We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Location = excellent - it's in the centre of town next to Soda Visquez (super) and Soda El Rio (very good)

Room = excellent (noting the price which is budget/low mid range). It is clean and ample in size.

Service = fantastic. This is where this place shines. Manrique is the young concierge ad he is unbelievably helpful. He remembered every guest's name that I recalled but more importantly (for me) assisted with every tour I took and he made all the right recommendations - the volcano tour, the hot springs and most of all the whitewater rafting tour. All connections were arranged to other towns quickly and efficiently. It is 5 star service.

The rooms looking over the volcano can attract a bit of road noise but I didn't find it objectionable.

Breakfast is basic but adequate (and included in the price). This is a place for getting on with things and not lingering around your hotel though.

An easy place to recommend to fellow Trip Adivisees.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    164
    50
    11
    3
See reviews for
38
137
76
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The rooms and the hotel itself were perfectly decent but nothing that I'd get too excited about, but I'm giving this place an 'excellent' rating because of the staff. They were fantastic throughout our stay. We booked several trips with the front desk staff and were able to pay the hotel directly and put them all on our credit card in one payment, which helped with our finances as we were short of cash and saved us lots of time and hassle. One of the trips was cancelled at the last minute by the tour operator but the hotel staff phoned another operator (which was actually their usual first choice operator but they hadn't been able to get them when booking previously) and managed to get us onto the same trip at the same time with this other company. As that trip had already left from another location the hotel staff arranged a taxi to pick us up from the hotel and drive us a few km out of town to meet the car with the other passengers in so we were able to do the trip. They didn't charge us for the taxi and we were very impressed by how much they went out of their way to sort it out for us - we didn't even know there was a problem until they'd fixed it! I don't know how much this place cost as it was booked for us as part of a tour package but if you're weighing up a couple of similar standard places for your trip I would definitely recommend choosing this one for the great customer service you'll get there.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 311 and 310 as they have a large generator right outside which hums quite loudly all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of this hotel. For about USD$100/night, we had a nice room with a great view of Arenal. The breakfast left a little to be desired but it's included in the cost of the room and compared to some of the hotel breakfasts here in the states, you really can't complain. Overall, I was very pleased with the level of service. The one thing that I would have liked to have been made aware of is that I expected a room with two double beds. I got a room with one double bed and one small twin bed. The Shower also has now walls around it so the bathroom got very wet.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room with a view of Arenal
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are on honeymoon and having spent six days in a fab villa in Montezuma, only planned to spend one night at this hotel until we got our bearings and found a resort in the rainforest. As it was, we found Hotel La Fortuna to be so comfortable, convenient and friendly that ended up staying for three nights and availing of the restaurants nearby - Don Rufino and Lava Lounge were excellent for food and drinks. It helped that we had a 4WD to get out and about during the day but the super friendly reception staff will organise any transport and trips you want to take. Breakfast is fruit, scrambled eggs and toast with juice and coffee. Wifi is strong in the rooms and lobby. Luxury it isn't but it did the job and saved us a few pounds in this expensive country before going upmarket again.

Room Tip: We enjoyed seeing the volcano status from our balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Hotel staff, especially Mercedes on reception we're extremely helpful, location is perfect as you also have the bars and restaurants in la fortuna.

Thanks for making our vacation to Costa Rica amazing! Would totally recommend!

Kimberley and Matt Spencer

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel is not a marriot, but it it a budget botique hotel with great amenities in walki g distance to everything at an affordable price. I love that they have computers as well. The staff is great and very accomodating. It was a great way to start the new year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The front desk staff always had a cheerful attitude and very accommodating when it came time to plan or schedule tours in the area. The view of the volcano was nice but not essential for the extra money. I would definitely return or recommend to others for the price and pleasant faces.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#28 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#41 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#27 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.