We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown hotel w/balcony, good breakfast, hbo and comfy beds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Las Colinas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Las Colinas to your Saves list
Hotel Las Colinas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Downtown hotel w/balcony, good breakfast, hbo and comfy beds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Got off the jeep/boat/jeep from Monteverde with no hotel in La Fortuna.

Taking our chances and looked at some hostels that were just not right for this trip with a 13 year old daughter.

Found Las Colinas and good prices with amenities that made both of us happy. She liked tv w/hbo and her own bed, I liked outdoor balcony w/views to drink coffee in afternoon.

Very helpful staff for tours, local info, etc. Also a fast food restaurant next door that made us a meal to go that was good! Empanadas de pollo.

Would stay again

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a balcony and use to dry your swimsuits/towels from swimming in a hot spring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review!

Las Colinas is a great option for families, couples, friends and solo traveleres!
Is nice to know than another family enjoy their stay with us, breakfast is very important for us, that is why we tried to offer all choices from fruits, eggs, tipical "Gallo Pinto", french toasts, pankekes, omellets betteen others!!!
Feel free to get directly to our hotel and see the rooms, we are sure you will decide to stay!!!
(Better to make reservation on holidays from dec 15 to jan 15)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    135
    38
    14
    5
See reviews for
45
148
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Cove, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed 3 days and 2 nights in La Fortuna. Our days were busy with tours and shuttle transfers so we basically only needed a place to stay each night. This was definitely the best choice for us. There were restaurants in front of the hotel we could eat at, and a supermarket around the corner.
The front office staff was amazing. They helped us book our next shuttle transfer to Tortuguero. I used their spa services which was amazing & I totally recommend it, especially after a 5 hour hike to Rio Celeste.
Overall the honeymoon suite was a great stay. Very clean, spacious and convenient. We would definitely stay there again, especially since we were able to see the Arenal Volcano early in the morning. We ate breakfast with a majestic view. Good times!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review!
Is great how do you explain the benefits to stay in our hotel, because we are a hotel located in the middle of La Fortuna, which is a nice little town of Costa Rica, safe, convenient than offers all choices of restaurants, grosery stores, souvenirs, and very close from touristic places, such us La Fortuna waterfall, national parks, hot springs, canopy, etc.
And of course in our hotel, guest can enjoy our terrace area, with beautifull view of the Arenal Volcano, then in the first level of our hotel, there is the spa, and hand made souvenir to help you to enjoy yous stay!
Thank you and will be a pleasure to have you in our hotel next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Las Colinas is a small family-run hotel. Service was extremely friendly and efficient, excellent English was spoken, rooms were very comfortable and everything worked well ( including shower with reliable hot water).An unbeatable view of the volcano from the terrace and from some of the rooms. On a quiet street but the main shopping strip is just at the end of the street. Helpful advice and efficient booking of tours and shuttle bus. Altogether I highly recommend Las Colinas. Across the road is "Restaurant Y Soda Viquez" which I strongly recommend for good, authentic Costa Rican food at a good price and with very welcoming and warm service.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!
We are so happy to recieive this great review!!!
We really are happy than our hotel, services and attention were good for you, this reviews help us to keep proud and keep improving our services to be better every day!!!

Thank you ver y much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

The main reason this has been given a 5 is because of the staff; they are really excellent!

The room, was nice, nothing wrong with it, a touch impersonal, but it was certainly comfortable. The food the provide is very good; but as said before the staff make it a 5. They were so helpful, in booking activities for us they can't be faulted.

This is not really a b&b it is a hotel that offers breakfast, but our stay was pleasant, and the rooms are clean and a good size. We were fortunate enough to get upgraded, so we did have a good room with a view of the volcano.

If you are looking for a cosy, quaint establishment, this isn't your place, but if you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep and get some down time, Las Colinas is your place. It is also located in the middle of town so this also helps.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you so much!!!
We feel very proud of our job to know than you give us 5 stars in guest service!!!
Thats really great, we are a real flocal and costarican family hotel, where mother, sons and daughter woks together to offer you the best we can give and a little more!!!

