We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in La Fortuna, San Carlos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location in La Fortuna, San Carlos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This last weekend my family and I had a Triathlon competition in La Fortuna. We choose San Bosco Inn cause it was near the event. We got more than expected, nice place, great rooms, nice breakfast, and nice quite swimming pool almost as private as being home.
The breakdown point was how near all restaurants are from the hotel and still a quiet nice place to rest. We enjoyed a lot our visit. The people in front desk were very friendly and great coffee 24 hrs !!!
At night by the pool if you like nice Sushi you can order it direct at a side of the pool.
We sure recommend this place if you like it money affordable, quiet and great location.

Room Tip: We were far away from the pool (not that it maters) and second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    168
    51
    10
    5
See reviews for
72
136
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

San Bosco has a friendly, helpful staff, great location & everything you need. The pools are nice, the rooms are cozy & the location is great. There are many activities to do in the area & San Bosco is an easy place to be picked up. I definitely recommend this hotel for all types of travelers.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This hotel is just a block from the town center, but it is very basic. The included breakfast buffet was just so/so, it was outdoors and needed a few more covers to keep the bugs off the butter, etc. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms 1-11 are noisy. I had dogs barking all night long, but they were happy to move me to another room when I asked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in one of the back buildings so that you don't hear the street noise (or barking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Really unimpressed. Good location if you want to be in town. But, my room was right by/in the main car park and reception, and incredibly noisy all day and night as a result. Plenty next to me had the same issue, Room was clean, but tiny, and very harsh lighting. I understand basic, but this was depressingly so. The pool was just a concrete water hole surrounded by nothing - you wouldn't want to lounge here - and it just felt like a very very very no frills place to (try to) sleep. Might be better if you got a room upstairs and in the block by the pool, as this looked quieter, and you might get a nice view of the volcano.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

For a relatively inexpensive offering right in the center of La Fortuna, San Bosco offers a nice choice. Rooms were clean, breakfast excellent for this price range, nice pool. Staff were quite friendly and helpful, willing to handle logistical issues with gracious attitude. Nothing fancy, e.g. no telephones, smaller rooms and small TV. Lots of outdoor seating. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Canaveral, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

If you're looking for something fancy, look elsewhere. If you're looking for great location (less than 5 minutes' walk from the cathedral square), good breakfast full of fresh fruit, a pool with a view of the volcano when nature cooperates, helpful staff, and good value, this is the place for you! Our room could have used better lighting for sure - stronger light bulbs would be a welcome addition - but the wi-fi service was dependable, the bed was comfy, and the room was clean. Our housekeeper even made cute towel animals for us! And the adventure tour companies were willing to pick us up at the hotel. Thanks to Greenway Nature Tours Costa Rica for finding this hotel for us and making our Costa Rica vacation so special.

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if you have a lot of luggage as there is no elevator here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

My least favourite hotel during 2 weeks travelling around Costa Rica.
TINY, shabby poorly lit room - only saving grace was good wi-fi connection.
Breakfast boring but no worse than anywhere else - plenty of fresh fruit.
You get a great view of Arenal from the grounds of the hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.