We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted by Evette immediately and she made us feel at home right away. The hotel is in a great location being right in town and is surrounded by restaurants, shops, supermarkets. Our room was on the terrace. It was a simple large room, with a fridge, tv and basic necessities. There are floor to ceiling windows that overlook the terrace which is a bit of an issue if you want some privacy. There are curtains to mediate this but the curtains do not block out much light and so for light sleepers, the sun might wake you up early. Being right in town, you do get a bit of noise but most of it is gone by 10pm or so and you can get a good night sleep.Good costa rican breakfast in the morning.

Make sure you try Soda Viquez for their yummy, well priced large casados, Rainforest Coffee Cafe for their casado/shakes special and the juice/smoothie shop. These three are all located across the street from the hotel. As you can tell, we had no problem finding food.

Overall good family hotel with great location. They can organize tours and rides to monteverde for you too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    121
    29
    12
    4
See reviews for
40
136
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay. Very friendly, family owned business. Economic hotel, centrally located in La Fortuna. Near shopping, and restaurants. Typical Costa Rican breakfast included in lodging cost; cooked and served by Hector who was very accomodating and friendly. Front desk clerk (Alvaro - I hopefully spelled his name correctly!) was very friendly and helpful. Silvia responded to emails promptly and was very courteous. Hello to all - From the Harveys, Colorado

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Nice family owned hotel. Great location. Staff helpful. Nice giftshop and a great free breakfast. There is a nice gringo owned restaurant a couple blocks away called Good Food. Check it out and tell Mike I sent you.
Carol from Atlanta

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is about as central as you can get in La Fortuna. The room we had was very pokey (although the bathroom was large) however when we saw inside the other rooms they were much bigger so maybe check this when you book - some had fridges. Free breakfast was sufficient but nothing spectacular compared to what we have had at other places. Good omelets. One of the best features is the terrace where you can see views of the volcano although we had cloud covering it for most of the days we were there. Free wifi is quite stable. Hotel is great value.

Room Tip: Some rooms looked much larger than ours and had fridges. Try to check this when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a family owned hotel with great rooms, a/c.
There is a nice sitting area to hang out and asborb the site of the volcano.

In the morning, Hector greets you with a smile and prepares an excellent breakfast!
The front staff is courteous and helpful, always greeting you with a smile.
We spent a week in La Fortuna as we found so many treks and activites to do. This hotel is perfectly located. La Fortuna is noisy in the city, bring earplugs.
There is no pool...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a great hotel in the middle of La Fortuna. Central location in town, close to all bars, shops, and restaurants. The middle of the hotel is a big patio that overlooks the town. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is delicious.

The staff was the best. We were greeted by a young woman who told us her family owns and runs the hotel. When we were ready to leave, the battery in our rental car was dead. We communicated the situation as best we could in half Spanish half English and the gentleman working there got his car and gave us a jump. Super nice!

Next time we are in Arenal/La Fortuna, we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We took room 33 which is the highest room with the best view to Arenal mountain, was very nice. The room is also very nice and comfortable. We paid 70$ per night on the green season but you can cheaper in this hotel without this view and a different Room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Décor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.