We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Richmond
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The hotel was a nice surprise for a budget option. There is not much in La Fortuna to see but it is not far to the usual destinations. The staff was very friendly. The wireless internet was slow but functional and password protected. The free breakfast was average. The hotel and rooms appeared clean and adequate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    138
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
116
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is great if you are on a budget. The location is extraordinary. Many rooms have a view of the Arenal Volcano. It is right in town, in walking distance of many restaurants and shops. The air conditioning worked well. The room was clean though old and pretty bare. The internet is not reliable in the rooms. The hotel staff was really friendly and helpful. Be careful when using the showers. As the sign in the room states, "there are no architectural boundaries" around the shower. If you are not extremely careful, you will flood your bathroom as many of us in our group did on the first night! The included breakfast is not a buffet and is prepared for you as soon as you sit down. You don't get a choice of food, but they bring you a variety and it is hot and good. We only had breakfast one day but were given a large plate of fresh fruit and then scrambled eggs, toast, and jam. I was there on a mission trip, but if I went back and money was tight, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 409 had a volcano view and was on the end of the hall so it was pretty quiet. Also, the higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great hotel, good location, front desk was nice and friendly. We paid extra for a volcano view which was good but save some money if you can. You can always see the volcano from the lobby. If you are planning to do canyonerring through defasio, book through the hotel because you save some money. Enjoy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mystic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel La Fortuna in late Feb/2014. The location was perfect for checking out the downtown area of La Fortuna (shops, restaurants, banks) and just a short taxi ride away from Arenal Volcano park. Our room was basic and clean (bed, small mounted tv, ac unit, cabinet, safe, bathroom). Our room was facing the road and had a small balcany ( with a view of the Volcano). The hotel staff was very helpful for getting tips and recommendations on where to go through out stay ( 3 nights). The morning breakfast was tipical ( coffee, fruit plate and eggs with toast). While eating breakfast you have a great view of the Volcano. If you are looking for a clean budget friendly hotel this is it!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hotel is right in town, close to laundry, grocery store, many shops and restaurants. We are on the go type travelers and it is a perfect launch pad for that. No pool and the restaurant was closed at the time but we didn't go there to stay at the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, and staff was great, especially Monrique. Booked tours through them and were always pleased.Best of all the rooms wre under 60 bucks a nite.

Room Tip: Heard we shouldn't stay on the street side , it would be noisy. It was not and that is where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagaces, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was there last year, very nice place and great people as well. The room is basic, but pretty clean and confortable, also is located in downtown so everything is walking distance. The guys at the front desk were super friendly, Mercedes and Manrique help me so much with all the different things I ask them, if you go to La Fortuna now there is a beautiful hotel waiting for you. Actually, the next time I visit this town La Fortuna Hotel is my option.

Room Tip: The volcano view rooms are nicer, trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Upon arrival we were told that we were meant to arrive the day before which is when we realised we had booked the wrong date however the hotel was so accomodating, they didnt charge us a fee nor complain. Manrique in particular was an exceptional host, he was so friendly and gave us all the tips we needed to get the most out of our stay at La Fortuna. We were only meant to stay a day, we ended up staying a couple. We booked a room with amazing views of Arenal Volcano, Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also simple but yummy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#30 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.