour operator.
The hot springs is not too big, but are very comfortable place. At the restaurant the breakfast is great and the Spa is good for all that people that are looking for a relaxing moment.
One of the things that this people they have is the tour operator, the same hotel has many activities in side but you know has a cost, for me is better take a tour with another local company, why is that, remember that the idea of EcoTurismo is not only save the trees or the water, part of this is the support of the local business at the area, so to do everything at the same place is not a good option for this wonderful area that has many things for fun.

Room Tip: Any rooms is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a great place to visit for the price that we paid. It's only a 3 because we went to the Tabacon Spring Hotel afterwards. Otherwise this would be a 4 star hotel.

There is a beautiful pool area that is worth the visit! All rooms have a view of the volcano.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife & I spent two nights in this hotel. Room: We stayed in one of the Junior Suites; it looks like a small wooden cabin, very comfortable, with a king-sized bed & a jacuzzi. They are very well decorated and if you're lucky, you'll have a nice view of the Arenal Volcano.

Food: Breakfast buffet was included for us. I just can say than it was "ok"; not good and far from being excellent. Most of it was flavorless. We never had lunch or dinner there because the prices are very high for Costa Ricans and you can get better food at lower cost close to downtown (La Fortuna).

Facilities: The gardens and common areas are beautiful, although there are some trees and bushes that block the volcano view. The hot springs are nice, but I'm still questioning myself if they were really hot springs... (they didn't feel like in other hot springs we have been). The other issue I found is that they're opened until 9 p.m. but the illumination is terrible. There is also an area where they have volcano mud. The mud is supposed to be warm, but it was cold; they try to warm it up with a kind of a rock oven, but I guess it wasn't hot enough or it wasn't well designed. The last think I want to talk about is the mountain trail. This was bad. It is in a very bad shape and it is totally unsafe. You can notice that it hasn't received maintenance in a while. The worst part is that there isn't any warning sign and no one from the staff warned us about it. We probably walked around 500 meters and there were two fallen trees blocking the trail path, we were able to go through one of them, but we decided to return after we found the last one. There are some parts of the trail path where you actually feel your life is in danger; lots of the trail path has been narrowed because it has been washed out by the rain.

I think this is nice hotel, and it could be better if they pay attention to details.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel.
Room are large and most of them are facing the volcan. (Our was 241)
Free wifi only at the reception.

But it's far from everything!
If you do not have a car do not go there, the shuttle from the hotel when available will cost you $10 each way and $12 with a regular taxi.
I would say that a hotel of this standing should have free shuttle, even with 3 nights booked we could not negotiate any free ride....
This hotel is more interested in large groups than individual travelers.

The breakfast is a buffet with various choice.
The spa is nice, free hot pool and jaccuzi. Sauna is $5 per day per person.

For the tours:
Tours organized by the hotel are $60 minimum, the highest in town!
You can either go to La fortuna to compare the different tours or contact Julio-cesar working for RedLava.
Tours are "best price in town" and Julio-cesar is open for negotiation and discussion.
We did the volcan tour with RedLava, arranged by Julio-cesar, our guide was Chris, amazing guide who knows all secrets of the forest and noise of animals.
Go for the bath at the hot springs (public ones, no need to go to Balci) it's great!

When you book a tour, ask for the pick up at the hotel included in the price so you save the taxi cost.
You might have to negotiate since Montana de fuego is far from the center.

To contact Julio-cesar : julioxx@yahoo.es or 837 725 85
You can also check the website Lava Land Tour cr

For diner we recommend to go to La fortuna, there is a very nice bar-restaurant on the town square named Kazan, good food and price ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellen, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in late October 2012 for one night. We stayed in one of the Jr. Jacuzzi Suites. The front desk staff were very friendly when we arrived and we were escorted to our room. The room was in a duplex building with beautiful gardens in the front and back. I had hoped we would have a better view of the volcano from our room that we did. We could see it from the front windows, but it wasn't like you could sit comfortably in the room and enjoy a volcano view. But other than that the room was really nice. I think other rooms on the property probably had more direct views than we did so I recommend you ask about the view from your specific room if that is important to you.

The room was very spacious and had very nice furnishings and decorations. My one complaint in the room was that the mattress was not very comfortable. For such a big beautifully dressed bed, I expected a better mattress.

The jacuzzi tub was nice and they had nice touches like incense and candles to use. We enjoyed a short walk to the swimming pool and hot springs pools and had a nice soak in the evening. The breakfast in the morning was very good and the view of the volcano from the dining room is spectacular. We could see the steam rising from vents near the top of the mountain.

We didn't have time to take advantage of the spa services but it looked very nice and the staff we met there were very friendly. This hotel is very close to the national park entrance. A 5-10 minute drive. We really enjoyed hiking the trails there. It is an easy 10-minute drive into town from the hotel.

Room Tip: I recommend you ask about the view of the volcano from your specific room if that is important to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.