We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Location and Employees!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Great Value, Location and Employees!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I was just thinking about Costa Rica and realized writing reviews of my amazing trip in May was long overdue! :) This hotel is comfortable, clean, friendly, and extremely convenient for walking to everything in the downtown of La Fortuna. The staff was so helpful regarding recommending tours, restaurants, etc. We could not believe how great the price was and eggs, toast, fresh fruit, etc. were served to us each morning to give great fuel to start our day exploring. I wish I could remember the names of the guy and gal at the front desk who were absolutely wonderful ! His name was something like Michael, but I know that is not exactly correct. Thank you Hotel La Fortuna for being a big part of our comfortable, budget friendly trip. Also Wi-fi in the lobby brings several people down there together and facilitates making friends with other travelers :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    132
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
110
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is perfect for being in the mix of la fortuna town. The town itself has some of the better food choices in the area. Excellent value for those on a budget. Front desk staff is very friendly and knowledgable of everything in town for whatever your budget may be.

Wifi was spotty and for me worked best if in the lobby. There are a few computers available to use as well in lobby. Rooms were clean and no frills but it's what you paid for so stay down the road at some of the resorts if that is your deal. Most people are doing daytime activities in la fortuna area anyways so you are hardly ever just lingering at the hotel for long.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Hotel La Fortuna was a decent option for us for our one night stay in La Fortuna. Located in the heart of "downtown," the hotel is within walking distance to many of the better restaurants. We were also grateful for the receptionist who helped us sort out a problem with a rafting company we had booked a service through. Breakfast at the restaurant is included but is pretty marginal.

Room Tip: We also paid a bit extra for a room with a view on the second floor but wouldn't do so again sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Clean rooms, in town, view of the volcano from some rooms. Staff try to be helpful but not overly friendly. Basic no frills. Rooms were quiet, wifi worked sporadically, walking distance around town. Tourist draw is the volcano.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel was a nice surprise for a budget option. There is not much in La Fortuna to see but it is not far to the usual destinations. The staff was very friendly. The wireless internet was slow but functional and password protected. The free breakfast was average. The hotel and rooms appeared clean and adequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is great if you are on a budget. The location is extraordinary. Many rooms have a view of the Arenal Volcano. It is right in town, in walking distance of many restaurants and shops. The air conditioning worked well. The room was clean though old and pretty bare. The internet is not reliable in the rooms. The hotel staff was really friendly and helpful. Be careful when using the showers. As the sign in the room states, "there are no architectural boundaries" around the shower. If you are not extremely careful, you will flood your bathroom as many of us in our group did on the first night! The included breakfast is not a buffet and is prepared for you as soon as you sit down. You don't get a choice of food, but they bring you a variety and it is hot and good. We only had breakfast one day but were given a large plate of fresh fruit and then scrambled eggs, toast, and jam. I was there on a mission trip, but if I went back and money was tight, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 409 had a volcano view and was on the end of the hall so it was pretty quiet. Also, the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great hotel, good location, front desk was nice and friendly. We paid extra for a volcano view which was good but save some money if you can. You can always see the volcano from the lobby. If you are planning to do canyonerring through defasio, book through the hotel because you save some money. Enjoy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#32 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.