We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel option off town square” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
North Kingstown, Rhode Island, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel option off town square”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked this hotel because of its central location right off the square in la Fortuna, and if you want to stay in town, it seems like the best option. The location was great, as we could walk to restaurants, have ice cream in the square, and go to the supermarket right next door for wine to enjoy on the rooftop patio. We booked the Junior Honeymoon Suite, which had both an open shower and a Jacuzzi tub, and while it is definitely not a luxury hotel by any means, the room was adequate for what little time we spent in it – we were out adventuring all day! The young man at the front desk was super friendly and accommodating, and had a good restaurant recommendation for our first night (Rancho Perla). Breakfast was included but was sadly disappointing – they ran out of chorizo and rationed the eggs and platanos – but I think this is because there was a large EF tour group staying there. This was unfortunate, because the high school students kept us awake all night running past our room, screaming, etc. The second night, the patrons at the lively soda across the street kept us awake with constant yelling, motorcycle revving, and arm wrestling contests out on the sidewalk. So all in all, a decent budget hotel, good central location, friendly staff, but bring earplugs if you want to sleep!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    119
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
39
134
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Las Colonas has excellent location: though it is in the center of La Fortuna, it has all good sides of the location on the small street which is not very noisy and has nice café around. The staff is very friendly and helped us a lot to find some interesting things around which were not included in our schedule. The great view to the volcano from the terrace on the second floor, with very beautiful flowers all around – this is exactly what you expect to see when you are traveling in the tropical country. And very convenient to have the internet café just next door if you are not carrying the computer with you. The room is clean and good breakfast. We liked this hotel and will recommend it to our friends.h it is in the center of La Fortuna

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did not have a car for our trip, so we wanted to stay in town.

Las Colinas was cheap, conveniently located, and served excellent breakfast. We stayed on the second floor. Our room had high ceilings, large windows facing the terrace, a mini-fridge and a television. Wi-Fi is free. The terrace faces the volcano.

The only minor downside is the location. As its in town, sometimes the street noise can be disruptive, particularly on the weekends. However, it dies down well before midnight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My family (two adults and two sub-teen boys) stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Staff/owners very friendly and willing to help with all matters touristy. English spoken well. Room (18) was basic but quite adequate. Street noise minimum but air conditioner a little loud. Breakfast a very good start to the day. Easy walk to multiple restaurants and taxi stand for trips. A great base for exploration of the area without breaking the bank! A great value. I would go back!

Room Tip: Room facing terrace is the best. There can be gatherings there, but usually not after 9 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Las Colinas is perfectly located in La Fortuna - not on the main street but one to the side with a view of the Volcan Arenal - note the pictures we saw of the volcano from the hotel did not include the 3 telecoms poles that must have been photoshopped out.

The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and the rooms clean. When we arrived our air-conditioning broke down and they had someone out (at the weekend) to fix it straight away.

Breakfast was included and the terrace on the first floor was a nice place to relax. Wifi was available in the room and there was cable TV for those interested.

We stayed 2 nights which was plenty in La Fortuna enough time to take a long walk to the waterfall and if you want a volcano hike,

The only negative about the hotel from our perspective were the sheets on the beds. They did not fit the mattress properly so within a couple of minutes the under sheet was all tangled up leaving you sleeping on the mattress which wasn't particularly pleasant or comfortable.

Opposite the hotel was the Soda Viquez where they serve massive and casados - the best we've had in Costa Rica so far - there really was enough for 2 people!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in that hotel for two days during a trip to visit the Volcán Arenal. The hotel is very cozy and beautifull. The room is very basic but the views from the window are amazing. The location is also great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from staying in this hotel for 5 nights and loved this hotel so much!! We booked the junior suite which was much bigger than the other rooms but still very affordable. Air conditioning worked great, king size bed, refrigerator, small flat screen tv, and great view of the Volcano with balcony. The room was wonderful but what made this hotel so special was the service we received! All of the staff is so friendly and helpful. Alboro and Yvette at the front desk organized so much of our trip and made us feel so welcomed and comfortable. The house keeping girls are sweet and do a fantastic job at cleaning as well. Daily breakfast was good and cooks were also very nice to us. Hotel is located RIGHT downtown and close to everything! We felt bad for the people we did tours with that stayed so far out of town. We spent 5 nights at this hotel and left for Manuel Antonio on the half of our trip- we were disappointed with our hotel over there since we received such great service during our stay in Fortuna. Thank you for the great vacation Hotel Las Colinas!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Décor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.