Thank you for your review, it really helps!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

we spent 2 nights at Las Colinas. We were out most of the day bit came back to a very comfortable terrace where we enjoyed our Imperial. Yvette was very helpful with tours and directions. Price was well worth it. Breakfast was very good as well.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review!!
We are glad than you have enjoy your stay in our hotel!

For our family is very important to help our guest with tips and directions, La Fortuna is our town so we have all the information to help you to enjoy your time!!
Please, feel free to ask for any information before, during and after your stay with us!
Thanks!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I'm female and was traveling solo on this trip so was looking to find a clean, safe and central location. I booked an economy room away from the street. Beware that the economy rooms have only enough room to just walk around the bed - I was barely able to open and access my suitcase. That said, the room was clean and the hotel is centrally located in town with an outdoor terrace with a view of the volcano (unfortunately, it was dormant when I was there). The two big issues I had: 1) the shower wasn't working properly and although I reported it, it did not get fixed during my 2-night stay; 2) I was ripped off on a tour I signed up for as I was quoted a higher price than that listed in the activity booklet and when I pointed it out was still not accommodated but told prices changed. However, I found out that the listed prices were even higher than what others on the tour who had booked elsewhere paid. I would not recommend booking any tours through the hotel!! For these reasons, I am rating the service and value as Poor.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We are going to take care about this issues, it is not like we normally work and we are very sorry for this.
The only think about tours, is than some tour desk offer better rates than others, for example could be than a tour operator offers a better rate to a good seller.In our case, we have very good agreements with the tour operator in the area, but speccially with those certicated in Sustainable Tourism and those than we are sure than works with excellence and have all insurances in order.
Thank you, beccause these details are the reason why we improve every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trawden,Colne, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Small family run hotel in a centeral position in La Fortuna. We had a fantastic view of the volcano from our room 27, as there is from the large communal balcony. The friendly, helpful staff gave advice and organised excellent excursions. Our room was clean, comfortable with maid service giving attention to detail. There was a good, well presented breakfast in a downstairs dining area. Situated on a fairly quiet side road within a few minutes walk to the bus station, large supermarket and town centre. Very close to excellent coffee shops and eating establishments. Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower1989, Owner at Hotel Las Colinas, responded to this review, April 22, 2012
Thank you very much for your beautifull review!

We are glad to know than you have a good stay with us and a fantastic view from our balcony!!
Part of our service is to offer the possibility to reserve tours from our front desk and add them to the bill, so the guests can pay once all together, which is easy and cheaper for them.
Breakfast is very important and a member of the family put a little touch in every meal!
Thank you to choose our hotel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Las Colinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Las Colinas

Address: Calle 468, entre Avenida 325 y Ruta 142 | Half a block from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Las Colinas 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Colinas Arenal Hoteleco-friendly accommodation, Arenal Volcano, Costa Rica Las Colinas Arenal Hotel offers quality accommodation and all the facilities of a small hotel. We are an eco-friendly, family run hotel. Located only 1 block away from La Fortuna central park and 10 minutes driving from the famous Arenal Volcano, our hotel combines the truly local hospitality with the lovely natural attractions.Our accommodation provides comfortable en-suite rooms all with Wi- Fi access, Cable television, Decor stylish Eco-rooms and an open-air terrace offering a refreshing volcano view. To complete a relaxing stay we can also offer in-house beauty treatments.From us you can visit the Arenal Volcano Hot Springs, the Volcano itself, interesting attractions the Fortuna Waterfalls, the hanging bridges or enjoy the adventure tours as zip-lines, horseback ridings, raftings or rappelling and much more.Las Colinas Arenal Hotel is conveniently situated to visit both tourist attractions and shops. We are minutes walk from center; Enjoy a walk into town to get immerse in the typical life of La Fortuna.Flor and Ivette are the proprietors of this family run hotel and have many years experience in tourism and hotels and will personally supervise all your arrangements during your holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Las Colinas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Colinas Hotel
Hotel Las Colinas Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Las Colinas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.