We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view of Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great location and view of Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Loved our stay here. Clean, affordable, convenient and very helpful staff. Had everything we needed. Breakfast was great. Enjoyed the common areas and the wi-fi. Could walk to everything in town easily. Really enjoyed the waterfalls close to the hotel. Was a very nice surprise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    123
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
42
140
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moose Jaw, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel was located half a block away from the central park and downtown main street. The staff were helpful and obliging and they had a really good breakfast included in the reasonable price . They had a first floor deck that is very nice and gives you a wonderful frontal view of the Arenal Volcano

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This place was in the best location - close to everything. The room was plain & small, exactly what you pay for. Don't expect anything fancy - only 1 towel/person. Nice to have a 'rooftop deck', where you can lounge around if you don't want to be stuck in your room. Wifi is ok, breakfast was great! Definitely don't book/take advice regarding attractions/things to do from the front desk - they will totally rip you off. Shop around outside the hotel & bargain!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Propietario at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your review!
We have a tour desk where all guest can be able to make reservations and the charges to their total bill, that way guest may use the credit card only one time.
As a certified and responsabile hotel, We only work with certified tour operators, than not only offer a ¨guide and a mini bus¨, guest can be sure than making reservations with us, they can have security, insurance and of course ¨quality¨. 3 Important things than is rare to get when you buy a tour at the streets offices.

Our rates are exactly the same rates you will find directly in the tour operator company, tour guest is just an extra service for our guests!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

...especially after staying at a disgusting place in Alajuela for one night. The hotel is conveniently located, is clean, and has very friendly, helpful staff. It's not a plush, five-star hotel, but we couldn't have afforded such accommodations anyway. Given what we could afford, this place was perfect. It felt like our welcoming refuge after our adventures around Arenal and La Fortuna.

Light sleepers should note that there was a lot of street noise, but that is more about the nightlife in that area of Arenal than the hotel itself. The breakfast was really good too...we actually looked forward to it.

The staff at the hotel played a huge role in our trip being as wonderful as it was. They provided accurate and helpful information, and were honest about which activities were better than others. If I go back to that area of Costa Rica, I'll stay at Las Colinas again. After only two nights at Las Colinas, I left with a true sense of loyalty borne from exceptional personalized attention and comfortable quarters. Good, good people and a homey place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were disappointed with this hotel. After reading all the reviews and seeing pictures posted on line, we had high hopes. Unfortunately, the rooms were EXTREMELY small, I could pretty much touch each wall with my arms outstretched. It offered a rock hard, uncomfortable bed with nearly no amenities. It really felt more like a hostel than a hotel. The walls and windows must have been extremely thin as we could hear everything outside of our room from the rain to the staff preparing breakfast in the morning on the floor below us. After talking to other travelers on our trip that also stayed in Arenal, it sounds like there are a lot better options available than this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Las Colinas, the staff at this family run hotel were very friendly. Our room had two double beds, AC, a small fridge and shower room with a toilet. We also had a small balcony. Rooms were cleaned daily and fresh towels laid out on the bed. The rooms were basic but comfortable. We also booked a number of tours through the receptionist which was easy to do and the prices and pick up times were very clear. We had a small problem on our final morning when the reception didn't open as early as we thought it did meaning we held up our transfer but this didn't cause too many problems. I'd recommend it as an affordable option in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for one evening. We are budget conscious, but have high expectations about quality. The receptionist/clerk was very friendly and helpful, and spoke perfect English. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was good - eggs, fresh tortillas, plantains, fresh fruit, juice, and coffee. The location was fine - near the town square and restaurants. The price was outstanding. We will stay again if we visit La Fortuna.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Décor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.