We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Netanya, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel it's located excellent.
In addition to a very spacious & comfortable room and of course not to forget a very courteous staff always ready and willing to help, from my point of view it's a great value for money!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    160
    49
    9
    3
See reviews for
38
133
76
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I'll make it short. Good location, clean, modern and pretty. Big bedrooms and bathrooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Fast internet connection. Good breakfast. Price is good. I stayed there more than 10 nights and I enjoyed it.

The only thing that is more a problem for them than us is that the air conditioner in my room the second time I went was leaking and was starting to do some damage to the wall.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for 510, 410, 310 etc. You cannot open the window but there's an ai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This old style hotel stands out as one of few high rise hotels in the town and therefore has the 'view' factor. However, it is strange that the rooms on the opposite side of building facing volcano do not have windows to the outside. We booked one of these economic rooms on the website but fortunately we were upgraded to a city view. This was fine since we did not spend much time in he room.
The room was basic, clean and bright with fast wifi. The included breakfast does not begin until seven but was crammed with tour groups..the few staff seemed to have difficulty coping with the demand resulting in delays..especially as many tours and pickups leave early. The location is convenient and other than the understaffing at breakfast, we have no complaints.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, book the cheapest room on the website and they will upgrade it upon checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights and were happy with this friendly, well run and spotlessly clean hotel. Our room on the 4th floor was quiet and had a great view of the volcano (once the clouds parted) - and the air con worked really well. The free breakfast of fruit, scrambled eggs and griddle cooked bread (not toast!) was ok, but we got bored of eating the same thing by day four and went to the rainforest cafe instead. The hotel's on-site bar & restaurant wasn't open when we stayed, but this wasn't a problem as there are many other options in town. La Parada and Lava Lounge were two of our favourites.

The location is great if you're travelling without a vehicle and there's an Adobe office right across the street if you want to rent one for a day like we did. Theres also a laundry and two small grocery stores opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for a week while traveling around the Arenal area, the staff is helpful, friendly, and the hotel was very clean. We stayed in the volcano view room and it was perfect. The front desk is staffed 24 hours. Breakfast was included.

Room Tip: I believe the volcano view room is the best but the non volcano view room is okay as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in March 2013. We are a couple from Canada and spent two weeks travelling around Costa Rica. Hotel La Fortuna is an old hotel in a good location right in the town of La Fortuna, close to shops and restaurants. There is a Scotiabank ATM right up the street in the grocery store. The lobby has a restaurant which is open air to the street, there are computers with free internet access as well. The staff was very helpful and booked our Sky Trek Adventures package, as well as our Baldi Hot Springs visit, called us taxi's and provided other helpful info about the area. The hotel and room was clean, however our room was fairly small. $20 deposit required to use the safe key. The A/C worked fine and kept the room cool, and cable TV worked fine however our remote did not work the best. Bathrooms were clean with hot showers. Bed was a double, small for two of us and pillows weren't the best but it did the job. There was a storm at night which knocked the power out and the room got hot pretty quick with no A/C, and there were some weird noises and what sounded like a sewer back-up, but no issues in the room. Power was back on in a few hours. Breakfast was included and included coffee, orange juice, a plate of fruit (watermelon, pineapple and papaya) and eggs with toast served promptly in the lobby restaurant. Definitely check out the La Fortuna Waterfall close by, its about a $8 cab ride one way, $10 entry fee and a short hike down to the falls but well worth it. There are two nice waterfalls to check out. It was raining when we were there so the flow was heavy. Enjoyed it very much. Sky Adventures was also fun, zip line was amazing and ended our day at Baldi Hot Springs - dinner and access to the impressive hot spring pools was $34 and we got the Sky Adventure shuttle to drop us off on the way back. All is all is was a nice stay, its not the nicest place but did the trick for the price. Good value for the budget traveller

Room Tip: Our Frommer's guide book says to request a Volcano view room on the 4th or 5th floor. None were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are really thankful with you for taking the time to write this comment and let us know the things we can improve in our hotel to be better every day. We really will consider your opinion to take advantage of it and give to our clients the best service they can have. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Vary Clean! The staff was friendly and knowledgable, the rooms were well maintained, and the shower was huge! Convenient location, great views, and a satisfying breakfast. Well worth the price of admission. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: View rooms can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.