We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and downtown location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Save Saved
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
new york
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent value and downtown location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel San Bosco offers basic, clean rooms, well-groomed grounds, excellent pool and jacuzzis, very good service with smiles, and very good overall value. It is located in a semi-residential area just a block from the beautiful park and numerous restaurants and souvenir shops of La Fortuna. A great plus is the unimpeded view of the Arenal Volcano.

The reasonable rate includes breakast and WiFi. Coffee is available at all times. The only drawback is the absence of a bar for onsite or poolside beverages. Ironically, the only source of onsite food is an adjacent sushi bar that offers surprisingly fresh sushi.

The location is great if you don't have a car and don't want to take cabs to get around town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    138
    42
    8
    5
See reviews for
53
114
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We could walk to restaurants and shops, there is a view of the volcano from the roof terrace, very helpful staff, booked our excursions for us. We highly recommend the canyoning/rappelling down the waterfall, highlight of our Costa Rican Trip!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Everyone working here was so nice, and the grounds were lovely, but the beds. Ugh. It seemed like all the rooms were the same, with nothing larger than a double bed with an uncomfortable mattress. Though we'd been traveling since before dawn, neither of us got a full night's sleep. Something as simple as a mattress pad would have made a world of difference. Other than that, my only issue was that the jacuzzi was right in the middle of the dining area, which just seemed weird. There is a nice porch area on the third floor with views of the town and the volcano. It turned out that our next hotel was actually part of the same company, so the concierge kindly arranged a free ride over for us. I'd have given this four stars if it weren't for those beds.

Room Tip: I don't think any of the rooms have views, but the ones on the second floor are a little quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

One of the excursion companies in town suggested this spot, which is located right in la fortuna. We enjoyed our three day stay here very much. The staff was very helpful, the room nice and clean, and the breakfast was great!

Room Tip: If youbwant a nice, quiet, clean room with a very helpful staff, this is the place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Traveling from the US, we expect a certain level of service and amenities. Hotel San Bosco is GREAT. Staff is knowledgeable and tentative. The facility is clean and well maintained. Breakfast besides the pool is tranquil and tropical.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We really enjoyed this hotel. The rooms are simple but have everything you need. The breakfast was good, with a wonderful view of the volcano. They have a viewing platform as well. The pool, jacuzzi area is nice and clean. The key thing for us was the price, and the service, both excellent. I would stay their again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The staff noticed the size of our party and booked us in the "family suites", which one of the rooms had an extra bed. This worked perfectly for us!

The hotel is one block from the town square and easy access to almost anything in Fortuna. The staff is friendly and accomodating, they even spotted me $2 for a water while until the next day. The rooms aren't huge, but they are clean and our two rooms easily fit our party of 7. The grounds were nicely manacured and the pool/hot tub was great after our days of adventuring.

I can't say enough good things about this hotel. I recommend it to anyone that is traveling to/through Fortuna and will gladly stay here again if I make my way back to CR.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#31 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.