We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Fortuna Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“La Fortuna Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Nice lobby, very friendly staff, excellently located and parking. Small hot breakfast of scrambled eggs and fruit included in price of room. Room it self was ok but the beds were very hard and the noise from the street continued well on into the night. Decent enough... but would stay elsewhere next time simply because of the noise and hard beds.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are really sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel the most... We hope you can come back some day and see by yourself that we really work hard every day to be the best hotel in town. One of the things we changed recently was our pillows. We changed them because some clients told us they were not OK. What we are trying to tell is just that we listen to our visitor's opinions carefully and we use them to improve our services. So, thank you for your comment and please receive our apology for these inconvenients.

La Fortuna Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    163
    49
    11
    3
See reviews for
38
136
76
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The owners and staff of this property in La Fortuna were so thoughtful and attentive. We had not Pre-booked any excursions, but the hotel helped us with this. While it rained (actually, it poured) every day, we did not let that stop us. We had a great time and would recommend this site.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Staff at reception is extremely helpful with everything such as booking of excursions and shuttles. The location is perfect with all resraurants, shops, taxis and travel-agencies around. The rooms are very clean and comfortable with everything you need. The perfect hotel for some days in La Fortuna!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at Hotel La Fortuna Feb 13-16 and my stay was great! Check in was fast and the man at the front desk was extremely helpful. I had a room on the 5th level with a volcano view. The room was nothing fancy but extremely clean. I never had a problem with the shower leaking water as I made sure the shower curtain covered the shower floor. The room had a safe which you have to leave a deposit for which I find odd. The beds are not that comfortable but sleep able.

I loved the location which is close to a lot of restaurants, grocery stores and souvenir shops. I had a strong connection to WI-fi in my room but they also had computers downstairs in the lobby.The breakfast included was fruit, scrambled eggs and toast. This was convienent on the days I had early morning excursions.

Room Tip: Ask for a volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Clean, nice rooms, and GREAT VIEW of the Arenal Volcano. Good service from staff evertime. Excellent location in centro right across fruit shop and laundry. Would book again! Try the soda around! I honestly dont know what else to write man seriously... 200 minimum...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great hotel for the price you pay for it. We got economy room and found it to be more than enough space and the washroom was gigantic. Everything was clean as well. The air-conditioning did work great but we were ok with temperature. Location is perfect for La Fortuna - right off the main street and right across from a mini market and laundry services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms in the centre of la fortuna.
Stayed on the terrace floor with full floor to ceiling glass windows on one side of the room. The curtains did not quite fit so it was very easy for people to see in from the terrace and for light coming through in the mornings. Would have a higher floor room if possible.
Breakfast was just edible. There were a group of high school aged children staying at the time and the rooms are not sound proofed in the slightest so was rather noisy.
Hotel booked the cerro chatto hike for me as I was a single traveller I was lucky to get on the tour with 2 other people. As with everything in costa rica, very expensive at 81usd for a 4 hr hike but was well worth it to climb up the volcano and into crater lake.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Gerente at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment about our service. We will consider it to improve our customer service and make our clients feel like home. In fact, we are working right now in some changes in the hotel like the addition of security boxes in some rooms and the decision of turning down the lights from 11:30 pm every night to please our visitors. Best wishes for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#28 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#41 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#27 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.