We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Besides our GPS not being able to find the hotel and the building itself not having a sign indicating that it is Hotel La Fortuna, the hotel itself was decent. It was in a good location, the room was clean and had basic amenities. It's nothing special, but my wife and I just used it to sleep there as were out and about during the day exploring the city and the surroundings. There is a continental breakfast included as well as free wi-fi. Overall, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    132
    32
    5
    3
See reviews for
33
110
60
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We were given a room (404) with a great view of the volcano. Rooms are large and clean and have good AC but no safe. Mercedes, the staff person on duty in multiple roles spoke good English and was very helpful in arranging taxi services for us. Breakfast was not buffet style and not very good.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Positives for this hotel include a very friendly and helpful staff, strong internet connection (3rd floor), central location, inexpensive rate.
I might be overly critical in the 2 rating (don't like the word "poor"...), but comparing to some of the hotels we stayed at on the coast, this one is a few notches below. I think the building is just older and some upgrades may be in order, for example the tiles in the bathroom had the look of being dirty, although I'm sure they were clean. The pillows are extremely thin, but in this case the staff was great in providing us with a few extra ones for comfort. Not sure if I'm mechanically challenged, but the AC only seemed to be on or off as no matter what temp I had it set too, the unit stayed on or we turned it off. We were only there 2 nights so didn't bother having it checked, but the result was waking up in the middle of the night when it was too hot or too cold in the room. Finally, there was no safe which we had become accustomed too. We had no issues, nor did we expect to in not having the safe, but if that is something of a concern you may want to know that going in.
I would by no means discourage anyone from staying here as the service is great, just the level of comfort was a little below our expectations.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

So the room doesn't have a tub. It's a raised area with a curtain that when not closed perfectly, leaks everywhere. The light in the bathroom is incredibly dim too. Breakfast is eggs, fruit and toast. The staff was pretty helpful, particularly Manrique. He told me where I could get some good food. The rooms are pretty much strippedand the bed is like a rock. Location is key here though. The best spot to stay to be able to walk around the town instead of being resort locked up on the mountain.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We really enjoyed staying in this hotel. It is clean, modern and has extremely friendly staff who are super helpful. We liked the location because it was in the city and close to shopping/dining/groceries. And the town of La Fortuna is nice to walk around in, it is small but cute.

Room Tip: The only issue we had was with the shower that has no boundary, so bathroom would flood if the showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, as part of the G Adventures Tour. A/C was extra ($5) per night but we really needed it! Free WiFi. Hotel rooms are nice. Consistent hot water supply. This was one of the better hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smyrna, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in downtown La Fortuna, as we didn't have a car to get around. Location is convenient. We were a little worried about unknown hotel, but Hotel Fortune turned out to be a nice hotel and good value. Rooms are not Ritz Carlton but are nice, clean, good air conditioning, clean bathrooms, decent value. Manrique, who worked the front desk, was incredibly friendly and very helpful with advice on where to eat, how to get to Arenal park, etc. - a great asset for hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a volcano view (but note that volcano is often obscured by cloud and, at time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#32 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.