We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of Volcan Arenal from our balcony” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Beautiful view of Volcan Arenal from our balcony”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at Hotel Las Colinas. The staff were wonderfully accomodating to all of our needs. The rooms were simple, but very clean with comforts of home. I was able to watch the Monday Night Football game from the room, which I never expected. Tipical breakfast was included in the room price which was very reasonable. The best scrambled eggs and beans/ rice of the entire trip. The location was perfect, we got a sense of the local population walking children to school each morning. I never felt unsafe the entire stay in La Fortuna. The family who owned and operated the hotel were very pleasant, and helped us arrange day trips to the waterfalls, hikes, hot springs, and restaurants to dine. I would highly reccomend others headed to La Fortuna to check out Hotel Las Colinas.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colinas, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, November 5, 2009
Thank you very much !!
We love to know that our place makes the difference during your trip in Costa Rica!
Every day we look foward to offer a friendly and familiar attention to all our guests and make their days in Arenal Volcano and La Fortuna a Great experience!
Our cozy town, where all services are located just a few steps, and where you can really know about Costa Rica and their people in their dairy living.

Thank you and Best Regards, Hotel Las Colinas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    135
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
45
148
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Hotel is in town with a great view of the volcano. The family that runs the hotel is very nice and helpful with tours and suggestions of places to see elsewhere in the country.
It was very warm the nights I stayed, and the a/c would have been a good idea but I thought the $10/nt was a bit much.
Wifi went out and seems to be a problem everywhere. Breakfast was great and they suggested a great "Soda" to get a midday bite to eat at.
Canopy and bridge tours are great, so was the horseback ride to the zipline. Try to get the day/meal pass to Baldi Hot Springs ($20) Well worth it.
Only other downside to being in town is the occasional loud car or motorcycle going by!

Try the restaurant at Volcano Lodge, their typico meals are great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

This is a small family run hotel just off the main street. It's two stories and offers magnificent views of the volcano from the outdoor patio on the second floor. The staff was very helpful, especially the daughter, Ivette who spoke English very well. The rooms were nicely decorated, spacious, very clean and had A/C for an extra $10. Well worth it. When I was there it was so hot by 8:00am that the A/C was a welcome retreat after walking in town or going to the hot springs, etc. Breakfast is included and was quite good especially the juice! Internet cafe is next door and the best price I found in town (less than $1/hr). The only drawback to this place was music coming from a nearby establishment one night that was very loud. But unless you go towards the outskirts of town you'd probably have heard it no matter where you were. I'll definitely come back to this hotel again. They made me feel so welcome and that made a huge difference to this solo traveler who speaks little Spanish.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed in a double room with private bathroom.
Good points:
- Aircon in room
- TV and fridge
- Hot water shower and towels
- Really clean
- Tours and buses booked onsite
- View of Volcano from patio area
- Breakfast included
- Right in the centre of La Fortuna
- Nice friendly helpful receptionist
Bad points:
- No atmosphere or character, apart from the open air patio there are no communal areas, even the reception is just a small office. Reminded me a bit of an American Motel.
- We paid £55 for a room for the night, quite steep compared to what we had been paying in other areas.
- Breakfast was OK but it was put out early and then left all morning so for example the scrambled eggs had gone really dry by the time we ate them.

We got there late (9:30) on a bus from Tortugero and because I had phoned the hotel earlier to let them know the receptionist left our key with the night porter. When we got there the reception was all closed up and there was a notice for us on the door to say the key was with the night porter. Unfortunately he didn't turn up until 20 minutes later. No real problem but seems like a strange setup for a hotel.
There is a restaurant and internet in the same complex as the hotel but I don't think these are related to the hotel as such - these also closed early.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

We read about the hotel in Lonely Planet and chose to stop there first because of its view of the volcano. And did we make the right choice!!! The hotel is modern, cute, and super clean (each room has AC, TV, Fridge, Safe (very important since we were robbed on the Caribbean Coast, and most rooms have their own balcony with a hammock and a view of the volcano). There is also a huge terrace that overlooks the volcano where one can just hang out or enjoy the included breakfast. But the best thing about the hotel was its Front Desk service. The hotel is owned by a local young couple who has studied abroad, speaks English and knows what customer service is all about. They have a great folder in each room with different activities that you can do around the area but are also always available for you to ask them directly at the reception. We looked around town as well and the activities prices offered at las Colinas were by far the best. More importantly, their recommended activities were great - thanks to them we had a blast. Since we were so happy with everything they had offered us - zip lining, spas, taxis, etc., we decided to ask them if they can find us a minivan with a driver to get us to San Jose on our last day (we were a group of 8). The driver they found us made our day. He picked us up early in the morning with a modern minivan and showed us more monkeys than we had seen for our entire trip, brought us to a local farm to try exotic fruits, sang for us amazing songs that he had written, told us a gazillion interesting facts about each area that we passed, and was generally just a great person. And did I mention that the price was $100 dollars less than what we were offered by the other car agencies.

Overall, an amazing place to stay – great environment, central location, the best activities recommendations, and good local people.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

My husband and I selected this hotel because we wanted to stay directly in La Fortuna town as to spend some time exploring on foot when not away at the national park. For this leg of our trip, we hoped to walk out the door and find groceries and restaurants without having to drive.

The Hotel Las Colinas met our needs perfectly. The hotel is centrally located in town, between 2 markets, and in the midst of many shops, restaurants, and art galleries. Being in town meant that it was a bit noisy at night, but we expected as much... if we wanted total peace, we would've stayed at one of the numerous hotels outside of town! All we had to do was turn on the AC/fan in the room and the night sounds were masked.

We reserved room #33, the junior suite on the top floor with a volcano view. I think the term "junior suite" is a bit misleading, since it was basically just a typical hotel room with a king size bed, a small bathroom, a couple of wooden chairs, and a mini-fridge. Still, it was great for the two of us! We also enjoyed sitting on the balcony, watching the action on the street, and admiring the volcano. The pillows on the bed were really flat, but otherwise, the accommodations were fine.

We really liked the courtyard (where breakfast is served) as well as the hot dog stand on the ground level. It was also nice to have access to an internet cafe. The hotel staff were very sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in Rm 31 for 3 nights:
The Pros of the Room:
1) great view of the volcano - the day that we left, there was no clouds around the volcano - the pictures we took was so picturesque that it almost looked fake
2) breakfast included: not too bad, alternate between bread and eggs vs bread and fresh fruit. good view with breakfast
3) owner was helpful in calling our tour company when they were late to pick us up

Cons:
1) The Blanket smelled musty, the pillows were lumpy and a little uncomfortable
2) The street noise was very audible - cars, motorcycle, construction next door... it was not a very quiet place to stay especially at 6 in the morning
3) I booked the room on their website which requested my credit card info - I just assumed that they would charge the room to my card. When I checked out, I was charged 5% extra when I payed my room with my credit card - that was a little annoying.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.