We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful, convenient, comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Helpful, convenient, comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for a week while traveling around the Arenal area, the staff is helpful, friendly, and the hotel was very clean. We stayed in the volcano view room and it was perfect. The front desk is staffed 24 hours. Breakfast was included.

Room Tip: I believe the volcano view room is the best but the non volcano view room is okay as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    128
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
107
59
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in March 2013. We are a couple from Canada and spent two weeks travelling around Costa Rica. Hotel La Fortuna is an old hotel in a good location right in the town of La Fortuna, close to shops and restaurants. There is a Scotiabank ATM right up the street in the grocery store. The lobby has a restaurant which is open air to the street, there are computers with free internet access as well. The staff was very helpful and booked our Sky Trek Adventures package, as well as our Baldi Hot Springs visit, called us taxi's and provided other helpful info about the area. The hotel and room was clean, however our room was fairly small. $20 deposit required to use the safe key. The A/C worked fine and kept the room cool, and cable TV worked fine however our remote did not work the best. Bathrooms were clean with hot showers. Bed was a double, small for two of us and pillows weren't the best but it did the job. There was a storm at night which knocked the power out and the room got hot pretty quick with no A/C, and there were some weird noises and what sounded like a sewer back-up, but no issues in the room. Power was back on in a few hours. Breakfast was included and included coffee, orange juice, a plate of fruit (watermelon, pineapple and papaya) and eggs with toast served promptly in the lobby restaurant. Definitely check out the La Fortuna Waterfall close by, its about a $8 cab ride one way, $10 entry fee and a short hike down to the falls but well worth it. There are two nice waterfalls to check out. It was raining when we were there so the flow was heavy. Enjoyed it very much. Sky Adventures was also fun, zip line was amazing and ended our day at Baldi Hot Springs - dinner and access to the impressive hot spring pools was $34 and we got the Sky Adventure shuttle to drop us off on the way back. All is all is was a nice stay, its not the nicest place but did the trick for the price. Good value for the budget traveller

Room Tip: Our Frommer's guide book says to request a Volcano view room on the 4th or 5th floor. None were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are really thankful with you for taking the time to write this comment and let us know the things we can improve in our hotel to be better every day. We really will consider your opinion to take advantage of it and give to our clients the best service they can have. Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Vary Clean! The staff was friendly and knowledgable, the rooms were well maintained, and the shower was huge! Convenient location, great views, and a satisfying breakfast. Well worth the price of admission. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: View rooms can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed here for four nights, the only real thing to "complain" about is the beds are a bit springy. Hotel staff is very knowledgeable and friendly. Hotel is located in walking distance to many shops and restaurants. there would have a great view from our room of the volcano but the weather was not in our favor, we had four straight days of overcast/misty/rainy/gray/yucky weather. other than that we had a nice time there and would recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget, breakfast is served quickly from 7-9 am its the same every day fruit, scrambled eggs with toast and jam that looks like ketchup but its not! =) coffee and oj. nice place hotel la fortuna!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Proctorville, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful at check-in. Our room was basic, but we had a great little balcony with a view of the volcano, which is fantastic. The restaurant is within walking distance of many small "sodas" to eat at and near fruit stands and gift shops.
The provided breakfast, of fruit, eggs, and toast was good, although breakfast was often packed early in the morning, and one day we were not able to eat before our excursion because there was no room.

Room Tip: 5th floor balcony with view of volcano was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nice lobby, very friendly staff, excellently located and parking. Small hot breakfast of scrambled eggs and fruit included in price of room. Room it self was ok but the beds were very hard and the noise from the street continued well on into the night. Decent enough... but would stay elsewhere next time simply because of the noise and hard beds.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel the most... We hope you can come back some day and see by yourself that we really work hard every day to be the best hotel in town. One of the things we changed recently was our pillows. We changed them because some clients told us they were not OK. What we are trying to tell is just that we listen to our visitor's opinions carefully and we use them to improve our services. So, thank you for your comment and please receive our apology for these inconvenients.

La Fortuna Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The owners and staff of this property in La Fortuna were so thoughtful and attentive. We had not Pre-booked any excursions, but the hotel helped us with this. While it rained (actually, it poured) every day, we did not let that stop us. We had a great time and would recommend this site.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#30 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.