We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, good service, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“Friendly staff, good service, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Las Colonas has excellent location: though it is in the center of La Fortuna, it has all good sides of the location on the small street which is not very noisy and has nice café around. The staff is very friendly and helped us a lot to find some interesting things around which were not included in our schedule. The great view to the volcano from the terrace on the second floor, with very beautiful flowers all around – this is exactly what you expect to see when you are traveling in the tropical country. And very convenient to have the internet café just next door if you are not carrying the computer with you. The room is clean and good breakfast. We liked this hotel and will recommend it to our friends.h it is in the center of La Fortuna

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    145
    43
    15
    5
See reviews for
54
166
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did not have a car for our trip, so we wanted to stay in town.

Las Colinas was cheap, conveniently located, and served excellent breakfast. We stayed on the second floor. Our room had high ceilings, large windows facing the terrace, a mini-fridge and a television. Wi-Fi is free. The terrace faces the volcano.

The only minor downside is the location. As its in town, sometimes the street noise can be disruptive, particularly on the weekends. However, it dies down well before midnight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My family (two adults and two sub-teen boys) stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Staff/owners very friendly and willing to help with all matters touristy. English spoken well. Room (18) was basic but quite adequate. Street noise minimum but air conditioner a little loud. Breakfast a very good start to the day. Easy walk to multiple restaurants and taxi stand for trips. A great base for exploration of the area without breaking the bank! A great value. I would go back!

Room Tip: Room facing terrace is the best. There can be gatherings there, but usually not after 9 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Las Colinas is perfectly located in La Fortuna - not on the main street but one to the side with a view of the Volcan Arenal - note the pictures we saw of the volcano from the hotel did not include the 3 telecoms poles that must have been photoshopped out.

The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and the rooms clean. When we arrived our air-conditioning broke down and they had someone out (at the weekend) to fix it straight away.

Breakfast was included and the terrace on the first floor was a nice place to relax. Wifi was available in the room and there was cable TV for those interested.

We stayed 2 nights which was plenty in La Fortuna enough time to take a long walk to the waterfall and if you want a volcano hike,

The only negative about the hotel from our perspective were the sheets on the beds. They did not fit the mattress properly so within a couple of minutes the under sheet was all tangled up leaving you sleeping on the mattress which wasn't particularly pleasant or comfortable.

Opposite the hotel was the Soda Viquez where they serve massive and casados - the best we've had in Costa Rica so far - there really was enough for 2 people!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in that hotel for two days during a trip to visit the Volcán Arenal. The hotel is very cozy and beautifull. The room is very basic but the views from the window are amazing. The location is also great.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from staying in this hotel for 5 nights and loved this hotel so much!! We booked the junior suite which was much bigger than the other rooms but still very affordable. Air conditioning worked great, king size bed, refrigerator, small flat screen tv, and great view of the Volcano with balcony. The room was wonderful but what made this hotel so special was the service we received! All of the staff is so friendly and helpful. Alboro and Yvette at the front desk organized so much of our trip and made us feel so welcomed and comfortable. The house keeping girls are sweet and do a fantastic job at cleaning as well. Daily breakfast was good and cooks were also very nice to us. Hotel is located RIGHT downtown and close to everything! We felt bad for the people we did tours with that stayed so far out of town. We spent 5 nights at this hotel and left for Manuel Antonio on the half of our trip- we were disappointed with our hotel over there since we received such great service during our stay in Fortuna. Thank you for the great vacation Hotel Las Colinas!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were put in this hotel as part of a tour in Costa Rica and whilst it is very central to La Fortuna and therefore good for the restaurants at night, we felt it was more suited to back packers than middle aged travellers. The rooms were clean, yet basic and there were no flowers or towel arrangements in our rooms like those shown in some of the pictures.
We felt quite unsafe in the hotel as their is public access via 2 walk ways straight to the open plan stairs that lead to the rooms. After a certain time of the evening there is no one on reception to see straying visitors! When the reception staff are there they are extremely helpful and advised us on good trips to go on.
Sure enough there is a great view from the balcony of the Arenal Volcano, suggest get up early to take pictures before the cloud sets in. Pity the views from the room balconies are not so pretty.
So whilst probably an ideal hotel and location for back packers, there are many more nicer hotels in La Fortuna even though a little further out of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, it make us think a little bit more as how can we improve!

Firstable we have only 2 stars from the Costa Rican Tourism board, and 4 levels in Sustainable tourism (where 5 is the maximun), very sorry if the tour company offer our services as 3 stars.
Also, a 80 % of our visitors are middle age, with some seasonable exceptions, like when we recieve students groups.
We never think our hotel is insecure, perhaps because we had take care about safety from many years ago, some of our efforts are: we have a completely inside central cameras security, we also have a security guard for the all night and we also take some prevents like we close one gate at 8 pm and the other one at 11 pm, so our security guard is there to open and close in case someone is coming back home after that time.
Also all the rooms front doors have Secure latchkey and there is no options to open the windows... some tips than so far are working very well... after 20 years giving hospitality service !
But as you mention, now we are sure we need to communicate this efforts to our guest , so they know there are many actions preventing any problem, so they can feel more secure in our hotel!!
Another think is than La Fortuna still being very safe, living the car in the street and walk without fear is part of every day for us..

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#29 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Villas Vilma
Hotel Villas Vilma
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 120 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 847 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.