We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Hot Springs

Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 2099
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$137*
and up
Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip...
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Spas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
96 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

There are several hot springs in the La Fortuna area but this is your only choice. It's expensive then the others but it's well worth the money due to it's natural setting, several natural waterfalls to soothe your body and great facilities for changing,showering and eating. One should know that a price of a ticket allows you to enter twice over two days and we took full advantage ..the 1st day it was kind of rainy and the next day it was sunny thus we were able to experience it both ways and it was simply amazing.

Treat yourself here and no place else.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear psali

Your comments are very much appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed our property, our aim is to provide world-class service to our beloved guests, and our staff is always happy to serve you. Tabacon has been blessed with a beautiful natural setting where the rainforest and the natural hot springs and lush gardens offer the perfect complement for a unique experience. For Day Pass visitors we offer several special deals where price depends on the services include and this varies depending on guest preferences. We hope to receive you as our guest again soon.

Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,163
    425
    143
    50
    37
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The thermal springs are quite large. Some parts are quite active and loud. The best part for me was the peace and quiet found in the Shangri-La Gardens.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear BaldEagle1776

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we are glad that you have the opportunity to travel to Costa Rica and visit Tabacon. Shangri-La Gardens is a secluded area in the upper part of the hot springs resort where you can live the most relaxing experience! We would love to receive you at the hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“The best place you will ever be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

That's what I was promised, and it was true. $60 per day seemed expensive until I saw the engineering feat that must have been involved. Hot springs flowing from Arenal volcano have been directed into pools, falls, streams threading through dense tropical foliage -- it represents an explosion of the imagination -- a dreamscape that almost defies description. This place must go onto everyone's Bucket List. Someone suggested water shoes -- helpful for when you choose to walk in the water flows that have been left as natural streams, but not so necessary in many of the pools with smooth, sandy bottoms. There is even a "cool pool" for taking the temperature down a notch. There are bridges, "love-pods" (my word for the little canopied or curtained couches in the Shangri-la portion of the facility), chaise longues tucked into hidden sunny corners, a more standard swimming pool deck, but with heated water and swim up bars, and a stone slide. There is a water fall with a ledge to sit on behind the thundering falls as well as many kinds of waterfalls to sit in or under. You think of something wonderful to do with warm water coming off a volcano in the tropics and they've done it. I could live here. The restaurant is open-air and pavilion style but you can also order drinks and food to enjoy throughout. At night, the springs become a wonderland as everything becomes magically transformed. The locker room has lockers, showers, a large changing area and bins to toss the towels that you receive as part of your entry fee. I spent an entire day here from first opening until close, and much of the next day, and the entire evening when I first arrived at the hotel, and never felt that I had had "enough". The area is large enough to dump a whole (small) city into without feeling crowded or less than private. There always seem to be new areas to be explored, new ways to enjoy warm water in the jungle, new perspectives, depths, shapes, flows and settings. If I had one wish, it would be to be back there now.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Diamondqueen

We really appreciate your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Part of Tabacon experience is the hot thermal springs and pools including a swim-up bar and thermal water slide. Tabacon is located in a natural setting in the middle of the rainforest; the pools are strategically located along the walking trails of the gardens and provide a nice relaxing break from the explorations of the flowers and plants, and the surprisingly regular wildlife sightings. Swimming in the hot thermal springs of Tabacon goes well beyond the pools, there are three cascading thermal waterfalls, with the main one adjacent to the entrance of the Grand Spa, these waterfalls are guest favorites, providing relaxation and natural hydrotherapy for sore or tight back and neck muscles. The inviting gardens at Tabacon hot springs resort offer numerous larger and smaller in-river pools with varying temperatures, water flows and privacy levels. The natural thermal and cold natural pools at Tabacon are unique in the Arenal Volcano region and unparalleled in the world, guests enjoy their medical and therapeutic properties, adventure seekers find them soothing and relaxing after a day outdoors, children find them fun and couples find them mystical and romantic. We are glad you enjoyed a natural and eco-friendly experience. We would love to receive you as our guest again in the near future and we appreciate your preference.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Visually stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Practically all hotels around this side of the volcano offer hot springs but nothing compares to Tabacon. The entrance fee is 2-3 times as much as you'd pay in the other ones, but you get what you pay for.

Once you walk in, past the cold pools to the right, you walk up from one "natural" spring to the next, all intricately connected by a series of little bridges, underpasses and obstacles that invite calm and serenity. Part of the fun is to move around, find yourself a little nook or cranny that you can call your own and lose yourself. The entire area is built for romance, including the Shangri-La (18+ only) with it's crevices nestled in nature, tropical flowers, beautiful birds, modern chairs, lounges and the inescapable whisper of the surrounding springs and mini waterfalls.

When night fell (day changes to night fast in the tropics) we made our way up to the serene lounging area with its private cabanas, swings and curtain-enclosed, coconut-shaped beds. It seemed as if the entire universe participated in the loving warm nature that this place evokes. There's a bar there too, in case you need a quick refill, and then we made our way down again, taking a different route this time through the little falls and various degrees of water hotness. There were, perhaps, over 100 people there, if not more, but one could still find a little romantic corner to call their own.

If Tabacon is paradise I'd reckon it's worth a lifetime of dedication to any imposing deity.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear nytravel08

We very much appreciate your review. Our resort sits over a completely natural setting surrounded by lush gardens in the middle of the tropical rainforest, we are glad you enjoyed our more than 20 different natural pools, waterfalls and ponds with different ambiences. What makes Tabacon unique is the perfect combination of volume, temperature and mineral content (low sulfur content to prevent strong odors) that is present in our thermal spring river. We are happy to know you enjoyed total relaxation in our adult only area Shangri-La Gardens. We would love to receive you in the near future at Tabacón.

Kindest Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“tabacon Hot Springs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

party time, a tad slippery in the dark, with wine, very expensive drinks, but we had a blast, everyone is in hot springs, and very friendly atmosphere

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear andersonkl2

Your comments are very much appreciated! We are glad you had a good time at our thermal mineral springs resort Enjoying nature, total relaxation and friendly people is part of Tabacon experience. We hope to receive you again at the resort in the near future.

Best Regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacon Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Tabacon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.