We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
West Hollywood, CA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I was traveling solo to Costa Rica and chose Hotel La Fortuna for its central location--I wanted to be in an area where I could walk to restaurants, shops, etc. but also get to Arenal easily. The hotel location is perfect, and there are a variety of good places to eat within easy walking distance. I felt incredibly safe walking at all hours of the day and night in La Fortuna and would not hesitate to recommend that to anyone visiting the small town.

I had a volcano view room with a balcony. I did not have any trouble with road noise and the room was perfect for my needs. A comfortable bed, clean throughout, and plenty of hot water. I would have liked a chair in the room to sit, but that is really the only issue. The A/C worked so well I got cold at night and had to turn it off. The balcony is merely a step-out one so lounging on it and admiring the volcano view is not an option. But the view was amazing. Breakfast is served with the room in the bar/cafe and it includes fruit, eggs, and toast plus coffee and juice. They are very attentive and the service was great each morning, and the food was good too.

The staff really made all the difference with the hotel. They helped me schedule my tours and transfers via shuttle without any problems. Being alone I had problems finding tours I could join, since they require a minimum of two people, but the staff worked tirelessly to help me by calling all of the local tour operators and arranging everything. They also look out for their guests, a big plus when traveling alone. I came home late from a tour as I stopped to eat and shop and the next day the regular day clerk told me he was worried that I had not returned at the scheduled time and before his shift ended.

Everyone was lovely at Hotel La Fortuna, and I would return to this hotel without any hesitation should I ever find myself in La Fortuna again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Gerente at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Kath, thank you so much for taking the time for writing this nice comment about our hotel and the service we offer to our visitors. Our objective is making our guests feel like home, and we feel so happy reading your comment, because it proves we are going on the right direction. We are taking your recommendation about adding a chair to the room, we will work on that to be better every day for our customers... You will be more than welcome in our hotel if you come back to La Fortuna some day... Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    132
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
110
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, NC USA
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I think this is the tallest building in town. Our room was on the fourth floor and had a great view of the volcano. Of course, you couldn't always see the volcano because of cloud cover, but that tends to come and go during the day. The hotel itself was fine. Nothing special, but clean and centrally located (a two block walk to the central park). We left our car parked at the curb in front of the hotel for 3 days and it was fine. Breakfast was included and was fruit, eggs, rice and beans and coffee and juice. Staff was friendly and helpful and spoke English. Prices were reasonable. All in all, a good place to stay while in Fortuna.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you, in the first place, for choosing our hotel for staying in La Fortuna and second, for taking the time to write this nice comment about our services. We just want to add that we have a big parking lot, exclusive for our clientes, and that way you can have your car safe. We really hope we can see you again in our hotel some day. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed in this hotel-if you want a volcanoes view room with balcony then expect the noise from the main road. I had a room at the rear so it was quiet but there also wasn't a window you could open so you relied on the AC. The view from the breakfast sitting area of the volcano is good and it is a nice area to sit located within walking distance of the town's restaurants

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Front Office Manager at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello Sue! We are sorry about the noise from the street but maybe that is the price we have to pay for having one of the best locations, right in the heart of La Fortuna downtown. We also want to comment you that we have different types of rooms: with windows, without them and with balconies too, as you mentioned. It is just a matter of choosing the one that you like. We really hope you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and it would be a pleasure to have you back some day. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel it's located excellent.
In addition to a very spacious & comfortable room and of course not to forget a very courteous staff always ready and willing to help, from my point of view it's a great value for money!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'll make it short. Good location, clean, modern and pretty. Big bedrooms and bathrooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Fast internet connection. Good breakfast. Price is good. I stayed there more than 10 nights and I enjoyed it.

The only thing that is more a problem for them than us is that the air conditioner in my room the second time I went was leaking and was starting to do some damage to the wall.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for 510, 410, 310 etc. You cannot open the window but there's an ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This old style hotel stands out as one of few high rise hotels in the town and therefore has the 'view' factor. However, it is strange that the rooms on the opposite side of building facing volcano do not have windows to the outside. We booked one of these economic rooms on the website but fortunately we were upgraded to a city view. This was fine since we did not spend much time in he room.
The room was basic, clean and bright with fast wifi. The included breakfast does not begin until seven but was crammed with tour groups..the few staff seemed to have difficulty coping with the demand resulting in delays..especially as many tours and pickups leave early. The location is convenient and other than the understaffing at breakfast, we have no complaints.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, book the cheapest room on the website and they will upgrade it upon checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and were happy with this friendly, well run and spotlessly clean hotel. Our room on the 4th floor was quiet and had a great view of the volcano (once the clouds parted) - and the air con worked really well. The free breakfast of fruit, scrambled eggs and griddle cooked bread (not toast!) was ok, but we got bored of eating the same thing by day four and went to the rainforest cafe instead. The hotel's on-site bar & restaurant wasn't open when we stayed, but this wasn't a problem as there are many other options in town. La Parada and Lava Lounge were two of our favourites.

The location is great if you're travelling without a vehicle and there's an Adobe office right across the street if you want to rent one for a day like we did. Theres also a laundry and two small grocery stores opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#32 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.