We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Manicured yet still natural Hot Springs Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tabacon Hot Springs

Tabacon Hot Springs
Tabacon Grand Spa Thermal Resort, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
+506 2479 2099
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$137*
and up
Arenal Volcano and Tabacón Hot Springs Day Trip...
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Spas, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestled in the heart of the tropical rainforest at the base of the majestic Arenal Volcano in the northern Region of Costa Rica. This five-star resort offers a unique blend of nature, adventure and relaxation. The resort's unique healing thermal mineral spring river emerges from the volcanic earth, cascading to form waterfalls, streams, tranquil pools and ponds surrounded by lush tropical gardens.
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Manicured yet still natural Hot Springs Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We came from out nearby hotel for one evening. It was wonderful. The hotsprings are all they claim to be and beautifully lit in the evenings. It was expensive at $70 per person with dinner included, but for one night it is worth it ($45 without dinner, drinks are extra either way). We didn't stay at the hotel and for us the extra cost would not have been worth. One evening at the springs was enough.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear RCO5,
On behalf of Tabacon team we would like to thank you for taking the time and share with us your valued review. We are really glad to learn that the visit to Tabacon was a success, we are looking forward to welcome you soon at Tabacon in the near future.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,152
    422
    140
    50
    36
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Definitly a must do .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We went at night it was great would have loved to have more time. The food included in the package was good. Drinks are pricey and our not included with your meal we paid $4.00 for a coke. Not a big deal we were on vacation but just want to tell you so you are not as suprised ase we were. I would love to do this again during the day.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Teenie61
We are glad you have visited Tabacon!
Our thermal mineral spring resort offers pools, ponds and cascades with different temperatures so we recommend to spend enough time at the resort for total relaxation. Our hotel guest have access to the hot springs included in their room rate but we also offer Day Pass options where our guest can add one or two meals and some of the packages include one natural drink. We are glad you enjoyed your time at the resort and we really look forward to receive you as our guest in the near future.

With kindest regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Don't miss an evening at the natural hot springs! We loved hopping from one area to the next, exploring the waterfalls of steaming hot water. Incredibly relaxing, ultra-romantic- its a MUST!

Come to Arenal another time of year- the weather stunk, it rained so hard and was so cloudy we couldn't see the volcano

Also, bring shoes that you can wear in the water if you are a feet wimp like me, there are some sharp rocks!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Rebecca_Jax
We are thankful for your comments. We are glad to hear that you experienced a memorable day at Tabacon and that you loved to explore the different pools and waterfalls, enjoying the steam and the magical ambience of our resort. Our thermal springs are in a completely natural setting that's why wearing water shoes is strongly recommended. We really look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Tabacon Hot Springs is amazing, definitely the highlight of a great Costa Rica trip. We looked at several of the other hot springs in the area, and thought a lot about going to one of the others, several of which were much cheaper. Even though Tabacon is expensive, it is a once in a lifetime experience that is well worth the cost. Unlike other hot springs which are essentially a large pool or hot tub, Tabacon is an actual river, and the resort has built a series of over 20 pools into the river. This gives you many options to explore and makes the experience all the more worthwhile. The grounds are amazing. The day we went the weather was overcast and rainy, which was perfect for this. Otherwise, on warmer days, they offer a discount rate for 6 to 10 pm, which is probably a good option for some. The food at the restaurant was average, but we were so excited to get back into the hotsprings, we didn't care. If you are in Lake Arenal and are just looking to say you went to a hot springs for a couple hours, then Paradise hot springs looks pretty good for the money (we toured it but didn't go in). However, if you want a once in a lifetime experience, Tabacon is it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Tysky

Your comments are very much appreciated. Furthermore, our service is aimed to always be the best, guaranteeing the highest quality of service to all our guests who are our reason to be and to always enhance their experience. We are sincerely grateful and thankful for your marvelous visit and hope you will come back soon.

Warm regards
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Paradise on a Volcano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

What a gorgeous place to spend the day! I can't imagine these hot springs could get more beautiful if they tried. This is a must for anyone visiting Costa Rica!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TabaconGuestService, Gerente at Tabacon Hot Springs, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Lisa 3452

Thank you for your review, we are glad you had a fantastic experience at our resort. We were blessed with a completely natural and gorgeous setting to offer our guests a total relaxation experience. We look forward for your next visit.

Cordially
Yendry Espinoza
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tabacon Hot Springs also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Tabacon Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tabacon Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.