We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for exploring the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great location for exploring the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

When in La Fortuna, you have two options regarding accomodation. Either you stay close to Arenal Volcano and the thermal baths, or you stay in the town of La Fortuna. We chose the latter, as this would make us non-reliant on transportation.

San Bosco is located in the middle of La Fortuna with great views of the volcano. Many restaurants are located within a five minute walk from the hotel. Many tour operators are located around the central park, which is one block away from San Bosco. The tour operators took care of transportation for any activity, so we did not need a car.

The hotel has a great pool area and the breakfast buffet is good. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Our party had one quadruple and one quintuple room. It got a bit crowded as the rooms were not huge, but we only use the rooms to sleep in anyway. The bathrooms were very clean. I can highly recommend San Bosco as a base for exploring the area.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    149
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
58
123
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

Just returned and loved the location of the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Laundry service just across the street and very reasonable. Easy to walk around town to shop, eat, or hang out at the park.

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

We drove from Grecia where we stayed the night before, and arrived to Fortuna in the early afternoon. I heard of this hotel before so we went right here. It was the best choice.

There is plenty of "Cabinas" in La Fortuna where you can find a room with shared bathroom for $7-$10.

Unique Qualities: Unbelievably friendly and helpful receptionist, nice terrace with a view at Arenal volcano (even though it was mostly in clouds), comfortable and clean room, pool and 2 jacuzzis.

This is the only real hotel in Fortuna and it is the most expensive place to stay. We paid $50 for 3 persons which still didn't seem much especially comparing it to Grecia ugly hotel where they charged us $55.

  • Liked — No complaints
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2003, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2008

The Hotel San Bosco is a really good place to stay in LaFortuna. The prices are reasonable especially considering the location, cleanliness and ammenities. This is my 3rd time in LaFortuna in 10 weeks time and this is definitely my best hotel choice so far. The hotel is right in town (as compared to many of the nicer accommodations in the area which are several kilometers down the road and require a cab ride into town) yet it is off the main street so it is quiet. The room and the grounds are very clean and the staff is helpful. The rooms have all of the basic comforts including internet access, aircon, hot water and cable tv. The breakfast is great and includes pancakes, eggs, cereal, fruit and of course rice and beans (with varying other sides on different days). I am not much of a coffee drinker but this hotel has some really good coffee as well. You can eat your breakfast with a nice view of the Arenal volcano. There is also a clean pool and 2 jacuzzi's and even an ice machine (which many hotels in Costa Rica don't have). I highly recommend the San Bosco Hotel for your stay in LaFortuna if you want convenience and comfort.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, ammenities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

First time in CR, and my girlfriend and I didn't know quite what to expect. But this hotel was great! The biggest part was the staff. They are fantastic. The hotel itself is basic. It is clean, great location if you want to stay in La Fortuna, and actually offers a pretty good breakfast! the daily room service is also awesome! If you are looking for jungle beauty, this is not your place, if you want a central location for all the activities in the area....this is great. We would stay again, without a doubt if we wanted to be in La Fortuna, but if we went back, there are other places that are "prettier" outside of town that we saw while driving.
Get a car!!! It's worth it. Driving isn't bad at all.
Thanks again to the GREAT staff!!!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — The town.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitou springs, co
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2008

San Bosco was convenient to the main street area, and also quiet. It was secure and had gates that lock at night.

We had a view of the volcano. Breakfasts were quite good, with eggs ordered as you want them.

The rooms were nice, very clean. The staff people were helpful.

While in La Fortuna we went to Hanging Bridges, Baldi Hot Springs. We discovered that the best night volcano view is from a bridge on a road, by the park, so a full volcano tour is not needed.

We got a van ride there from Wilson Rojas (506)2451-0218 or by e-mail at wilsonturismo@gmail.com. He is great! He knows fun places to see along the way, and is very helpful. He seemed responsible.

  • Liked — security, physical environment, location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

The lobby was pretty nice, as well as the pool, jacuzzi, and breakfast in the morning.

The rooms, however are a little dirty. There is no phone, the television had to be fixed, and there were mosquito parts all over my top sheet as well as two small bugs found on my top pillow. There was also a small lizard that lived in our room, and I happened to step on it in the shower and watched disgusted as its tail swished back and forth down the drain. It appeared again the next day around the bathroom with no tail. Lizards were adorable, but this was disgusting. I ended up spraying insect repellent around my bed because I feared bugs crawling into bed with me.

The location is fine. The rooms just didn't seem so clean to me.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — The rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#28 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.