We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hote whichl I have ever stayed in San Carlos” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Arenal Volcano National Park | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The worst hote whichl I have ever stayed in San Carlos”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I love to try new stuffs. I have gone vacations in San Carlos for many years. I found a discount in this hotel, so I wanted to try. When I got there, the hotel looks old. It needs mantainess. The service on the front desk was bad after they noticed I had a discount. It was raining a lot, they didn't have umbrella and a person from the front desk guided me to park in front a wrong room. So I had to walk under the heave rain with my luggages to find the correct one.

When I entered my room, the aspect was unclean. I wanted to take a shower after the rain but the water was cold. I called to complain. One guy came after 15 minutes to fix it. But it didn't work. I called again and I wanted to change the room. You know what They said NO.

I will never go there again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    196
    116
    62
    43
See reviews for
139
254
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this Hotel for our Honeymoon on Oct. 22, 2012. Open checkin we were graciously greeted by Randall and Jeffrey. Both very charming and helpful. Room was clean and had the perfect view of Volcan Arenal. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant the first night. Food was Excellant but a bit pricey. Breakfast was above average. Second night an earthquake hit. Jeffrey made everyone feel at ease by checking on everyone. Overall the staff and hotel was perfect for our Honeymoon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel for 2 nights. First night everything was average OK. We didn't like the room was equipped with 2 Full beds, We are really used to 1 Queen at least!
TV was a regular old TV and AC seemed to be working OK that night.
Second night a few things happened that stopped us to have a great weekend, first the AC stopped working and even when we called at 9:20pm (when we tried to turn it on and it didn't start) and the reception lady told me she was going to send a technician "right away", We waited 1 hour and nobody showed up, then when we called again a new Receptionist (Male) told me he didn't have any reports about my case, and also told me he was not going to make any effort to fix it until after 6am next day.

Long history short, they didn't care, they didn't made any discounts, or "sorrys" or anything...
We were really disappointed about the service.

The place is nice located, but looks like there is lack of maintenance, streets, walls, AC units, Pool, everything seems to be affected a lot by the age!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A collection of separate lodges, scattered across a hill top outside the little town of La Fortuna, this hotel is a a classic Central American mix of excellence marred by lack of follow through. The views of the volcano at Arenal (for which it is named,) are excellent, but best from the older lodges along the North side, and these are in need of renovation. The newer lodges on the hill top are in much nicer condition but don't have nearly the view. Wifi is present only at the lobby, or there is a computer for guest access.The spa: MARVELOUS. A huge menu of spa treatments and the services of excellent massage therapists. Possibly the finest massage I've ever had, in a therapy room open to the lush jungle while a thunder storm boomed outside.
Pros: Location near the many wonderful area attractions, the staff: unbelievably friendly and helpful, particularly Alex at the concierge desk , Randal at the reception desk and Sergio.The En Gedi Spa. On site jungle tours provided by the extremely knowledgeable Sergio.
Cons: The older lodges need some attention. The restaurant is good but some what pricy. Tech dependent people will be in withdrawal from Internet deprivation

Room Tip: Lodges on the north side have the best mountain view but are older, lodges on hill top are newer and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was the beginning point of 10 day stay in Costa Rica. We went with Jetset Vacations, and arrived in San Jose airport at 5pm local time. We got our rental car and hour later, and with the having set at 6pm or so, we had to drive the 3+ hours up and around narrow, mountainous terrain in complete darkness with FOG, so that we could not see beyond 20 feet in front of us! At exactly 10:20pm we arrived at Montana De Fuego. The fellow behind the desk was friendly and oblivious to what it takes to arrive at their destination after sunset. Such would be the experience we've had with Tico's, either naivety or indifference. We were checked in, given free wi-fi, and taken to our lodgings post-haste.

What a dwelling it was! You've never seen such a place. We were upgraded to a bungalow type place with a living room, bathroom and bedroom, all surrounding a place where you can make coffee, and microwave stuff. The layout was very strange, but the place was clean. The giant bath tub had no curtains, and inconsistent hot water. The bathroom sink had only cool water. But the bed although comfortable, did not have clean linens. Upon inspection the pillow and comforter looked like they were not changed. This was corrected the next day with fresh linens, and plenty of towels, but nothing could be done with the lack of shower curtains, or water issues. Our room faced the volcano and it was a beautiful sight to behold so early in the morning.

