We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a back packers hotel than what you expect for a 3 star” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More of a back packers hotel than what you expect for a 3 star”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were put in this hotel as part of a tour in Costa Rica and whilst it is very central to La Fortuna and therefore good for the restaurants at night, we felt it was more suited to back packers than middle aged travellers. The rooms were clean, yet basic and there were no flowers or towel arrangements in our rooms like those shown in some of the pictures.
We felt quite unsafe in the hotel as their is public access via 2 walk ways straight to the open plan stairs that lead to the rooms. After a certain time of the evening there is no one on reception to see straying visitors! When the reception staff are there they are extremely helpful and advised us on good trips to go on.
Sure enough there is a great view from the balcony of the Arenal Volcano, suggest get up early to take pictures before the cloud sets in. Pity the views from the room balconies are not so pretty.
So whilst probably an ideal hotel and location for back packers, there are many more nicer hotels in La Fortuna even though a little further out of town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, it make us think a little bit more as how can we improve!

Firstable we have only 2 stars from the Costa Rican Tourism board, and 4 levels in Sustainable tourism (where 5 is the maximun), very sorry if the tour company offer our services as 3 stars.
Also, a 80 % of our visitors are middle age, with some seasonable exceptions, like when we recieve students groups.
We never think our hotel is insecure, perhaps because we had take care about safety from many years ago, some of our efforts are: we have a completely inside central cameras security, we also have a security guard for the all night and we also take some prevents like we close one gate at 8 pm and the other one at 11 pm, so our security guard is there to open and close in case someone is coming back home after that time.
Also all the rooms front doors have Secure latchkey and there is no options to open the windows... some tips than so far are working very well... after 20 years giving hospitality service !
But as you mention, now we are sure we need to communicate this efforts to our guest , so they know there are many actions preventing any problem, so they can feel more secure in our hotel!!
Another think is than La Fortuna still being very safe, living the car in the street and walk without fear is part of every day for us..

Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    123
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
42
140
33
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It is a very comfortable hotel in downtown La Fortuna with a great breakfast included each morning. It is family owned and they work together to make each guest's stay as pleasant as possible. The view of Arenal Volcano was awesome as we were lucky enough to have some clear days with sunshine and blue skies.

Room Tip: The suite on the West end is great for viewing Arenal but it also is very hot from the setting sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooksville, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The good / bad news is this is right down town. Therefore it is a very easy walk to everything, but there will be a little traffic noise(nothing like San Jose though).
This is a family owned hotel, Been in the family for 25 years now and you can see they take pride in their hotel. There are 3 types of rooms. economy, standard, and the Jr. Suite. The econ. size is only $56 (with taxes) The others step up by $20. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. We rented the econ, as we only sleep in the room. Yes, that one is small but the others are noticeably larger. We had a car and the daughter, a very delightful lady, had parking spots marked off so customers could park right in front of the hotel. The breakfast included eggs, pancakes, french toast etc. The day was rainy so we weren't able to take advantage of the 2nd floor deck and view of the volcano. The shower had decent water pressure and although the water was not scalding hot was plenty warm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights - our first stop in Costa Rica - in Feb 2013. The hotel is right in the centre of La Fortuna so gets a bit noisy during the day but the town isn't rowdy so it's actually nice to have a bit of life around and it's great for people watching from the chairs out on the terrace. We stayed in one of the suite rooms and had the most perfect view of Arenal from our many windows. The staff, especially the daughter, were really helpful, friendly and competent. We had a lovely relaxing stay, breakfast was really tasty too - I'd recommend the omlette.

We walked up Cerro Chato one day - taking a taxi for $7 from the town - which was great and you can swim in the lagoon at the top. Go early to avoid the heat.
We then got the local bus out to Arenal ranger station the next day and had a nice morning walk in the forest there. It's alright but nothing compared to Monteverde so it's worth it if it's your first jungle but maybe not so much after that. We hitched back to Fortuna from the ranger station - lots of tourists doing the journey, otherwise it would've been a taxi again as we had no car.
Take the 'jeep-boat-jeep' to Monteverde (but go to the loo before setting out, it's bumpy!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Last week my son and I stayed at the Hotel Las Colinas in La Fortuna, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica. We stayed in a large room with two beds which included breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was comparable to breakfasts in larger well known chain hotels with eggs (scrambled or cooked to order), beans, rice, sausage, toast, fruits, juice and coffee. The location is in the heart of La Fortuna. I would also like to point out the friendly staff.

The greatest pleasure for me was the patio on the second floor. There was a tour staying there as well as people from all over the globe. In the evening we sat out on the patio with an incredible view of the volcano and met most of the people staying there. It is a great place to relax, either reading or talking to other guests.

If you are staying in La Fortuna I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just got back from an amazing trip to Costa Rica, three days of which were spent at Las Colinas. The staff was incredibly helpful and set us up with some amazing local excursions. Plenty of hot water, complementary breakfast and the view from the terrace was spectacular. It's right in the middle of the city with a super market only two blocks away and about a 15 minute drive from the volcano and hot springs. Highly recommend this hotel, especially for the price!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very clean - within walking distance of great food and stores. Really enjoyed the breakfast each morning. The deck was nice and had it not been so cloudy we would have had a great view of Arenal Volvanon. Several tours would pick up from the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Décor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.