We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Much Like a US Chain Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Crown Point, Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Too Much Like a US Chain Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

La Fortuna hotel is a very nice property, comparable or better than a Holiday Inn Express. It's the tallest building in town (6 floors?), and the building looks out of place. The hotel had a good breakfast, was centrally located so restaurants, banks, shopping were nearby. We had a view of Arenal Volcano. The problem was that we came to experience Tico culture, and the Hotel La Fortuna was too much like hotels in the US. The room was very comfortable, nice linens, everything worked. For the last day of our visit we moved to Gringo Pete's where the room charge for 3 people was less than half of what we paid at Hotel La Fortuna.

If you're a US tourist with a group, you'd probably stay at the Hotel La Fortuna.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    135
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
113
62
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Nice clean rooms with comfortable bed and pillows, a place to hang clothes and shelves for suitcase, bathroom fan, lots of hot water and shower pressure, wifi in-room, air conditioning (extra $5 per night) and a desk. (We were in room 510)
Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Good location close to central La Fortuna.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants UK
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel has a lovely reception area. There are 3 computers available to use and the friendly, helpful staff are on hand when the internet won't work! There is plenty of space to sit and chat on comfy sofas etc and there is an area with some tourist information. You can book activities from here too. My room was on the 3rd floor and lacked a view but I wasn't too bothered as the cloud was down for the 3 days we stayed so there was little to see! That said, my window would not open, something which I find irritating but the front rooms do have opening balcony doors. My room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I am surprised to read some other comments about this place being "basic", I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the bed, furnishings, communal areas and the overall feel of the internal atrium of the hotel. It really is very nice in my view and does not deserve to be described as basic! I paid extra for breakfast one morning and this was cooked to order and represented good value. The location of the hotel is convenient for walking around the town. There are plenty of places to eat within 5-10 minutes walk and various bars, some with music and some which stay open late.

Room Tip: It would be great to wake up with a view of the volcano if the weather allowed so a front room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I was just thinking about Costa Rica and realized writing reviews of my amazing trip in May was long overdue! :) This hotel is comfortable, clean, friendly, and extremely convenient for walking to everything in the downtown of La Fortuna. The staff was so helpful regarding recommending tours, restaurants, etc. We could not believe how great the price was and eggs, toast, fresh fruit, etc. were served to us each morning to give great fuel to start our day exploring. I wish I could remember the names of the guy and gal at the front desk who were absolutely wonderful ! His name was something like Michael, but I know that is not exactly correct. Thank you Hotel La Fortuna for being a big part of our comfortable, budget friendly trip. Also Wi-fi in the lobby brings several people down there together and facilitates making friends with other travelers :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is perfect for being in the mix of la fortuna town. The town itself has some of the better food choices in the area. Excellent value for those on a budget. Front desk staff is very friendly and knowledgable of everything in town for whatever your budget may be.

Wifi was spotty and for me worked best if in the lobby. There are a few computers available to use as well in lobby. Rooms were clean and no frills but it's what you paid for so stay down the road at some of the resorts if that is your deal. Most people are doing daytime activities in la fortuna area anyways so you are hardly ever just lingering at the hotel for long.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel La Fortuna was a decent option for us for our one night stay in La Fortuna. Located in the heart of "downtown," the hotel is within walking distance to many of the better restaurants. We were also grateful for the receptionist who helped us sort out a problem with a rafting company we had booked a service through. Breakfast at the restaurant is included but is pretty marginal.

Room Tip: We also paid a bit extra for a room with a view on the second floor but wouldn't do so again sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Clean rooms, in town, view of the volcano from some rooms. Staff try to be helpful but not overly friendly. Basic no frills. Rooms were quiet, wifi worked sporadically, walking distance around town. Tourist draw is the volcano.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#31 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.