We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Downtown La Fortuna” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Fortuna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Fortuna to your Saves list
Hotel La Fortuna
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Downtown La Fortuna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel was a great location if you were interested in walking about downtown La Fortuna. It is a bit of a stretch from the volcano and all of the natural hot springs, so you are going to have to cab to and from those places. There is a WIDE variety of food options located downtown and a laundry shop right across the street from the hotel with great customer service. There is a free breakfast every morning but the only down side to that is that it is located in the lobby, which can become very humid and hot as it is an open lobby. The staff is great and the rooms have good views of the volcano (rooms with views cost a bit more) at an excellent location. In my opinion, it is a great stay at a central location in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Pay for the Volcano view, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    138
    34
    6
    3
See reviews for
35
115
64
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is a fantastic hotel for the price. It has a nice lobby area and great staff who speak perfect English. The rooms are nice with good air conditioning and we didn’t hear any street noise (we were level 4). The bed was comfortable though the fitted sheet kept coming off which was annoying. The shower had good pressure and temperature though with no barriers it makes the whole bathroom floor wet, the curtain doesn’t help. The restaurant was convenient and the food was ok. The hotel is clean and well looked after and the location is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

While the room was basic, the staff made our stay great. Menrique, at the front desk, went above our expectations of helpfulness. From tour booking, rental cars, extending our stay, and directions, he was fantastic. He definitely made our stay!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

As the title says this hotel has very (capital, underline, bold) rooms. We had a triple. It was small. Not the most comfortable beds and the pillows were lumpy and/or hard. However, I wanted a hotel in town that we could use as a base for our daily exploring and this hotel was perfect.

The location was exactly what I was looking for. We could walk to the adventure companies, to get ice cream, to have coffee or a beer at a local soda. We had a great view of the volcano from our room.

I can't say enough about the staff. Manrique, Carlos, Julio were all helpful, talkative, fun to just sit and chat with. Manrique booked one tour for us and was very helpful when we were deciding what else to do.

This is the place to stay if you want convenient location and excellent service. Just keep in mind the rooms do not offer much in the way of comfort.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Modern hotel downtown Arenal. Clean, relatively small but sufficient room with airco. Comments from previous customers about the showers have been noted by hotel staff, and now you are warned beforehand to ensure the shower curtain is used properly. We did not have any problems after that. Great staff, very helpful also organising tours. Breakfast ok, nice fruit platter included. Two free internet terminals. Laundry just opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Manrique was extremely friendly in offering vacation ideas and setting up my current plans. I could not thank him enough for his hospitality. I had no problems at all with my room (pretty standard room), nothing spectacular from the room makes it a 4 star for me. Volcano view is definitely recommended if possible. The town, while touristy, was safe and enjoyable to venture through. 20 minute drive to Arenal if you're there to see the park and volcano. Off street parking isn't secure, but available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

A lot of the hotels (resorts, really) around Arenal are a long way from the town of La Fortuna, where the shops and restaurants are. This hotel is just blocks from the main streets. It's nothing fancy, but it's very clean and safe, with good service. We had a minor hiccup on check-in -- we got in very late and the receptionist forgot to let the night security guard (who spoke less English than I speak Spanish) know we'd be coming. We got it sorted out and had a fine rest of our stay. We had a volcano-view room, which I highly recommend. It also looks out over the town of La Fortuna and a cute little fruits and vegetables stand that had the BEST fresh-picked bananas.

There are four computers in the lobby for guests to use, and a bar with a super-friendly (if not super at mixing) bartender. Breakfast each morning consisted of coffee, a small plate of fresh fruit (banana, pineapple, papaya), two scrambled eggs and some toast.

No one was ever at the restaurant at night, but plenty of people had a drink and caught the night's football (soccer) game at the bar. If you're looking for luxury, stay up at the resorts nearer to Arenal and the hot springs. If you want a more authentic experience in town for a much more reasonable price, you can't beat Hotel La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a volcano-view room. This hotel would lose a lot of its charm if we hadn't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fortuna

Address: 1 block south and 1 block east from La Fortuna Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#30 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A uniquely designed building and an excellent location, make our hotel stands out in La Fortuna downtown. We have a central area extending up all five floors, with interior balconies looking down to the lobby, creating a sense of openness and freshness.Each floor keeps a refrigerator and free coffee. Our lobby area provides computers with free Internet and wireless. Ample and comfortable seating is perfect to relax while you enjoy our well-stocked English books exchange.Just a couple of blocks away, you can find supermarkets, drugstores, restaurants, bars, souvenir shops and everything you need for having a good vacation.And if you are looking for more relaxation or adventure, we offer you a tourist information desk inside the hotel with convenient prices for the guests. Parking lot is free and exclusive for our visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel La Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fortuna Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Fortuna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.