We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at Hotel La Fortuna Feb 13-16 and my stay was great! Check in was fast and the man at the front desk was extremely helpful. I had a room on the 5th level with a volcano view. The room was nothing fancy but extremely clean. I never had a problem with the shower leaking water as I made sure the shower curtain covered the shower floor. The room had a safe which you have to leave a deposit for which I find odd. The beds are not that comfortable but sleep able.

I loved the location which is close to a lot of restaurants, grocery stores and souvenir shops. I had a strong connection to WI-fi in my room but they also had computers downstairs in the lobby.The breakfast included was fruit, scrambled eggs and toast. This was convienent on the days I had early morning excursions.

Room Tip: Ask for a volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    169
    51
    12
    3
See reviews for
40
138
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Clean, nice rooms, and GREAT VIEW of the Arenal Volcano. Good service from staff evertime. Excellent location in centro right across fruit shop and laundry. Would book again! Try the soda around! I honestly dont know what else to write man seriously... 200 minimum...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great hotel for the price you pay for it. We got economy room and found it to be more than enough space and the washroom was gigantic. Everything was clean as well. The air-conditioning did work great but we were ok with temperature. Location is perfect for La Fortuna - right off the main street and right across from a mini market and laundry services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms in the centre of la fortuna.
Stayed on the terrace floor with full floor to ceiling glass windows on one side of the room. The curtains did not quite fit so it was very easy for people to see in from the terrace and for light coming through in the mornings. Would have a higher floor room if possible.
Breakfast was just edible. There were a group of high school aged children staying at the time and the rooms are not sound proofed in the slightest so was rather noisy.
Hotel booked the cerro chatto hike for me as I was a single traveller I was lucky to get on the tour with 2 other people. As with everything in costa rica, very expensive at 81usd for a 4 hr hike but was well worth it to climb up the volcano and into crater lake.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Gerente at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment about our service. We will consider it to improve our customer service and make our clients feel like home. In fact, we are working right now in some changes in the hotel like the addition of security boxes in some rooms and the decision of turning down the lights from 11:30 pm every night to please our visitors. Best wishes for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel La Fotuna for 2 nights as part of a tour. It is right in the heart of La Fortuna and from the exterior, it looks like one of the better hotels in downtown (the posh hotels tend to be outside of town).

Pros: Great location, with restaurants, supermarkets, laundry and fruit shops within a block or two away. The rooms and common areas are spotless. I was in room 211 and it was spacious with a large bathroom and a massive shower that is big enough to hold a small party in. Staff are extremely courteous and helpful. There is a nice bar/resstaurant onsite. There is free wifi and computers in the lobby for general use.

Cons: Bedding is a bit thin and there is no closest or cupboard space at all. Each room has a fan and air conditioning unit, but they charge an extra $5 per night for air con.

Overall, I think it is a great hotel for anyone looking for a no frills, clean and well located hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your comment inspire us to be better every day using our customer's opinions to improve our services and look for excellence... In fact,we use past comments from our clients to make some good changes in our hotel. For example, we changed the pillows of every room to give more comfort to our visitors and we are going to install coffee makers in some rooms... Just to please our people! Best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed staying in town for our first few nights in Costa Rica so we could go out at night and visit bars and restraunts. Staying at a "lodge" you are stuck eating in their restrant, unless you want to drive. We loved the locaton. We were on the second floor, right by the lit up sign, but it was VERY VERY quiet, especially after 10 PM. The included breakfast is nice. Very clean, I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location = excellent - it's in the centre of town next to Soda Visquez (super) and Soda El Rio (very good)

Room = excellent (noting the price which is budget/low mid range). It is clean and ample in size.

Service = fantastic. This is where this place shines. Manrique is the young concierge ad he is unbelievably helpful. He remembered every guest's name that I recalled but more importantly (for me) assisted with every tour I took and he made all the right recommendations - the volcano tour, the hot springs and most of all the whitewater rafting tour. All connections were arranged to other towns quickly and efficiently. It is 5 star service.

The rooms looking over the volcano can attract a bit of road noise but I didn't find it objectionable.

Breakfast is basic but adequate (and included in the price). This is a place for getting on with things and not lingering around your hotel though.

An easy place to recommend to fellow Trip Adivisees.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#22 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#27 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#28 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#41 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.