We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - a bargain” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Hamilton, ON
1 review
“Great Hotel - a bargain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2009

I stayed here for four nights and it was exactly what I was looking for as a solo traveller.
Walking distance to everything , clean, comfortable rooms, free computers with internet access, free breakfast, great volcano view, very helpful and friendly staff....
I can't say enough about it. I liked it so much I stayed there again on my way back through town.

Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    138
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
116
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

Hotel La Fortuna is a an OK hotel in the area, it is clean, first impressions, it's really high tech with a pretty fast elavator & electronic keys. However the bathroom design is a little off...there was no real tile divider on the floor but a metal strip....the water went all over the bathroom floor and started to flow into the bedroom by my luggage !!

TV is attached to the wall....which I thought was odd and gave a
verry cheap feel to the very simple room. Front desk staff were great and friendly !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Calif.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

When we visited La Fortuna two years ago, we stayed at this same hotel, and left feeling as if Jose and Lorena Soto, the owners, were close friends. Rooms were spare and incredibly inexpensive, but had hot water and a private bathroom. Imagine our surprise when we returned two years later and discovered a brand new high rise hotel in place of the humble small place we had stayed in previously! The only common factor between the two places was the congenial and solicitous hospitality of Jose and Lorena.
For a still competitive rate, we were now treated to a comfortable, convenient and luxurious room. Jose and Lorena remembered us from our visit two years ago, and moved us to a room with a spectacular view of the volcano from our balcony! (On our prior visit the volcano never appeared from behind its cloud cover. But on this visit, the clouds parted for an entire day, revealing the truly incredible spectacle of an immense, active volcano.)
Jose and Lorena and their staff bent over backwards to accomodate our every wish, booking tours, providing me with a chair so I could write at the table in our room, inquiring about special birding information for our Rio Frio trip.
Jose even gave us a grand tour of the top floor where he has accommodated each room for handicapped guests in every way. We were extremely impressed with the tilted mirrors, lowered hooks and rails, flip door handles, adjusted toilet facilities etc., etc. of these special rooms.
The restaurant serves delicious food, and our servers were always friendly and helpful, reflecting the congenial atmosphere of the entire staff.
I most enthusiastically reccommend the Hotel La Fortuna to anyone visiting the beautiful region surrrounding the Arenal Volcano. For an extremely reasonable rate, you will be treated as if you were royalty!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

HOTEL: very cute, clean, and super friendly. Lorena ( gosh, i think that is her name: blond, caucasion, speaks little english but is great...and she usually works the desk front area). I like her, she was super friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Try staying on the 3rd floor or above to get away from the street noise and to enjoy the view of the hotel.
INTERNET: very weak signal upstairs. They do offer two computers in teh lobby to use.

RESTAURANT: free breakfast, very minimal. Be sure to ask for the menu for you american omelette and other stuff.

LOCATION: ont he back side of the volcano. You can only see the side with vegetation and the smoke on a clear day. To see the lava rocks falling down, stay on the otherside of the volcano...perhaps, Tabacon area or the big name resorts. (you want the ashy side of the volcano to enjoy the lava rocks in the evening-trust me, very beautiful to watch)

PRICE: very reasonable...some other locaionts go up to $250...we paid only $50 a night ...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2009

The staff is great, the rooms are clean, the showers are big, rooms have AC and Cable TV. The hotel bar has great food and the staff has a great relationship with adventure companies in town and can help set up tours. This is a great pick!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

My partner and I really enjoyed our stay at this property after spending time in Puerto Viejo. Conveniently located in the town's center, all the restaurants are services in town are in walking distance. The rooms were clean and mattress comfortable for all the post hiking and riding the area offers. The staff was most compassionate and went the extra mile to make our stay as fluid as possible. The woodwork in the lobby was a pleasure to view as well. Thanks Lorena!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

This little gem is located right in the center of La Fortuna. It is very convenient. Rooms are very clean but no frill.
Half of our family stayed elsewhere the first night. We got great rate for two people. However, when the rest of the family showed up. The lady in the front desk insisted that we must take a suite and the original double room for three adults and four children. We were forced to pay too much.
Parking is very secure which is extremely important in CR. They have a guard watching our car which is parked right outside of the hotel room.
breakfast came with room. simple but enough. They have powerful air condition, cabled TV. The walk in shower was so strong (everything is handicap friendly); we flooded the bathrooms in seconds.
We have a view of the volcano from the room ( they charge 7-10 dollars extra). Frankly just about every hotel/cabins in Arenal will have a view of the volcano because the terrain is so flat and the volcano is very high. The volcano was in cloud most of the time. Do not despair. The clouds come and go. You can watch the cloud activity from anywhere in Arenal and drive to the lava side (takes about `10-20 minutes depends on where you are) when the sky looks clear.
We drove on the trail to Arenal Oberservation Lodge and stopped by a bridge the second night and saw the famous lava show. Go there about 3-4 pm and stay after sunset ( about 6-7 pm ) to see the lava in daylight and at night.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#30 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.