We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret in La Fortuna!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Bosco Inn

Save Saved
You added San Bosco Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Bosco Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)   |  
Hotel amenities
Draper, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret in La Fortuna!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Breakfast was great every morning. Freshest cooked to order eggs I have ever enjoyed. Rooms were clean--very clean. Views of the volcano were spectacular from the balconies. The pool area was awesome for the kids 10 and 12. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location was 1 block away from town square and two blocks from main street and grocery store. No, it doesn't have a waterfall shower, and it didn't have all the luxuries of 1st class resort, but it was a great value! I don't want to tell anyone about this hotel because I want to keep it to myself.

Room Tip: Ask for room 32 or 34 because those are the only two rooms on that side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    146
    44
    7
    5
See reviews for
57
119
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is a wonderful little hotel that is 1 block off the main busy little square of "downtown" la Fortuna but it is a little slice of paradise. It has excellent security, nice grounds, and a really tasty buffet breakfast which is the ubiquitous gallo pinto, eggs, toast, fresh fruit, etc... The pool is always well maintained and clean. I have been returning for 15 years and they always are improving. One caveat- thin walls and windows so when the birds start waking if you are a light sleeper you will not need an alarm clock. The rooms are small and basic and mattresses reasonable comfortable. This is a great place for an independent traveller relying on public transportation or if you have a rental vehicle (they have secure parking). If you need luxury, look elsewhere. This place is Pura Vida.

Room Tip: 2nd floor near the pool has a nice outdoor sitting area and killer Volcano views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stay at the San Bosco every time I go to La Fortuna. It is a fantastic value with a perfect view of the town and the volcano. The pool is nice, as is the continental breakfast and the location is perfect for walking around the town of La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top so you get the best view of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. It is only a block from the central square in La Fortuna so it is very convenient for restaurants and other commercial services. On a clear day you can see Arenal Volcano from the front of the hotel. The hotel is very good value for the price and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This was my second stay here in six months. I love being able to wander around the town without hopping in the car.

The rooms are comfortable (but not luxurious), with good air conditioning and television.

The pool and hot tub are nice and the pass-through from the neighboring smoothie place is really convenient.

Breakfast is standard Tico fair with lots of fruit.

It is a nice place to get away and relax. I will go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Conchal, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We travel extensively in Costa Rica and were looking for a hotel in the center of La Fortuna so we wouldn't need to drive, but a little quiet, because the main street is very busy. This place was perfect for us. We were able to negotiate a very fair low season rate and the place was well manged. The rooms were typical mid-range Costarricense and had normal appointments. There was a nice pool and very good complimentary breakfast. The staff were helpful and with so many restaurants to choose from, they steered us to the best local place, a 'soda' off the main street with great food. There is a direct view of the volcano from the grounds. Best of all, they had a mirador. This third floor viewing platform was where we brought our drinks in the evening and had a private party with wonderful views of the town, volcano and surroundings. If you are looking for a reasonable place to stay in La Fortuna de San Carlos, this one fits the bill. Not luxury, but not trying to be...just very good.

Room Tip: There are a pair of rooms on the second floor at the north end that have a very nice, expansive fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is my favorite place to stay in La Fortuna. You can see the Arenal Volcano and the cute little town is just steps away with out having to get in your car and drive. We have been staying here since 1995 and it just keeps getting better then the times before. They also include a nice breakfast out by the pool with Eggs, Gallo Pinto {A LOCAL FAVORITE WITH BLACK BEANS AND RICE} fresh Fruit, Juices and Bacon. The price for 2 person runs around 69.00 a night in the high season which is Dec and drops after the Easter holiday. All I'm doing now is thinking when I'm going back to Costa Rica {PURA VIDA} THE GOOD LIFE

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Bosco Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Bosco Inn

Address: 200 mts North from Gas Station, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel San Bosco)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#31 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Bosco Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bosco is located in the center of La Fortuna, in the nicest tranquil area of this beautiful charming town, just 15 minutes from the majestic Arenal Volcano.Our strategic location in the town of La Fortuna allows you easy access to all of the services of the area.Our friendly staff is always available to serve you and advise you. We assure our guests an unforgettable stay in La Fortuna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your San Bosco Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Bosco Inn Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Bosco Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.