We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, staff and perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Amazing view, staff and perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We just got back from an amazing trip to Costa Rica, three days of which were spent at Las Colinas. The staff was incredibly helpful and set us up with some amazing local excursions. Plenty of hot water, complementary breakfast and the view from the terrace was spectacular. It's right in the middle of the city with a super market only two blocks away and about a 15 minute drive from the volcano and hot springs. Highly recommend this hotel, especially for the price!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    113
    116
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
38
129
29
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Very clean - within walking distance of great food and stores. Really enjoyed the breakfast each morning. The deck was nice and had it not been so cloudy we would have had a great view of Arenal Volvanon. Several tours would pick up from the hotel lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Loved our stay here. Clean, affordable, convenient and very helpful staff. Had everything we needed. Breakfast was great. Enjoyed the common areas and the wi-fi. Could walk to everything in town easily. Really enjoyed the waterfalls close to the hotel. Was a very nice surprise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Jaw, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel was located half a block away from the central park and downtown main street. The staff were helpful and obliging and they had a really good breakfast included in the reasonable price . They had a first floor deck that is very nice and gives you a wonderful frontal view of the Arenal Volcano

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place was in the best location - close to everything. The room was plain & small, exactly what you pay for. Don't expect anything fancy - only 1 towel/person. Nice to have a 'rooftop deck', where you can lounge around if you don't want to be stuck in your room. Wifi is ok, breakfast was great! Definitely don't book/take advice regarding attractions/things to do from the front desk - they will totally rip you off. Shop around outside the hotel & bargain!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We have a tour desk where all guest can be able to make reservations and the charges to their total bill, that way guest may use the credit card only one time.
As a certified and responsabile hotel, We only work with certified tour operators, than not only offer a ¨guide and a mini bus¨, guest can be sure than making reservations with us, they can have security, insurance and of course ¨quality¨. 3 Important things than is rare to get when you buy a tour at the streets offices.

Our rates are exactly the same rates you will find directly in the tour operator company, tour guest is just an extra service for our guests!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

...especially after staying at a disgusting place in Alajuela for one night. The hotel is conveniently located, is clean, and has very friendly, helpful staff. It's not a plush, five-star hotel, but we couldn't have afforded such accommodations anyway. Given what we could afford, this place was perfect. It felt like our welcoming refuge after our adventures around Arenal and La Fortuna.

Light sleepers should note that there was a lot of street noise, but that is more about the nightlife in that area of Arenal than the hotel itself. The breakfast was really good too...we actually looked forward to it.

The staff at the hotel played a huge role in our trip being as wonderful as it was. They provided accurate and helpful information, and were honest about which activities were better than others. If I go back to that area of Costa Rica, I'll stay at Las Colinas again. After only two nights at Las Colinas, I left with a true sense of loyalty borne from exceptional personalized attention and comfortable quarters. Good, good people and a homey place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were disappointed with this hotel. After reading all the reviews and seeing pictures posted on line, we had high hopes. Unfortunately, the rooms were EXTREMELY small, I could pretty much touch each wall with my arms outstretched. It offered a rock hard, uncomfortable bed with nearly no amenities. It really felt more like a hostel than a hotel. The walls and windows must have been extremely thin as we could hear everything outside of our room from the rain to the staff preparing breakfast in the morning on the floor below us. After talking to other travelers on our trip that also stayed in Arenal, it sounds like there are a lot better options available than this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park
Address: Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Décor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.