We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
South Bend, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great hotel, good location, front desk was nice and friendly. We paid extra for a volcano view which was good but save some money if you can. You can always see the volcano from the lobby. If you are planning to do canyonerring through defasio, book through the hotel because you save some money. Enjoy

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    138
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
115
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mystic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hotel La Fortuna in late Feb/2014. The location was perfect for checking out the downtown area of La Fortuna (shops, restaurants, banks) and just a short taxi ride away from Arenal Volcano park. Our room was basic and clean (bed, small mounted tv, ac unit, cabinet, safe, bathroom). Our room was facing the road and had a small balcany ( with a view of the Volcano). The hotel staff was very helpful for getting tips and recommendations on where to go through out stay ( 3 nights). The morning breakfast was tipical ( coffee, fruit plate and eggs with toast). While eating breakfast you have a great view of the Volcano. If you are looking for a clean budget friendly hotel this is it!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Hotel is right in town, close to laundry, grocery store, many shops and restaurants. We are on the go type travelers and it is a perfect launch pad for that. No pool and the restaurant was closed at the time but we didn't go there to stay at the hotel. Breakfast was excellent, and staff was great, especially Monrique. Booked tours through them and were always pleased.Best of all the rooms wre under 60 bucks a nite.

Room Tip: Heard we shouldn't stay on the street side , it would be noisy. It was not and that is where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagaces, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I was there last year, very nice place and great people as well. The room is basic, but pretty clean and confortable, also is located in downtown so everything is walking distance. The guys at the front desk were super friendly, Mercedes and Manrique help me so much with all the different things I ask them, if you go to La Fortuna now there is a beautiful hotel waiting for you. Actually, the next time I visit this town La Fortuna Hotel is my option.

Room Tip: The volcano view rooms are nicer, trust me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Upon arrival we were told that we were meant to arrive the day before which is when we realised we had booked the wrong date however the hotel was so accomodating, they didnt charge us a fee nor complain. Manrique in particular was an exceptional host, he was so friendly and gave us all the tips we needed to get the most out of our stay at La Fortuna. We were only meant to stay a day, we ended up staying a couple. We booked a room with amazing views of Arenal Volcano, Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also simple but yummy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We came in January 2014. Manrique at the reception welcome us. Manrique was fantastic, he is so professional, his English is excellent too, Manrique helped us out and explained to us everything that we needed, booked tours for us for the next day den though we arrived quite late in the evening. The breakfast was included and i think that we paid around 80/90 dollars for 3 people. If you want a clean, modern and comfortable room with safe, hot shower, tv and air con, go for it. Mercedes at the reception was really kind and helpful too.No bugs, spiders or cockroaches, it was really clean! Thank you Manrique and all the team for our wonderful stay! One minute walk from the main road, extremely safe!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Tripadvisor really let me down on this hotel. The accommodation is very, very basic. I paid over $20 more for an upgraded volcano view room, but it definitely was NOT worth it. Save yourself some money and book the most basic room available if you choose this hotel. The room itself was small and basic...equivalent to that of a 1 or 1 & 1/2 star hotel in the US. The bathroom was small, cramped, and disgusting...I was worried about getting a fungal infection from the base of the shower. The check-in person, Manrique was friendly, but horrible when it came to customer service. I asked for extra towels and was told there would be a $2 charge to rent additional towels. It's the first time in my last 10 years of travel where I was told there would be a charge to have extra towels in the room. Another example of nickel and diming was the $10 charge to replace the electronic room key. I didn't lose mine, but those room keys aren't worth anywhere near that and threatening a $10 charge for loss of it at checkin is just plain cheap. The only saving grace of this hotel is the great location in the town of La Fortuna. I am glad I only stayed here one night. The lady who checked me out and the breakfast staff in the morning were very nice, but the lack of customer service the night before and the lack of appeal of the room left a bad taste in my mouth.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, book the cheapest room available. A volcano view room isn't any better a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#30 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.