We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, phenomenal service, breathtaking view of the Volcano Arenal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
detroit
1 review
“Amazing location, phenomenal service, breathtaking view of the Volcano Arenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Hotel La Fortuna in July for a couple of nights. Initially we were only going to spend one night at the hotel because we were not sure if we would like it, but after we stayed the first night we were so happy we booked two more. :) We were amazed with the hotel location, it's in the middle of downtown where all bars/restaurants are within walkng distance. The rooms are very clean and spacious! The staff is absolutely awesome, especially Manrique (the receptionist). He gave us information on all the activities around, booked us a trip to the volcano, the waterfalls and to Baldi Hot Springs. If you have any questions/concerns just go down and see him! We'll be back to Costa Rica and Hotel La Fortuna any time!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    132
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
110
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We booked Hotel La Fortuna two days before arriving and we didn't have much time to research the hotel. Upon arrival, we were pleasantly surprised with the front lobby cleanliness and the staff helpfulness. Check-in time was at 2pm but we arrived a little before noon and the front desk was nice enough to hold our luggage so that we can walk around La Fortuna and have lunch. After lunch, we came back to the lobby to wait on the couches, which were clean and comfortable. They had great maps of Costa Rica and various brochures of local tours. They also had a small library of books that guests can freely borrow and return (a rare use of the honor system that seems to be a dying practice). They also had three Internet connected computers but we didn't use them so I'm not sure how good their connection is, though throughout our 2 night stay, a lot of guests used the PCs.

After waiting in the lobby for about 15 minutes looking at the CR maps and brochures, they checked us about an hour early, which was unexpected. The hotel is pretty modern with an elevator and WiFi connections. The room was a decent size. We had a room without the Volcan Arenal view, but we still liked our room a lot because it was really simple and clean. Bathroom was big and also very clean.

What made this hotel stand out for me were really 3 things. One was that the bathroom was built to be accessible for people with disabilities. Although none of us needed that, it was cool to see a hotel in CR that built their rooms with this in mind. Secondly, they had three small garbage bins for recycling paper, plastic, and glass. Having traveled throughout CR for a little over a week now, we didn't see too many places that practiced recycling. Lastly, the service here has been the best that we have experienced in CR. We stayed in hotels ranging from inexpensive $30 per night places to expensive $100 per night hotels, and Hotel La Fortuna was the friendliest and most accommodating of the four other hotels in CR. We didn't request anything special but the front desk employees seemed to enjoy working there and didn't mind answering our questions about the bus schedule and they didn't mind that we used the front desk phone to call for hotel reservations for Tortuguero.

Also, the location is great. It's two short blocks from the bus station and it's close the a bunch of restaurants, tour guides, and laundry service. Overall, this was a great place to stay and we really appreciated the staff friendliness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

Our room was simple enough, but the view of the volcano was gorgeous. At $65/night, I thought it was a great deal. Drinks and food at the restaurant downstairs was very reasonable and delicious. The few staff emembers tha tyou saw there, were warm, friendly and accomodating. If you need a hairdryer, jsut ask the front desk. They will also help you book any daytrips you need to, or you can walk a block and meet up with some of the guys on the street who may be able to work out a deal for you. Everything is within walking distance to the super market, restaurants, and shops. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel, and the employwees were more than accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

With rooms around $50 /night during Costa Rica's green season, this hotel is a great option when visiting La Fortuna and the surrounding area. Rooms with a view of Arenal Vocano wasn't much more than the starting room and the extra cost is definitely worth it! The price included a continental breakfast (fruit, toast, scrambled eggs) and you can add other items at a low cost. The price also included free wifi access and the use of their public computers with internet access which came in handy to plan things.

The location is near the center of La Fortuna making it easy to explore the town. On a side note, when looking for souvenirs in town it might be best to buy from shops, I found the one street vendor selling things 2 or more times as much as the stores were.

Being so centreal, it also meant that the hotel wasn't the quiest place. You can hear noise from the town from your room and their was a rooster right across the street that liked to crow every morning at 6am. I needed to get up early each morning so I didn't mind at all but you may want to bring ear plugs if you want to sleep in.

The rooms were basic but clean. They came with an AC unit and hairdryer but no phone or alarm clock (the front desk has at least one alarm clock that guests can borrow though). The only real complaint about the room is the pillows weren't of the best quality and a bit lumpy making it no so easy to fall asleep.

The staff were really friendly with special mention of Enrique. When checking in, he made sure to use my name several times and throughout my stay as well which is always a nice touch. The owner Lorraine brought her dog and puppies to the hotel several times and let guests play with them. The staff will help you book activites with tour companies although they tend to push ones that they work with and probably get a commission from. I used two tour companies they help me book and both were great so its not like they're pushing ones that won't give you a good time or are rip offs.

I'd stay here again if visiting La Fortuna.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

The view from this hotel is amazing. You are able to perfectly see Volcano Arenal from the Hotel. The hotel is also modern and has an open floor plan which adds to the relaxing ambiance of this wonderful hotel. Staying at this hotel really helped me to enjoy my visit in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

My boyfriend and I travelled to Fortuna a day before planned. We booked one night at Hotel La Fortuna, as we had already arranged the following three nights at another hotel. Once we checked in we were so pleased to see how accommodating and friendly Enrique at reception was. And how nice and clean the hotel was. The room was comfortable and had a great view.
The next day, we sadly said goodbye to Enrique and walked to our next hotel. When we saw our new room, we grabbed our bags thanked the lady, and ran back to Hotel La Fortuna, where Enrique graciously checked us back in for the remainder of our stay in Fortuna. That should tell you right there, how awesome Hotel La Fortuna was. Its the best choice for the price and location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

If you're looking for a clean, reliable place to stay with American style, this place is good. The owner is great, very friendly. The whole place is completely handicapped freindly, if you're looking for that. I definitely suggest it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#32 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.