We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Solid hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a great hotel for the price you pay for it. We got economy room and found it to be more than enough space and the washroom was gigantic. Everything was clean as well. The air-conditioning did work great but we were ok with temperature. Location is perfect for La Fortuna - right off the main street and right across from a mini market and laundry services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    132
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
110
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ibiza, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms in the centre of la fortuna.
Stayed on the terrace floor with full floor to ceiling glass windows on one side of the room. The curtains did not quite fit so it was very easy for people to see in from the terrace and for light coming through in the mornings. Would have a higher floor room if possible.
Breakfast was just edible. There were a group of high school aged children staying at the time and the rooms are not sound proofed in the slightest so was rather noisy.
Hotel booked the cerro chatto hike for me as I was a single traveller I was lucky to get on the tour with 2 other people. As with everything in costa rica, very expensive at 81usd for a 4 hr hike but was well worth it to climb up the volcano and into crater lake.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Gerente at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this comment about our service. We will consider it to improve our customer service and make our clients feel like home. In fact, we are working right now in some changes in the hotel like the addition of security boxes in some rooms and the decision of turning down the lights from 11:30 pm every night to please our visitors. Best wishes for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel La Fotuna for 2 nights as part of a tour. It is right in the heart of La Fortuna and from the exterior, it looks like one of the better hotels in downtown (the posh hotels tend to be outside of town).

Pros: Great location, with restaurants, supermarkets, laundry and fruit shops within a block or two away. The rooms and common areas are spotless. I was in room 211 and it was spacious with a large bathroom and a massive shower that is big enough to hold a small party in. Staff are extremely courteous and helpful. There is a nice bar/resstaurant onsite. There is free wifi and computers in the lobby for general use.

Cons: Bedding is a bit thin and there is no closest or cupboard space at all. Each room has a fan and air conditioning unit, but they charge an extra $5 per night for air con.

Overall, I think it is a great hotel for anyone looking for a no frills, clean and well located hotel. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelLaFortuna, Director de Recepción at Hotel La Fortuna, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your comment inspire us to be better every day using our customer's opinions to improve our services and look for excellence... In fact,we use past comments from our clients to make some good changes in our hotel. For example, we changed the pillows of every room to give more comfort to our visitors and we are going to install coffee makers in some rooms... Just to please our people! Best regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We enjoyed staying in town for our first few nights in Costa Rica so we could go out at night and visit bars and restraunts. Staying at a "lodge" you are stuck eating in their restrant, unless you want to drive. We loved the locaton. We were on the second floor, right by the lit up sign, but it was VERY VERY quiet, especially after 10 PM. The included breakfast is nice. Very clean, I highly reccomend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location = excellent - it's in the centre of town next to Soda Visquez (super) and Soda El Rio (very good)

Room = excellent (noting the price which is budget/low mid range). It is clean and ample in size.

Service = fantastic. This is where this place shines. Manrique is the young concierge ad he is unbelievably helpful. He remembered every guest's name that I recalled but more importantly (for me) assisted with every tour I took and he made all the right recommendations - the volcano tour, the hot springs and most of all the whitewater rafting tour. All connections were arranged to other towns quickly and efficiently. It is 5 star service.

The rooms looking over the volcano can attract a bit of road noise but I didn't find it objectionable.

Breakfast is basic but adequate (and included in the price). This is a place for getting on with things and not lingering around your hotel though.

An easy place to recommend to fellow Trip Adivisees.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The rooms and the hotel itself were perfectly decent but nothing that I'd get too excited about, but I'm giving this place an 'excellent' rating because of the staff. They were fantastic throughout our stay. We booked several trips with the front desk staff and were able to pay the hotel directly and put them all on our credit card in one payment, which helped with our finances as we were short of cash and saved us lots of time and hassle. One of the trips was cancelled at the last minute by the tour operator but the hotel staff phoned another operator (which was actually their usual first choice operator but they hadn't been able to get them when booking previously) and managed to get us onto the same trip at the same time with this other company. As that trip had already left from another location the hotel staff arranged a taxi to pick us up from the hotel and drive us a few km out of town to meet the car with the other passengers in so we were able to do the trip. They didn't charge us for the taxi and we were very impressed by how much they went out of their way to sort it out for us - we didn't even know there was a problem until they'd fixed it! I don't know how much this place cost as it was booked for us as part of a tour package but if you're weighing up a couple of similar standard places for your trip I would definitely recommend choosing this one for the great customer service you'll get there.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 311 and 310 as they have a large generator right outside which hums quite loudly all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. For about USD$100/night, we had a nice room with a great view of Arenal. The breakfast left a little to be desired but it's included in the cost of the room and compared to some of the hotel breakfasts here in the states, you really can't complain. Overall, I was very pleased with the level of service. The one thing that I would have liked to have been made aware of is that I expected a room with two double beds. I got a room with one double bed and one small twin bed. The Shower also has now walls around it so the bathroom got very wet.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with a view of Arenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#32 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.