We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Value, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
St Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Value, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Hotel San Bosco is a great choice for La Fortuna. It's only a block or 2 from the town square. They have ac and hot water. They have excellent breakfast. They have an observatory on the top of one of the buildings, which is a great place to take pictures of the volcano, when it's not hiding behind clouds!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    152
    45
    7
    5
See reviews for
61
126
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Originally, we were to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying an extra night. The hotel is in town; therefore, everything is within walking distance. The staff was nice and very helpful. The room was clean but the rooms were small. The pool and jacuzzi were clean. We had an excellent view of the volcano and even got to see lava flowing from it one night. Breakfast was good and tea/coffee was available throughout the day. There are 2 computers available for use. I'd definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a night with another couple. The hotel is located two blocks off the main drag in La Fortuna. The hotel is basic but was a physically fine. The rooms were not large but were clean and the A/C and hot water worked. There is parking within the fenced grounds of the hotel and there is a security person on duty. We paid $61 which included a nice breakfast at the hotel. The drawback to the hotel is that it is located near the center of La Fortuna and La Fortuna is orientated toward young tourists. Our friends had neighbors who returned at 2 am and wanted to continue to party in their room. Although this isn't something the hotel can necessarily control, it is something to take into consideration.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

This hotel was fantastically located in the middle of La Fortuna, had a lovely pool, and the rooms were really clean, loads of channels on the tv, coffee maker, fan and air conditioning, the staff at the desk were helpful to book tours, included breakfast, and we only paid $61a night for a room for 2 people. Would completely recommend it

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, MS
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We stayed upstairs on the backside of the complex. There was a table and chairs in front of each unit with a large porch to share with the other guest. The rooms were a little small, but very clean and with a large shower.
The grounds were very clean and everyone was very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located just off of the town square, so we had only a short walk to town and the resturants.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

We stayed only two nights here and wish we could have stayed more. I know the nicer resorts are located outside of town but we did not have a car and so accepted our travel agent's recommendation for the San Bosco. What a find! This was our favourite hotel of our trip eventhough it wasn't the fanciest or the priciest. The room was huge (we had a standard) and really enjoyed the TV and fridge and free internet. The place was spotless. We didn't get to use the pool as we were busy with tours and the weather wasn't the best. We only ate breakfast here but it was very good. But the location - one block to the bank, two blocks to the main square, restaurants and shops abound everywhere. You cannot get lost, practically every street had a sign pointing the way to the hotel. Service in the hotel was also very, very good, We would return in a heartbeat.

Like - location, room, service, food
Disliked - nothing

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2009

i stayed here for one night in February as part of a package. I am a student and was on a budget so I didn't know what to expect since its so much less than most places in the area. what a nice surprise. First, the hotel is in town so walking distance to range of shops and places to eat with nice view of the mountain. The rooms are very nice, great beds and linen, coffee maker in room, nice pool with lounge area and great breakfast buffet. Also free internet, and tea served all day in the lobby. OK so its a nice place for a great price but what really sold me was the staff. I had some problems with a horseback tour I had booked (not through hotel) because the horses were in bad shape so I asked to be taken back to hotel. The staff were really helpful in getting a hold of the travel agent for me-it took several calls and even then I got an assistant who was rude and made me cry. At that point the guy behind the desk took the phone from me and "talked" to the assistant-who suddenly became more helpful! They had no problems holding my luggage for me well past check out while I lounged pool side waiting for a 2pm pick up. If I returned to la Fortuna I would stay there again-no doubt

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.