Overall the grounds are kept clean, they have a swimming pool and spa, but with hardly any tourists there, they got little use. We had the included breakfast of beans and rice, plantains, yuca, eggs, fruits and coffee while eye-balling out the glorious volcano in our midst.

We hardly did much at Montana de Fuego, and instead went zip lining with another hotel expedition at Los Lagos, and actually spent the day there because it was a larger and livelier resort. We also checked out Baldi Hot Springs for a day, which was just down the street and completely worth the $35USD charge. Montana de Fuego is just a short drive into town, and you can get some local food of more rice and beans, and yuca with filets of whatever, if you wish. Bar prices for beer and liquor is exactly the same as what you'd expect in North America.

The highlight of Montana de Fuego is that they give you the best coffee we had in Costa Rica FREE right in your room. "Cafe Rey Selecto Puro" in a blue and red bag is the best! Load up on that, and buy it in town for $8USD for 500g or something like that.

Room Tip: Do not stay by the road side. Noisy, and questionably not safe based on other reviews. UPGRADE. F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was our first stop in Costa Rica. Somehow we ended up with a suite overlooking the volcano. The rooms are nice and private, air conditioning worked great, attentive staff. We had to wait a few minutes to get hot water, but once it got there it was great. The restaurant isn't very good, and way overpriced so we only ate there the first night because we got in so late. The breakfast was average compared to most hotels. They do have an omelet bar which helps. The best part of the stay was meeting Sergio. He is very friendly, a wealth of knowledge and willing to share. He hooked us up with a boat ride with lunch (one of the best places I ate typical food), and recommended some restaurants in town. It was a great way to start our trip.

Room Tip: You'll get a good morning call from the birds no matter where you sleep, but there really isn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rusk, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is at the tipping point. It could go either way at this point. It's a little seedy and maintenance is at the best, lacking. Several parts of our room and patio needed repair and had been patched without fixing the problem. No Wi-Fi in the room , so lobby only for using their computer. Rooms are not dark-curtained since the dark curtains were removed and never replaced so get ready for break-of-dawn rising. Rooms light up like the surface of the sun at about 6 a.m. or earlier
Restaurant staff hasn't yet mastered the English language causing some very difficult moments, for instance, waiter tells us US$16.00 but later brings bill for US$60.00 for shrimp! A/c in room never quite got cool so sleeping was not an easy thing.

On the plus side...we were there in late August and had few fellow residents so the pool was empty and the restaurant was clear each time we went. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate with made-to-order omelets and a very good buffet. We recommend the zipline tour from the hotel. Rooms are very spacious (room 267 was ours) but the showers lack shower curtains and the window curtains allow too much light in even at night from the security lights. The view of Volcan Arenal is absolutely breathtaking. Be sure to pet the dog on the way to the office.

Room Tip: Ask for lake casita.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa

Address: Arenal Volcano National Park | 8 km west from La Fortuna downtown. On the way to the National Park., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 824417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#15 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALL THE SPLENDOR AND ADVENTURE OF LA FORTUNA JUST IN ONE PLACE!Welcome to an experience full of adventure and nature in Costa Rica...Just by the foot of the Arenal Volcano stands Montana de Fuego Hotel & Spa, a hotel inspired by its great natural environment, surrounded by 35 hectares of tropical forest on our private reserve.In balance with nature develop a site of rest and fun that makes you feel in a new world.With our All-Inclusive Package in La Fortuna, you can enjoy aholiday full of sustainable adventure and cultural experience.Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa has received the Fordor's Choice Award for several consecutive years, distinguished by Fodor's Travel as the best of hotels in the region of La Fortuna de San Carlos.PURE ADVENTURE IN OUR GO ADVENTURE PARK. Experience the best and exclusive eco adventure tours, feel the extreme nature of tropical forests and the powerful energy of the Arenal Volcano! A BREATH FOR TOUR SOUL... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montana De Fuego Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Montana De Fuego Hotel And Spa
Montana De Fuego Resort
Hotel Montana De Fuego Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montana de Fuego Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.