We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is located very centrally, and the staff is very friendly. The terrace is a pretty place to hang out and admire the volcano. There is a lovely coffee bar opposite and a great soda that serves awesome soup among other dishes. The room was light and airy with air-conditioning and a fridge. The breakfast area was clean and breakfast was good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    123
    32
    13
    4
See reviews for
42
140
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valenciennes, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

The hotel os really well located. The view on the arenal volcano is incredible and people are nice ;)
Just the breakfast could be improved a bit but still it was very nice !!!
I advise people to do like me. Waking up at 5:15am and watch the sunset was really amazing !

Go there without fear guys !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We flew in from Texas to San Jose, rented a car and drove to Fortunata and just wanted a convenient downtown hotel for the night....this one did the trick! Our 3rd floor room was very small but served our need to just crash. You'd likely want to bring your own face towels (theirs are like sand paper), but bath towels were fine. One other thing. only available electrical outlet was in the bathroom or high up by the a/c unit....none on the bedroom walls for chargers and such!

The staff were super-nice and the very inexpensive room (<$60 on hotels.com) included buffet breakfast. Breakfast was as good as the that in our later, pricier hotels and lots of foreign languages being spoken from around the world. I particularly want to thank the front desk attendant....wish I could remember his name....who let me park right in front and had someone watch my car all night! Don't miss going to the 3rd level to get best pix of the volcano. And make sure to stroll to the park just a block away....beautiful.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you don't want to lug bags up stairs, ask for a lower level room. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed in Las Colinas for my 2 first nights in CR, time to see the volcano and take a look around.
I booked a preferent room with "great view" to the volcano and "balcony" : the view was quite better from the shared patio, and the balcony was just the corridor from the room to the patio ...
Room was clean and quite big for us, but noisy till bar, close to the hotel, closes.

Breakfast is ok but if you are still hungry or want to change, get a breakfast at the soda just in front of the hotel : thats the place to eat in La Fortuna ;)

People working there and reception servicxe were absolutely wonderfull!

Las Colinas is located in the center of La Fortuna (15 minutes far from El Arenal), and you can reach any restaurant, bar, soda, travel/sport agency from this point.
There are some SPAs and resorts outside the city, on the way to the volcano : if you have a higher budget, i would recommend this option, as you could benefit natural hot springs pools and maybe better rooms.

For mid budget travellers, Las Colinas is a good option.

Room Tip: Try to choose a room on the second floor with view to the shared patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently completed a 4 night stay at Las Colinas, and we were very pleased with all aspecits of our stay. The room was great--the in-room jacuzzi was perfect after several days of hiking!! The view of the volcano from the shared patio was amazing. The food served for breakfasts was excellent. The location of the hotel, i.e., being in the center of town, was very convenient and enabled us to get a feel for La Fortuna. While all of these things are important, the most important thing was the quality of the people who work at Las Colinas--friendly, knowledgeable and always willing and able to assist us. We would return to the hotel without any hesitation!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I love this hotel because it is located in La Fortuna downtown, it is very nice, it has one of the best views of the Arenal volcano, and the people who work at the hotel are some of the most friendliest and helpful people that I have ever met in Costa Rica. If you want to have a great time in La Fortuna without having to pay too much, stay at this hotel.

What do you want to see when you first wake up in La Fortuna? The volcano, right? Then, you got to stay at this hotel. You will not believe the view of the volcano.

This is the place where I stay with my family and friends every year. I love it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

If I ever come back to La Fortuna I would definitely book this hotel again. It looks like nothing from the outside but once inside it's so cute and has a beautiful upstairs terrace with lots of seating areas, greenery, and what looks like a mini produce garden bordering the sides. It's especially picturesque when you walk out in the morning and see the grounds decorated with the purple flowers that have fallen from the trees. Our room was small but we did need an extra bed so I think that was the reason it was so cramped. There's free WiFi, free breakfast, and the staff was very generous with the use of their phone at the front desk. After buying a phone card my boyfriend and his brother had a full conversation with their parents using the phone which was awesome because the mom was so worried and hadn't heard from us since we had left.

The only negative thing was that there was some kind of body odor emanating from somewhere. I found out where and why the following morning when I woke up with my face on the actual mattress breathing it all in! Gross!!! There is no mattress pad, just a fitted sheet over the mattress so everyone else's b.o. was just soaked in that mattress. My fitted sheet wasn't very fitted at all and we realized any movement cause it to loosen from the mattress easily. The humidity of the area also ensured that the odor stayed put. Blech.

Otherwise, it's a lovely place and I would definitely come back. The super nice staff also makes it worthy of return visits!

Room Tip: Our corner room with sliding door entry was unique and felt almost like a private room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Centro de La Fortuna | Half a block from the bus station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21006, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Décor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.