We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were happy with this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We were happy with this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, as part of the G Adventures Tour. A/C was extra ($5) per night but we really needed it! Free WiFi. Hotel rooms are nice. Consistent hot water supply. This was one of the better hotels we stayed at in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    138
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
115
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, GA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were looking for a hotel in downtown La Fortuna, as we didn't have a car to get around. Location is convenient. We were a little worried about unknown hotel, but Hotel Fortune turned out to be a nice hotel and good value. Rooms are not Ritz Carlton but are nice, clean, good air conditioning, clean bathrooms, decent value. Manrique, who worked the front desk, was incredibly friendly and very helpful with advice on where to eat, how to get to Arenal park, etc. - a great asset for hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a volcano view (but note that volcano is often obscured by cloud and, at time of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Wasn't what we expected, but a great deal. The rooms don't have phones, and there isn't a safe in the room. The pillows are small and inadequate...about the size of a bath towel folded, and there isn't a chair to sit in to watch the TV, which is mounted up to the ceiling. The hotel doesn't really use electricity. The halls are not not, except for a small light in the stairwell. You would'[t know a hotel was even here because they do not use light. I have to say though, the staff is friendly and helpful. Overall an okay stay, but would not stay here again because it lacks so much as far as amenities go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in mid November and was very satisfied with our stay. The hotel is right in town and several restaurants, sodas and bars are right around the corner. The rooms were nothing fancy, but clean and well maintained. The front desk manager was very friendly and helpful. The rate was very reasonable and included breakfast; the breakfast was pretty plain but came with a plate of fresh fruit which was appreciated.

A couple of drawbacks...there's no safe in the room and the shower leaked all over the bathroom floor. Also the hotel is located along a main road with a lot of truck traffic and it was quite noisy at times, in particular the early morning. So if you're a light sleeper you may want to consider something outside of town. And while the hotel and bar has a restaurant, it was closed due to low season; the kitchen opened only for breakfast. But it wasn't an issue as there are plenty of restaurants in town to choose from.

Overall the hotel was very good value for money, and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel La Fortuna is not just about a very friendly, spotless and comfortable place to stay, it’s at a great location and many of its rooms have the breathtaking view of Arenal Volcano, and most of all, its incredibly nice staff and efficient breakfast service.

The best way to find a great eatery is always from the place you stay because you can articulate your likes and the suggestions are almost spot on. Excellent service from Mercedes from the front desk - she's super friendly, nice, and genuine. She's also very knowledgeable of the area as I always love to find Tico food and places to have a great cup of Costa Rican coffee. She gave such detailed descriptions, sprinkling with her heritage. That’s how I found out Visquez for the casado and Café Rain Forest for its Monteverde coffee!

The hotel was very clean and the marble floor was spotless. The bed was super comfortable and I just love waking with the view of the volcano.

The breakfast service downstairs started at 7am and even with I had to leave rather early each day around 7:30am, they were nice enough to quickly prepare some delicious eggs, toast and tasty coffee.

This hotel is only a couple blocks away from 2 supermarkets where you can get all the coffee beans and any amenities you might need. It’s also a couple blocks away from the main plaza, making it convenient to get to all the shops, yet keep a quiet and less crowded feel.

And if you pay a bit more attention, you will see the owner around as well as in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

* Location is good, safe, in the city center. Walking distance to every place. Enough parking place on the street.

* Breakfast is free from 7-9am. Really basic stuff: Fresh fruit - pineapple and papaya, scrambled egg and toast with coffee.

* The rooms were clean and basic, one small table, no chair, no fridge.

* The internet is free. Signal is good for 1st and 2nd floor - only can connect to the "La Fortuna lobby" signal. Never worked with other signal - "La Fortuna guest 1" or "La Fortuna guest 2" even they say they have some new router on 3rd floor but not working. So if you really a internet person, stick with lower floors.

* The stuff is nice and helpful. They helped me to book the zipline tour in Monteverde and gave some recommendation for the restaurants around.

* The price is pretty good compare to the location and convenience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on a recent trip through the area. We were exhausted and didn't feel like getting our bearings so went straight to this hotel... it was clean, modern, in the center of town and resonably priced ($60/night incl breakfast). Since a 5th floor volcano room was available, we just ended up staying.

Very happy with the choice... super friendly staff spoke excellent English. There was no guarded parking, however no problem as the desk clerk said to leave it on the street in front of the building. From there the night staff could keep an eye on it... but I don't think it would have been an issue anyway.

The 3 star rating is appropriate for the bed comfort and amenities... only comment I can think of is the old tube TV mounted on the ceiling and not facing down at an angle. Really a non-issue as the last thing I came to La Fortuna for was to watch TV :)

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Volcano :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#30 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.