We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, great value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing view, great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Grrr. I just wrote a long review and it disappeared! Anyhow, I stayed here for a week and had a room with a queen bed with the volcano view. The view was breathtaking, that alone was worth the money. The room was very clean and comfortable. The ac worked great and the tv had several channels (I think HBO). The staff was incredibly friendly and everyone went out of their way to help us with with anything we needed. Breakfast was included and was served from 7-9am. The restaurant is open air with a volcano view. It consisted of coffee, oj, fruit plate (banana, pineapple, guava), eggs and toast. I ate it everyday and it filled me up. I really liked it's location. I prefer to be in town rather than being stuck out at resorts. Sure, there is street noise but it did not bother me at all. La fortuna is a great little town and I liked the option of roaming around. There is a laundromat directly across the street and a couple grocery stores and sodas within a five minute walk. Overall, a lovely experience.

Room Tip: get the volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    169
    51
    12
    3
See reviews for
40
138
77
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of days in early October.

The view was excellent! Arenal was close by and you could see the steam rising from the top. Amazing!

The room itself was basic and clean. The air conditioning worked, as did the shower and TV. Breakfast was included in the morning, and service was great.

When we checked out the front desk let us leave our bags there for the morning and kept them safe.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I booked our CR travel back in May and found this hotel. The hotel staff all speak pretty good English and were extremely pleasant and gave excellent recommendations. The rooms were clean and had all the necessities we needed. It is right in town, and close to everything. In addition, the best restaurant (we think so) is less than a block away (Don Rufino's), and with decent prices. We would definitely come back to this hotel. If you want to stay in town, stay here ... oh yeah, also has A/C. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Fortuna, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

For those of us who think.... a hotel is a place to sleep and don't need all the frills of the excessively expensive resorts near the volcano should really consider staying here. I lived here in La Fortuna for 9 months and wanted for my last week (I was teaching near here) I wanted to go on some tours and VACATION. I wasn't disappointed. The staff here is great. The hotel is way nicer than I expected and the staff are absolutely the best. I feel sad leaving La Fortuna but feel happy to have been in such a great place during my final time here. Seriously if you are budget minded..... this is the hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: For some it may be important to pay the extra fee to see Arenal. Usually the volcano is clouded ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

This isn't a "wow" hotel and it is pretty basic, but it is clean, located in the center of the action, the restaurant is good and the staff is friendly. If you are looking for a great budget hotel, this is a good option.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I found this hotel from a special and was pleased overall with the room's cleanliness but more by the staff and their service. Centrally located to everything you need and having AC is a major bonus. Restaurant and bar are available downstairs.

Room Tip: You can ask for a view of Volcano Arenal as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahuita
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This was my third trip to Arenal/Fortuna. Since I was travelling alone I decided to stay in town in order to be close to restaurants. I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel Fortuna considering the quality of the rooms and the low room rate (especially during low season). Enrique at the front desk was very helpful. I will definitely stay here my next trip to Fortuna.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#22 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 390 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Las Colinas
Hotel Las Colinas
#27 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#28 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel El Volcan
Hotel El Volcan
#41 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 62 Hotels in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.