We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

My husband and I selected this hotel because we wanted to stay directly in La Fortuna town as to spend some time exploring on foot when not away at the national park. For this leg of our trip, we hoped to walk out the door and find groceries and restaurants without having to drive.

The Hotel Las Colinas met our needs perfectly. The hotel is centrally located in town, between 2 markets, and in the midst of many shops, restaurants, and art galleries. Being in town meant that it was a bit noisy at night, but we expected as much... if we wanted total peace, we would've stayed at one of the numerous hotels outside of town! All we had to do was turn on the AC/fan in the room and the night sounds were masked.

We reserved room #33, the junior suite on the top floor with a volcano view. I think the term "junior suite" is a bit misleading, since it was basically just a typical hotel room with a king size bed, a small bathroom, a couple of wooden chairs, and a mini-fridge. Still, it was great for the two of us! We also enjoyed sitting on the balcony, watching the action on the street, and admiring the volcano. The pillows on the bed were really flat, but otherwise, the accommodations were fine.

We really liked the courtyard (where breakfast is served) as well as the hot dog stand on the ground level. It was also nice to have access to an internet cafe. The hotel staff were very sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    119
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
39
134
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed in Rm 31 for 3 nights:
The Pros of the Room:
1) great view of the volcano - the day that we left, there was no clouds around the volcano - the pictures we took was so picturesque that it almost looked fake
2) breakfast included: not too bad, alternate between bread and eggs vs bread and fresh fruit. good view with breakfast
3) owner was helpful in calling our tour company when they were late to pick us up

Cons:
1) The Blanket smelled musty, the pillows were lumpy and a little uncomfortable
2) The street noise was very audible - cars, motorcycle, construction next door... it was not a very quiet place to stay especially at 6 in the morning
3) I booked the room on their website which requested my credit card info - I just assumed that they would charge the room to my card. When I checked out, I was charged 5% extra when I payed my room with my credit card - that was a little annoying.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

Ivette at Las Colinas helped us plan and book all of our side trips, and did a supurb job. The rates may be a bit higher than noted in the travel books, but they did a major renovation, and the price is still well worth it. The view of the Arenal Volcano from the roof-top patio is awesome. Stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

We stayed in room #33, which had a great view of the volcano! Offered in the price of the stay is breakfast, which you eat on the patio facing the volcano. The location of the hotel is great. Not too far from the Arenal Volcano park and right in downtown La Fortuna (near restaurants and shops). It is a great price for the location. We parked on the street and the car was fine. The staff was very helpful and answered all our questions- even gave us some interesting fruit that we had never seen before to try. If you are looking for a comfortable hotel that is not expensive but does the trick this is the place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

Very friendly but not a typical hotel. The hotel is basically on the first and second floors, based around an openair seating area for breakfast. The reception is downstairs and forms one area of an unconnected arcade including a small restaurant, internet cafe and beauty shop. The arcade is very noisy early morning and late evening when it is opened and locked up with loud metal shutters. The view of the volcano from the hotel seems good in theory but it rained heavily for my entire stay so all I saw was the base and clouds. The reception staff and cleaners are very friendly, and great at organising tours and providing advice, especially Ivette. The rooms are unusual - a bit like a shop window with a curtain drawn across, with the bedroom visible through the thin curtains. My room had the clothes hanging rail and safe in the bathroom which led to care having to be taken when having a shower or wash so as not to spray your clothes. It was difficult to judge the activities of the town given the constant rain but there are several reasonable good value restaurants but no much in the way of bars. Plenty of ATM machines and souvenir shops though.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

This was an amazing hotel at an extremely reasonable price. The staff was very helpful. Perfect for budget travellers who don't want to skimp on the comfort. I would definitely stay here again. The terrace was beautiful, a nice place to hang out in the evenings.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

The best part about Las Colinas was the outstanding service at reception. Eager to answer questions and help set up tours and transportation, we felt like we had 5-star service with a smile. If you want to leave your itinerary open, and plan as you go, you can't ask for a better resource. The service bumps a 4-star room to an easy 5-star.

My wife and I were upgraded to the famous Room 33 when the hotel was overbooked. Wow. Amazing view of the volcano right out the front doors and picture windows, comfortable bed. It's expensive by Costa Rica standards, but if you step back and think about what you're getting in comparison to US or Europe, it's a heck of a deal.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#28 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Décor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.