We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Much Like a US Chain Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Crown Point, Indiana
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Too Much Like a US Chain Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

La Fortuna hotel is a very nice property, comparable or better than a Holiday Inn Express. It's the tallest building in town (6 floors?), and the building looks out of place. The hotel had a good breakfast, was centrally located so restaurants, banks, shopping were nearby. We had a view of Arenal Volcano. The problem was that we came to experience Tico culture, and the Hotel La Fortuna was too much like hotels in the US. The room was very comfortable, nice linens, everything worked. For the last day of our visit we moved to Gringo Pete's where the room charge for 3 people was less than half of what we paid at Hotel La Fortuna.

If you're a US tourist with a group, you'd probably stay at the Hotel La Fortuna.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geezerette46307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Nice clean rooms with comfortable bed and pillows, a place to hang clothes and shelves for suitcase, bathroom fan, lots of hot water and shower pressure, wifi in-room, air conditioning (extra $5 per night) and a desk. (We were in room 510)
Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Good location close to central La Fortuna.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Prairiedrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants UK
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel has a lovely reception area. There are 3 computers available to use and the friendly, helpful staff are on hand when the internet won't work! There is plenty of space to sit and chat on comfy sofas etc and there is an area with some tourist information. You can book activities from here too. My room was on the 3rd floor and lacked a view but I wasn't too bothered as the cloud was down for the 3 days we stayed so there was little to see! That said, my window would not open, something which I find irritating but the front rooms do have opening balcony doors. My room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. I am surprised to read some other comments about this place being "basic", I was pleasantly surprised by the standard of the bed, furnishings, communal areas and the overall feel of the internal atrium of the hotel. It really is very nice in my view and does not deserve to be described as basic! I paid extra for breakfast one morning and this was cooked to order and represented good value. The location of the hotel is convenient for walking around the town. There are plenty of places to eat within 5-10 minutes walk and various bars, some with music and some which stay open late.

Room Tip: It would be great to wake up with a view of the volcano if the weather allowed so a front room would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I was just thinking about Costa Rica and realized writing reviews of my amazing trip in May was long overdue! :) This hotel is comfortable, clean, friendly, and extremely convenient for walking to everything in the downtown of La Fortuna. The staff was so helpful regarding recommending tours, restaurants, etc. We could not believe how great the price was and eggs, toast, fresh fruit, etc. were served to us each morning to give great fuel to start our day exploring. I wish I could remember the names of the guy and gal at the front desk who were absolutely wonderful ! His name was something like Michael, but I know that is not exactly correct. Thank you Hotel La Fortuna for being a big part of our comfortable, budget friendly trip. Also Wi-fi in the lobby brings several people down there together and facilitates making friends with other travelers :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is perfect for being in the mix of la fortuna town. The town itself has some of the better food choices in the area. Excellent value for those on a budget. Front desk staff is very friendly and knowledgable of everything in town for whatever your budget may be.

Wifi was spotty and for me worked best if in the lobby. There are a few computers available to use as well in lobby. Rooms were clean and no frills but it's what you paid for so stay down the road at some of the resorts if that is your deal. Most people are doing daytime activities in la fortuna area anyways so you are hardly ever just lingering at the hotel for long.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank donny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel La Fortuna was a decent option for us for our one night stay in La Fortuna. Located in the heart of "downtown," the hotel is within walking distance to many of the better restaurants. We were also grateful for the receptionist who helped us sort out a problem with a rafting company we had booked a service through. Breakfast at the restaurant is included but is pretty marginal.

Room Tip: We also paid a bit extra for a room with a view on the second floor but wouldn't do so again sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Clean rooms, in town, view of the volcano from some rooms. Staff try to be helpful but not overly friendly. Basic no frills. Rooms were quiet, wifi worked sporadically, walking distance around town. Tourist draw is the volcano.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisajullion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 986 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#26 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#21 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
3.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,755 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Arenal Green
Hotel Arenal Green
#17 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 61 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing